Photograph’s Of My Allotment

As it’s bank holiday Monday, I thought I would have a break from writing and show you some photographs of my allotment.  I took the photo’s yesterday, so it will show you how my fruit and vegetables look at the moment.

I hope you enjoy looking at them all and I would love to hear your comments.

I won’t be posting on Friday, as it’s half term and I like to spend the week with my family.

I will be back a week today ( Mon 3rd July ).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.

Thank you for looking at my photo’s.

22 thoughts on “Photograph’s Of My Allotment

  1. It looks fabulous. You are very fortunate to be allowed to dedicate so much space to fruit, and to be able to grass that part of the plot. We are only allowed a small percentage to be fruit, and no grassed areas are permitted. Are your plot fees very high in your area? Ours have increased by £20 this year and we now pay £80 for a large plot ( 3 years ago we paid £40 per year but were forced to sign new contracts which allowed such large hikes – anyone who refused to sign had their plot taken off them). I live in Lancashire and have a council plot.

    • Wow your plots are expensive. I pay £110 for all four plots. To be honest, there are still over 25 plots vacant and they are just glad people have the plots, so they are quite happy with grassed areas around fruit trees that are kept neat lol. So yes I am lucky.

  2. wonderful photos thanks for sharing your progression with the allotment, i shall be glad when mine looks as good.
    sue

  3. Wow your allotment is amazing – how long has it taken you to gain the knowledge to know what to plant where and when – am I struggling with just my little veggie garden. My seedlings are far behind as I was very poorly at the beginning of spring when I should have been sowing. will they catch up?? I do hope so.

    Thank you so much for posting these pictures they are an inspiration.

    • Hi Lorna, thank you, it’s lovely to hear from you. I’m sure your seedlings will catch up, everything is slow to grow this year. I do hope you are feeling better now, do look after yourself.

      I love gardening, especially veg growing and I live and breath it lol. I went to college (part time) for a year to study horticulture and I learnt a lot, but I have learnt even more through trial and error over the years on my allotment plot. So keep going, if things don’t work out this year you will learn from it too and next year it will be better. But in the mean time, if you have any questions let me know.

  4. Thank you for sharing the photos of all your hard work ,you are an inspiration.My parents used to have an allotment & my children would help them & we would all enjoy the lovely Maris piper potatoes he grew for the Sunday roasts. I’m feeling quite nostalgic thinking of eating potatoes growing in the soil up to a few hours before we ate them ! All organic before it was fashionable ! I’m trying vegetables in a little area by my back door & getting lots of useful information from you. You must literally never stop working too do all this!!

    • Hi Carriet, thanks for your kind words. What lovely memories and your parents were very forward thinking growing organically…I think they are an inspiration…not me. You can grow all sorts of veg in small areas e.g. herbs or strawberries in hanging baskets, lettuce, toms etc in grow bags and potatoes in old bins or compost bags. Don’t let a small area restrict you.

  5. good lord – how on earth do you manage to keep everything going – it’s so neat and tidy and HUGE – your have my utmost admiration – it all looks gorgeous and so productive – it’s a wonder you have time for anything else. Great pics. I bow to your dedication to veg growing – I am humbled!

    • Oh bless you elaine, I do love it though. I am very critical of my own plot and tend to look at what needs to be done, instead of looking at what I’ve actually done, so the comments on here have been a lovely confidence builder.

  6. You rents are very cheap – wish ours were. Your plot looks wonderful.
    I notice that your winter onions are under enviromesh – do you have an alliium leaf miner problem?

    Interesting that you seem to be employed weed control fabric as we are too – we’re hoping to keep down the weeding activity this year

    • Yes Sue, last year was the first year I suffered from the allium leaf miner and my overwintering onions seem to suffer the most. So in the autumn I covered my new overwintering onions after I planted them, in the hope I will get a good crop. Unfortunately, I just can’t afford to cover any of the onions that I planted this spring, so I will have to take a chance on them. However, this year I have grown two varieties of onion sets and another variety from seed, in the hope that I can find one type slightly more resistant?

Leave a Reply

