A Holiday, Mildew & Blackfly Results

Last week we went on holiday, however before we went I had a few jobs to do in the garden:

I started by tying up my tomatoes once again and ‘nipping’ off the side shoots and then I picked the rest of my climbing peas and froze them.  These are a variety called ‘Peashooter’ which I have been growing for years now.  I always grow them from seeds I have saved, but I still have hundreds of left over seeds from last year so I don’t need to save any this year.

SAM_1402 SAM_1403

In the past when I had loads of room at my allotment, I would leave the climbing peas until I had time to remove them and then I would simply chop the stalks and leave the roots in the ground to rot over winter as the root nodules add nitrogen into the soil ready for the next crop.

SAM_1400

Unfortunately, space is an issue now and I needed to get another crop into the ground so I pulled up the peas and the broadbeans that were in front of them and added the whole plants (roots and all) into my compost bin.  This way the nitrogen will still be added to my soil when I spread the compost when it is ready:

SAM_1399

After adding some blood, fish and bone to the soil I then planted some lettuce and perpetual spinach that I had grown from seed.  I was worried that the slugs would eat them as they were so small, so I covered them with plastic bottles while we were away:

SAM_1405 SAM_1408

.

I also set up my watering system so all the plants that I have in pots get a daily watering.  Unfortunately I don’t have anyone that I can ask to water my plants so this way I can go away without my plants dying.  I have been using this watering system for a few years now and it works well, though it does take quite some time to set up each year, as I have so many pots to water:

SAM_1394SAM_1397SAM_1396SAM_1395

.

.

Our Holiday:

.

We went to Scarborough again for seven nights as we love it there.  We booked the holiday last year (before we decided to get a dog) and got a bargain family room with breakfast, in a Travelodge for just £363.65.  When we got there we paid an extra £20 for our dog too.

IMG_2516

I don’t know if you remember, we went to Scarborough in February as well for three nights and it was horrendous with Judy, (our rescue dog) as she was awful with other dogs and we were like ‘ninja’s’ running in and out of the travelodge trying to avoid dogs to stop her reacting.  Even on the beach she was a nightmare going mad, barking and lungeing even if she heard a dog barking at the other end of the beach!….I think this was our lowest moment with Judy.

So after just eleven weeks of training with ‘Havers Dog Behaviours’ we decided to go to Scarborough again on another prebooked holiday…..we felt it couldn’t possibly be any worse than our February holiday after all.

I am very happy to tell you that it was so very different and we had a fantastic time.  She still reacts to some dogs on leads, but she is fine with nearly all dogs that approach her off-lead now and I even had the confidence to take her muzzle off after the first day (which is something I have been doing in our training classes).  Judy even made friends with the local dogs on the beach which was amazing:

IMG_2496 IMG_0746 IMG_0807

She still gets a bit anxious when there are lots of people about, so we walked her when the sea was out so there was more space.

  One day we walked over a small hill right at the other end of the beach and found a beautiful area, that only the locals seemed to know about.  There were beautiful wild flowers growing on the hill:

IMG_2526 IMG_2204 IMG_2188

Over the other side of the hill we found a small bay with lots of rock pools too.  It really was beautiful:

IMG_2162 IMG_2530

We met a man who was collecting crabs and he explained that he catches the ones that are just about to break out of their old shells and uses them for fishing (apparently they are easier to get out of their shells when they are at this stage):

IMG_2175

.

We also spent a couple of days visiting a beach in Fraisethorpe, near Bridlington.  It is a very large, quiet beach so we took our chairs and windbreak there and had a lovely time, paddling in the sea and walking with Judy:

IMG_2090IMG_2123

What was unusual about this beach was there were some concrete boxes in the sand that I understand were once millatary ‘look-out’ posts that stood on the cliff side…..as time has past the cliffs have erroded and the concrete boxes have fallen into the sea:

IMG_2084

I also noticed the small cliffs also had holes in them which apparently are used by Sand Martins to nest in:

IMG_0780

The beach was beautiful and what was even nicer was there were no amusemnets, fish and chips or ‘tack’ shops around…..It really was the Yorkshire coast at it’s best and I would love to go back there one day.

.

Back home:

When we came home everything was ok in my garden, except my courgette plant had developed ‘mildew’ on it’s leaves:

SAM_1416 SAM_1417

.

(Mildrew is a white powdery fungus that is found on the leaves.  You can read about it here on the RHS website).

I removed the affected leaves and gave the soil a really good watering.  I suspect my watering system should have been on a little bit longer each day, but I’m sure it will be ok (dry soil can cause mildrew).

The other courgette plant I had was fine and incidentally the black fly was nearly all gone after using the black fly brew a couple of times before we went on holiday.  So I think the black fly brew was a success!

(You can read about the black fly brew here).

SAM_1429

I then found that the cucumbers in my greenhouse had developed whitefly, so I decided to try the spray out on these too…..I have every faith that the spray will work, though it took my breath away spraying inside the greenhouse as it stinks!

I will let you know the results.

SAM_1431

I also came home to a few tomatoes, courgettes and a our first blueberries of the year:

SAM_1419SAM_1415SAM_1418

.

After a few days home I had a big sort out of my freezers to see what I food I have left in them and I found some sweetcorn that needed to be eaten:

SAM_1420

And believe it or not I found some grated courgette from last year, ready to make Cheesy, Courgette Scones….so I made a batch, much to Mr Thift’s delight:

SAM_1422 SAM_1424 SAM_1425

The scones are a great way of using up excess courgettes and as I have proved, the grated courgette lasts months in the freezer without even blanching it.

You can find the recipe here:

.

Back home in our garden

Back home in our garden

Well that’s enough for now.  I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog this week.

I will be back again next Friday as usual.

19 thoughts on “A Holiday, Mildew & Blackfly Results

  1. Hello, I’m new to your blog. Just to say that it’s now one of my favourite ones! So much interesting stuff and so many tips. We also love Scarborough – we discovered a café on our last visit tucked away in the cliff side right at the top of the south beach (spa end). I could’ve sat there all day just gazing out to sea. Also, so pleased with Judy’s progress – she is a lovely little dog who deserves a lovely home and family like yours.

    • Welcome to my blog Mrs Lh, I am so glad you are enjoying it. I saw the cafe you mean from the beach…is it the one near the beach huts (I think they are beach huts)? If it is the one, we didn’t know it was there until this holiday and it always looked busy when we walked past.

      • Yes I’m sure there were some beach huts up there – I remember admiring one of them all done up in a vintage way. We went as far as we could on one of the open-top buses and got off at the spa end. There are steps up to the café from the beach area – a good place to sit and admire the view.

  2. Oh, I’m so happy Judy is doing better and able to enjoy going away and seeing other dogs. Your vacation spot sounds very appealing!

  3. I’ve never tried courgette scones, but love courgette cake.
    Lovely pics of Judy, glad to learn she is progressing.
    Best wishes,
    Angela (Devon)

  4. Oh look at your wee doggie! (A term my MIL always used with such affection) she is looking so well behaved! Any you know, not a single person you met while away would have even guessed the trial you went through to get her to that point!

  5. So glad to read of Judy’s progress

    Our new lupins have had mildew which I did’t realise they were susceptible to and for the first time a campanula was covered with blackfly which called for rubber gloves and lots of squishing

  6. What a super holiday! Lovely to recharge your emotional batteries ever year I find. I’ve been to Scarborough once -well just driving trough really -but saw some lovely places on the coast like Robin Hoods Bay & Staithes. I always wonder what my garden is doing while we’re away & rush out to look at it first thing when we get home! I’m so like you -keen on the local wild flowers -I usually take a little identification book with me .How they change so much depending on which coast you are on.Lucky you could take your little dog -once it cost us £74 to put our puss cat Lizzie in a cattery for a week & that was about 8 years ago.We havent got her sadly now -she was about 18 when she died & my husband says no more pets. You go to such a lot of trouble writing your blog (& it amazes me how much you cover & all the pics) for us to enjoy reading & learning from.
    All the best, Carrie x

    • Thankyou Carriet, it’s worth doing if people enjoy reading it.

      I am so like you when I get home….I go straight into the garden to check it over and I am always amazed how things have grown in such a short while

  7. Yes,love going away but I get home sick after a week(or should that be gardensick? ) with all this rain we could come back to a jungle.Hoping to try Pembrokeshire this year for our holiday (camping) never been there . Ive heard its a bit like Cornwall.(where I’ve seen sandmartins -like in your pic) Have a good week Carrie xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.