Courgette Sponge Cakes With Mascapone Cheese & Lemon Curd

Just wanted to say a big ‘thank you’ to ‘Argiolus‘ who identified the caterpillar I mentioned on my blog last Friday.  It is in fact an Elephant Hawk Moth and he has kindly given a link to some more interesting information about the moth here.

SAM_9804

I love receiving comments on my blog, so please keep them coming with your views, questions and answers, etc. which are great for everyone who reads them.

Thank you

.

At the weekend Rowley fields allotment society in Leicester had an open day, so we went along.  We saw a wonderful plot (or should I say garden), so I took a photo to show you:

SAM_9856

How beautiful it was!

.

This week at home I have once again been thinking about storing my crops, by putting my onions away.  They have been drying nicely for the last three or four weeks in one of my mini-greenhouses.

SAM_9692

I put them in a large netted bag in my storage boxes with my potatoes and they will store nicely over winter, provided I check them every so often for any that have begun to rot.

SAM_9889 SAM_9891

.

At my allotment, my cucumelons are taking over my tomato plants and my poor tomatoes are struggling to ripen!…but dispite this, my polytunnel is heaving with produce:

SAM_9873 SAM_9876

.

This week at my allotment I have been pruning my golden gage tree.  I don’t think it has been pruned for a long time and as a result I found there were a lot of dead, diseased and crossing branches to prune away.

SAM_9882 SAM_9886

.

Also, I have been pruning my lavender bushes that looked so beautiful at the beginning of summer and attracted lots of beneficial insects.

When I attended horticultural college I was told that the council parks department use strimmers to prune their Lavender and after planting my hedge a few years ago, I also use a strimmer to prune my lavender and it works a treat.  Provided I make sure that I leave approximately one inch of the current years growth on the plant, then it grows back lovely the next year:

SAM_9885 SAM_9887

.

I have also been picking lots of tomatoes from my allotment.  I am still expecting ‘blight’ as they succumb to it each and every year unfortunately… but as yet they are still blight free for the moment.  You can read about ‘tomato blight here.

SAM_9843

As well as making tomato and basil soup (the recipe is here), I have been making passata.

Passata doesn’t usually have any seeds in it, however I think life is too short to sieve the seeds out of the sauce, so I don’t.

All I do is wash and chop them in half and then cook them in a large pan with a cup of water.  When they are soft I use my stick blender to liquidise them until there are no lumps.

SAM_9842 SAM_9844

I then poor 500 grams worth of sauce into bags in plastic pots and when it is cool I freeze the portions.  When it is frozen I remove the bags from the pots and put the nice rectangular shaped sauces in my freezer ready to defrost and use when it is needed.

I use the sauce in recipes like pasta sauce, pizza sauce or spaghetti bolognaise.

SAM_9892 SAM_9893

.

 This week I have once again been busy making jams and chutneys.  I started with a beetroot chutney to use up the last of my beetroot.  My daughter and sister love this chutney, so I make it every year.

The recipe is here.

SAM_9824 SAM_9833

I continued to use up the plums I picked by making more plum jelly and I also made plum ice cream sauce.  I made the ice cream sauce in the exact way that I made crab apple ice cream sauce here, but I just substituted the crab apples with the plums.

It is delicious drizzled over ice cream (especially the home made vanilla ice cream here).

SAM_9832

.

Unfortunately, I then realised I had nearly ran out of jars and I still have loads of fruit in my freezer to make different jams, etc.  I know if you buy new jam jars they can cost quite a bit of money, so I buy the cheapest jars from the supermarket, use the contents and then re-used the jars.

(Incidentally, I don’t buy pickle jars as the smell is hard to remove).

In the past I found ‘value’ marmalade was the cheapest, but this week the cheapest jars I could find contained ‘lemon’curd’ at just 22p per jar.

SAM_9837

I gave the contents of a couple of jars to a friend and I have been madly using the rest of them myself.

I started by making mini lemon meringues:

SAM_9834 SAM_9836

My eldest daughter made a lovely victoria sandwich with lemon curd in the middle:

SAM_9862

And finally, we went to a friends house at the weekend and I took some little lemon curd cakes and I even managed to hide a courgette in the mixture too.  They did taste good, even though I do say so myself.

You can find the recipe below:

SAM_9871

.

Courgette Sponge cakes with Mascapone Cheese and Lemon Curd:

.

6 oz of Margarine

6 oz Caster sugar

6 oz Self raising flour

3 Eggs

A few drops of Vanilla Extract

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1 medium courgette

½ Jar of lemon curd

250g tub of mascapone cheese

20g icing sugar, plus a small amount for dusting

The juice and zest from one lemon

.

Preheat the oven Gas Mark 5 / 375F / 190C

Peel the courgette, top and tail it and then grate it very finely.

Place the courgette in a sieve just to let any excess water drain away while you are making the cake mix.

SAM_9846 SAM_9848

Sieve the caster sugar, flour and baking powder in a bowl and then add the eggs, margarine and vanilla extract.  Mix until they are combined.

SAM_9849 SAM_9850

Add the courgette and mix until combined.

SAM_9851

If the mixture falls off the spoon easily (dropping consistancy), then half fill muffin cases with the mixture.

(If the mix doesn’t fall off the spoon easily then keep adding a tiny bit of water and mix until it does).

SAM_9853 SAM_9854

Bake for 20 minutes and then leave to cool.

SAM_9855

Remove the cake from the cake case and slice it in half and put a teaspoon of lemon curd in the middle

SAM_9863

Mix the icing sugar, mascopone cheese and lemon juice together and then spread it or pipe it onto each cake.

Top each cake with a small amount of lemon zest.

SAM_9861 SAM_9864

Sprinkle with a dusting of icing sugar to finish off the cakes

SAM_9869

 Enjoy!

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back at my usual time next Friday.

12 thoughts on “Courgette Sponge Cakes With Mascapone Cheese & Lemon Curd

  1. We had one of those caterpillars on the patio a couple of years ago, I couldn’t believe how fast he was going. That allotment is absolutely beautiful, I wish mine looked like that! Your tomatoes are looking brilliant, as does your polytunnel. A good year for growing I think. CJ xx

  2. Thank you for the lovely recipe and for the inspiring post. I have done my fair share of making jam, freezing produce etc this yr but my tomatoes are mostly green still. Have had about 6 that are red so I’m hoping the weather improves a little so I can make some passata sauce too. xx Rebecca

  3. My tomatoes have been ripening well in the greenhouse and outside, here in Dorset,, but I see on several blogs that ripening has been a problem despite the hot sunny weather. What a shame you do not live nearer as I have loads of spare jars this year as I have accumulated them over the years. But they will go to good homes as people are always putting out a plea for jam jars at this time of year. Thanks for your lovely inspiring blog, I so enjoy it. Lesley

  4. Great recipes thanks, it has got so very cold and hope it will warm up so the tomatoes will ripen off. I ran out of jars for jam making and put the word out and now have loads to carry on, friends and relatives, i think they all know they will be getting gifts of jam this christmas.
    sue

  5. great post as always…. i made the same with my tomatoes today. Tomorrow I will made a pot of zucchinisoup for the freezer.Thanks for the sponge cake recipe, it sounds good!!!!! I ran also out of
    jars…and I go the same way like you.
    I hope your weather is better as our weather….we have rain all days and it’s cold,to cold for August.
    Wish you a wonderful restweek,
    love and hugs Regina

Leave a Reply

