Saving Tomato Seeds and Tomato and Basil Soup

Today at the allotment I noticed that my poached egg flowers (Latin name Limnanthes douglasii) have self-seeded and given me a new crop of flowers.

Poached egg plant

Hoverflies love the poached egg plant and in return, they feed on aphids as well as pollinating crops.

.

My greenhouse at home

In my greenhouse at home, I have grown six different varieties of tomatoes:

Money-maker (a well-known variety),

Wladeks (a heritage variety)

Four others that were given to me that are not named varieties.

The tomatoes that have grown the best, are two of the unnamed varieties, therefore I have decided to save the seed from both of them to grow again next year.

The pictures above and below are the tomatoes that I have decided to save their seed from.  One is a cherry tomato and the other is a larger variety.

It is really easy to save tomato seeds for the following year, providing that you are not saving seed from an F1 variety.  The reason for this, is that the seeds you save from an F1 variety will never grow the same as the plant they came from.

I scoop the tomato seeds out of the tomato and put them on a piece of paper towel on my window sill to dry.  In a few days, when the jelly surrounding the seeds has dried, I put the whole paper towel in an envelope and store it in a cool dark place.

Seed saved for next year

The following year, I plant the seeds with the paper towel still attached to it.

.

Today I made some Tomato and Basil Soup with some of my tomatoes.  This is another easy recipe, though it does take a little bit longer than normal soup recipes, as you pass it all through a seive to remove the seeds, but it is worth it, as it is lovely.

Tomato and Basil Soup

1400g ripe tomatoes cut in half

2 medium onions chopped

2 medium potatoes chopped small

2 tablespoons of olive oil

550ml of vegetable stock

2 garlic cloves chopped

3 teaspoons of dried basil

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Gently heat the olive oil in a large pan, add the onion and potato and soften for approximately 15 minutes, without browning

Add the tomatoes and cook for a couple of minutes

Add the stock, garlic and basil.  Cover and simmer for 25 minutes.

Use a hand blender to blend the soup roughly and then pass the whole lot through a sieve to extract the seeds.

Re-heat the soup and serve with homemade bread.

 

I actually made extra today and froze the portions.  It freezes really well

Thank you for reading my blog today.

 

6 thoughts on “Saving Tomato Seeds and Tomato and Basil Soup

Leave a Reply

