Carrots, Carrots And More Carrots

I wanted to start by saying ‘thank you’ for your lovely comments after my post on Monday.  I love receiving your comments as they spur me on to continue writing.

I’m also sorry there was a bit of a delay before I answered your comments this week, but unfortunately my laptop broke and I had to borrow one, which was a bit inconvenient.  Luckily Mr Thrift works in ICT and he and his friend have managed to fix it.

The first daffodil to show at my allotment

The first daffodil to show at my allotment

.

One of the comments I received this week was from ‘Mum’, who incidentally writes a beautiful blog called

‘Mum’s Simply Living Blog’.

Following on from my post on Monday about slowing down, ‘Mum’ wrote the words to a poem that I had long forgotten about.  This is a poem that we read at school, but unfortunately it meant nothing to a teenager…but now, I see how powerful these words are so I thought I would share the poem with you:

.

Leisure

By William Henry Davies

.

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.
No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.
No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.
No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.
No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.
No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.
A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

.

Thank you for sharing this ‘Mum’

.

This week at my allotment I weeded around my ‘Woodland’ area.  I noticed that my bluebells are beginning to grow around my plum tree now, you can just see them in the photo below.

SAM_8437

Unfortunately, I bought the bulbs a couple of years ago, paying extra to make sure they were ‘English’ Bluebells and I was very dissapointed to find that they were actually ‘French Bluebells’, which I wasnt very happy about.  I did however contact the suppier and complained!

My primroses are flowering lovely too now and it’s lovely to have a bit of colour, together with the snowdrops:

SAM_8434 SAM_8431 SAM_8424 SAM_8412 SAM_8413 SAM_8435

I also noticed my Christmas Rose (Hellebore) has a flower on too

SAM_8423

and the daffodils will soon be flowering

SAM_8428

I also noticed that I have the first little flower on my Aubretia.  I moved my pond to the far (sunny) corner of my Woodland area and transplanted the Aubretia around it in the Autumn…it’s nice to know it has survived the move:

SAM_8433 SAM_8432

Finally, I also noticed that one of my favourite flowers is beginning to grow, the Aquilegia.

SAM_8426

So you can see that this week, as the poem said, I did make time tostand and stare’.

.

This week I also moved my one raised bed that I use to grow carrots in.  I had no luck whatsoever trying to grow carrots until I used a raised bed.  So now, each year I move the wooden frame to another part of my plot and fill it again.

I started by removing the environmesh and pulling up the remaining carrots

SAM_8403 SAM_8404

I then moved the wooden frame to another part of my allotment plot, to avoid the build up of pests and diseases e.g.carrot fly.

I refilled the wooden frame with a mix of my own homemade compost (made from all types of perennial and annual weeds) and leaf mould that had been sitting decomposing for the last year.

I then covered it up with black weed suppressant to let the worms do their work and mix it all thoroughly.

SAM_8406 SAM_8408 SAM_8409

In May I will mix in some sand to help to ‘lighten’ the soil, before sowing my carrots.

.

I froze the carrots without blanching them.  I had two large trays altogether, which I open froze so they didn’t stick together in the bags.  After freezing all of my left over carrots, I had orange hands!

SAM_8451

I also pulled some carrots up that were growing in my polytunnel this week and froze them.  The carrots were smaller in my polytunnel as I had sowed them later than the ones outside:

SAM_8440 SAM_8441

I gave my polytunnel a good weed ready to spread some of my homemade compost over the empty soil next week.  I also removed the old Cape Gooseberry plants and removed the last few berries to keep for seed.

SAM_8438 SAM_8439

  All I did was cut the berries in half and spread the seed on a piece of paper towel to dry.  When it is dry I will put the seeds in an envelope to keep.  When I am ready to sow them, I will just plant the seed with the paper towel still attached (incidentally, this method also works exactly the same for tomato seeds).

SAM_8452

In my polytunnel I still have beetroot, perpetual spinach, mizuna, corn salad and winter hardy spring onions.  I also found another two rows of carrots that I had forgotten that I had planted, but I will leave these in the ground for the moment.  Unfortunately we have eaten all my winter lettuces now, so I will have to make sure I plant more next time.

SAM_8445 SAM_8444 SAM_8446

I found that the mizuna had started to flower, probably because it has been such a mild winter.  So I removed the flowers in the hope that I can keep it going a bit longer.

SAM_8442 SAM_8443

.

One last thing I did this week was to plant the garlic that I sowed in January.  I’m hoping it is wasn’t too late to plant it as it needs a period of cold to enable the bulbs to split into cloves.

I planted the garlic into ridges to help with the drainage incase the wet weather we have been having so much of continues.  This area had been covered in a plastic sheet for the last few weeks, so the soil wasn’t as waterlogged as the rest of my plot.

SAM_8450 SAM_8447

So that is enough for this week (I do seem to get carried away and write long posts).

SAM_8421

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back at my usual time on Monday.

Have a good weekend.

16 thoughts on “Carrots, Carrots And More Carrots

  1. So lovely to hear about your holiday with you family in the last post.I had quite a busy week so didn’t get chance to add anything.You’re right everything is so wet I actually got my first wash dry on the outside washing line and had a bit of a tidy up in the garden as it was so sunny then look at it today! Cold & wet again!! Very impressed with your carrot harvest.

  2. We froze some carrots earlier just to see what they turned out like. Must admit we don’t blanch anything. We have tried the frozen carrots in spite of still having plenty of fresh as we wanted to see what they were like before freezing more. We thought the texture changed but they kept flavour which was superior to bought in carrots.

    I tried planting English bluebells on the plot but they just didn’t take we do have some Spanish ones that have crept in – it seems the foreigners are easier to please.

  3. I love that poem, but I thought it was written by someone else who’s name escapes me.
    I love carrots, yours looks pretty impressive.

    Best wishes,
    Angela (Devon)

  4. Angela ,I sometimes muddle that poem up with the Rudyard Kipling one that goes ….If,you can keep your head when all around are losing theirs yet blaming it on you,If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you etc etc It ends ….Yours is the earth and everything that’s in it and -What is more -you’ll be a man my son… I always get those 2 lovely poems confused …

  5. I do love that poem, i gave up growing carrots due to the carrot root fly, i shall try to do a raised bed and see if i have any better luck, thank you for the tip.
    Sue

    • I always cover mine with environmesh. Books will tell you that carrot fly only flies so high, so if you grow them in tall pots you will avoid them….this is simply not true as the wind blows them higher….I tried to grow them in tall water butts and still they suffered from the dreaded carrot fly lol

  6. I have started growing carrots in troughs filled with my homemade compost, after so many failures in raised beds. The trough method has been a success and I managed to keep growing carrots in the greenhouse over winter. Thank you for all your good advice over the year.

  7. I am so jealous of your carrots! Mine won’t take at the moment, and I’ve been trying seedlings AND seeds. I’ve put it down to the time of year and am biding my time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.