Pumpkin Muffin Cakes With A Mascarpone Frosting

The clocks went back an hour last week and it really feels like Autumn is here.  There have been some beautiful sunny, crisp days this week and there have also been some rotten, wet days too:

IMG_2783 IMG_2789

But the leaves are turning brown and falling and each day looks beautiful wether it is sunny or wet.

.

This week I have been busy catching up in my home after last weeks decorating.  Someone asked me last week how I organise myself so that I do so much…..in truth, if I’m doing something like decorating, then the bare minimum gets done.  We have quick meals or freezer meals which I have cooked ahead of time and I keep on top of the washing, but everything else is put on hold…..as you can see from the mess in our kitchen in the photograph below:

IMG_2765

.

I have concentrated on finishing my daughter’s bedroom this week.  We had ordered some flat pack furniture that was delivered on Saturday.

The furniture is an early birthday and Christmas present for my daughter and she has also paid for some of it from her allowance too.

I have got to say that the instructions for assembling it were terrible and it took me ages to put it together and there was a small piece missing which the shop have promised they will post to us.

IMG_2741 IMG_2744

But when they were finished they did look good and my daughter was very pleased:

IMG_2779 IMG_2778 IMG_2777

I also put her curtain pole back up after painting it, but found that the rings wouldn’t slide across the pole easily when I tried to shut the curtains.  So I used a wax candle to rub across the top of the pole and it now works well (this is something you can do with any curtain track that sticks).IMG_2739 IMG_2776

I am very pleased with the curtain pole, but it will look better when I get around to making the new curtains for her too.

.

This week I also stained the old mirror from my youngest daughter’s bedroom, as she didn’t want it.

IMG_2781 IMG_2782

As you can see in the photograph above, I used my very old tin of left over woodstain.

The mirror now sits in my eldest daughter’s bedroom, matching her furniture:

IMG_2788

Incidentally, my eldest daughter’s old mirror now sits in my bedroom, as the frame on my old mirror had final broken after twenty three years of use).

.

As I still had some woodstain left, I used it to paint the shelves that again my youngest daughter didn’t want in her new bedroom.  The shelves now sit in my kitchen where the old chest freezer used to be before it broke.  These shelves will be great for both my daughters’ school work, to keep it tidy:

IMG_2792

.

Finally, we gave my daughters old desk to ‘Loros’ to resell and I put her old wardrobe onto ‘freecycle‘ and it was picked up by a lovely lady on Wednesday.  This wardrobe was given to us second hand, thirteen years ago and I think it still looked in good condition. So it was lovely to know that it will still be used, rather than ending up in a landfill site.

IMG_2780

.

.

Halloween

.

Tomorrow is halloween and each year many pumpkins are carved and the insides are just thrown away and I so hate waste.  So I thought today I would share a few of my favourite pumpkin recipes with you:

SAM_4355 SAM_4348

.

Pumpkin Recipes:

.

Spicy Pumpkin Soup….the recipe is here.

 Pumpkin and Orange Cake….the recipe is here.

SAM_3677

Pumpkin and Apple Chutney….the recipe is here.

Pumpkin Lasange…the recipe is here.

Pumpkin, Raisin and Orange Muffins….the recipe is here.

.

  Don’t forget you can freeze raw pumpkin.  In the photograph below you can see the frozen pumpkin that I used to make the cake recipe below…..this is raw pumpkin that had been in my freezer since January this year and I cooked it without defrosting it first.

IMG_2762

Also, most recipes ask for ‘pumpkin puree’…..to make this just cook the pumpkin in boiling water until it is soft and then drain the water and mash it.  I have found that you need approximately double the amount of raw pumpkin to make the pumpkin puree i.e 600g of raw pumpkin makes approx. 300g of pumpkin puree.

IMG_2750 IMG_2756

Pumpkin puree can also be frozen in batches, ready weighted out for your favourite recipes.

IMG_2764

.

.

This year I decided to make a different pumpkin muffin with a mascarpone cheese frosting and it turned out well and tasted really nice:

.

Pumpkin Muffins with a Mascarpone Frosting:

.

Pumpkin Cakes:

230g self-raising flour

150g granulated sugar

100g soft brown sugar

100ml sunflower oil

3 eggs

170g of pumpkin puree

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon

¼ tsp ground ginger

.

Mascarpone Icing:

250g mascarpone cheese

50g icing sugar

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

Extra bit of soft brown sugar for decoration (optional)

.

Preheat your oven to 180C / Gas 4 /350F

Sieve the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and ginger into a bowl and set aside.

IMG_2751

In a separate bowl mix together the granulated sugar, brown sugar and oil until combined.

IMG_2752 IMG_2753

Beat in the eggs one at a time.

IMG_2754 IMG_2755

Mix in the pumpkin and vanilla.

IMG_2758

Fold in the flour from the separate bowl, a little bit at a time.

IMG_2759 IMG_2760

Half fill muffin cases with the mixture and then bake for 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

IMG_2761 IMG_2766

Put the cakes on a cooling tray.

IMG_2767

When the cakes have cooled down, mix the mascarpone cheese, icing sugar and lemon juice together and either pipe it or spread it on the cakes. I then put an extra pinch of soft brown sugar on each cake for decoration.

IMG_2768

Enjoy!

IMG_2774

.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back next Friday as usual.  Have a great week!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffin Cakes With A Mascarpone Frosting

  1. love the first photo…..autumn is a wonderful time.love the changed leaves of the tree.
    love the furniture from ikea……. i have my kitchen from ikea.
    thanks for giving the recipe and to make pumpkin puree,too.
    have a nice week,
    hugs regina

  2. I’ve not tried to use wood stain but am now tempted. I wonder if it would work on doors?

    I agree with you about Freecycle. I’ve been using Freegle recently to give and receive. Amazing what people can find a use for (eg vacuum cleaner accessories).

    • Yes I agree about freecycle…I wish I was handy enough to use all the parts people give away.

      It says on the tin you can use the woodstain on wood that has been varnished as well…..the things i have stained are not really expensive and it doesnt really matter if I ruin them. If I was you I would read the tin before you buy it.

  3. Your daughters room looks so lovely, i am the same trying to find homes for furniture that isnt wanted, just dont like waste. Thank you for the lovely recipes for pumpkins, i love pumpkin soup so will try that, i didnt know that you could freeze it raw. Do have a good week.
    Sue

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.