Radio Leicester And A Rhubarb & Ginger Cake

I know I said I wouldn’t be posting this week, but I thought I’d share my visit to Radio Leicester with you.

I was invited into the Saturday morning show again today and I had great fun chatting to Radio Leicester, as usual.

You can listen again to it here, for the next seven days

(approximately 1 hour and 37 minutes into the programme).

.

I took in some winter salads to show and discuss. I just wanted the listeners to know that salads can be grown all through the winter when they are given a bit of protection under a cloche, cold greenhouse or polytunnel.

SAM_6046

You can see in the picture above, I took red and green winter lettuces, corn salad, mizuna and baby perpetual spinach leaves, which were all sown on the 1st September 2012 and I have been picking a few leaves at a time from them all winter.

I also took in some chives which are now growing at my allotment and showed him a winter hardy spring onion that was also planted on the 1st September and they are just about ready now.

.

SAM_6060

I also talked about Rhubarb which is growing well at my allotment now spring is here.

I like to use rhubarb in different ways and Tony, Matt the producer and Ed Stagg (another Radio Leicester presenter) all tasted the rhubarb jam and rhubarb and ginger cake that I had taken in for them.  They seemed to enjoy them, thank goodness!

.

Rhubarb And Ginger Cake Recipe

.

Bottom layer: 

400g fresh rhubarb, washed & chopped into 2cm chunks

100g butter or margarine (I use marg)

75g granulated sugar, plus extra for sprinkling

2 eggs

100g self-raising flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground ginger

.

Top layer:

75g butter or margarine (I use marg)

100g plain flour (I used self-raising as I had run out of plain)

50g granulated sugar

Icing sugar to sprinkle on the top when cool

 .

Preheat oven Gas 4 / 180C / 350F

Prepare an 8 inch cake tin by greasing and flouring it.

 SAM_6047

Cream the butter and sugar together.

SAM_6048

Add the eggs and beat well.

SAM_6053

Sieve the flour and ginger into the bowl.

SAM_6054

Fold the flour, baking powder and ginger into the butter/sugar mixture and put it into the prepared cake tin, smoothing it all around.

Arrange the rhubarb chucks over the sponge in a single layer and sprinkle with the extra sugar.

SAM_6055

In a separate bowl prepare the top layer by rubbing the butter into the flour until it looks like breadcrumbs.

SAM_6050

Stir the sugar into the mixture with a round bladed knife.

SAM_6052

Sprinkle the topping over the rhubarb

SAM_6056

Pop in your oven for 45 minutes and then leave on a baking tray to cool.

 SAM_6057

 When it is cool, sprinkle with the icing sugar and serve.

SAM_6059

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back on Friday with ‘What to do in the kitchen garden in April’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Radio Leicester And A Rhubarb & Ginger Cake

  1. APRIL FOOL’S DAY.. this must be an AFD trick.. oh pleeeease? It was snowing horrid little scurrying bits of snow when I opened the door in London this morning.. I retreated back indoors to do the ironing.. it must be dire fôr me to do that instead of gardening..

  2. Wonderful recipe! This cake seems very delicious, it’s pity I have no fresh rhubarb here now.
    Hope you had nice Easter and fun 1st April day!

  3. Happy Easter! Your cake sounds amazing. I’m well into rhubarb lately! I’m also pleased to hear you’ve over wintered your spring onions too. I managed this rather by accident and funnily enough just published a blog post about it. Sounds like lots of the people who commented on my post have struggled with spring onions. I used to but the ‘pot method’ is now working for me. Do you sow yours in your raised beds or in pots?

    • Happy Easter Anna. I always had a problem with germinating spring onions (winter hardy or summer ones) as they either didn’t germinate in the ground or only one or two germinated. In the end after lots of trial and error, I found a fail safe way to do them. I now sow them in small modules of compost, I put a pinch of seed in each module. When they germinate I don’t thin them out I just leave them to grow together in each module. When they are large enough I plant them out as they are and they grow as a bunch. I’ll post it on my blog at some stage for you to see the pictures.

  4. If my rhubarb ever decides to show its face then I will definitely give your cake a try – at the moment it is under a foot of snow – still!

  5. Happy Easter! The cake looks delish! I haven’t any rhubarb big enough to make it with at the moment, but I am definitly giving it a go the moment I do!!

  6. Just love rhubarb, mine is covered up as lost it to the rabbits last year, have just got back from a lovely Easter weekend break, much needed, now to get some more things in seed trays.
    Sue

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.