Thick and Creamy Vegetable Soup and Homemade Cakes For Work

This has been another busy week for me.

After I harvested my sweetcorn this week, I cleared the remaining foliage and put it into my large compost area.  The thick stems of sweetcorn can take a long time to rot down and I won’t be using this compost for at least four or five years.

Around the sweetcorn I had grown ‘Jamaican’ pumpkins, so I also removed those and brought them home:

The Jamaican pumpkin seeds were given to me by my allotment friend ‘Phoenix’.

I have been growing Jamaican pumpkins for a few years now.  They are great for roasting as they hold their shape better than normal pumpkins and don’t just turn to ‘mush’.

The area is now ready for me to dig manure into the beds.

.

Yesterday morning I made cakes for my husband to take to work for his colleagues, to celebrate his birthday.

I made a Pumpkin and Orange Cake:

You can find the recipe here.

I also made a Chocolate Cake:

You can find the recipe here.

Some butterfly cakes:

And finally some Cheesy Courgette Scones:

You can find the recipe here.

.

Today, my wonderful friends and neighbours, Arlene and Tom, picked loads and loads of crab apples from their tree and gave them to me to use.

I am so grateful as they will make wonderful crab apple jelly.

You can find a crab apple jelly recipe here.

I will certainly have my work cut out for me over the weekend as there are hundreds of them.

Thank you Arlene and Tom!

.

My youngest daughter is still feeling under the weather with a cold and cough, so I decided to make a thick and creamy vegetable soup for tea.

This soup is very warming and extremely filling.

You can actually put any vegetables into it that you want, or you have handy.  Frozen vegetables are fine to use too.

In the recipe I have listed the vegetables that I used today:

Thick and Creamy Vegetable Soup Recipe

1 tablespoon olive oil

450g carrots diced

1 medium onion chopped

2 medium potatoes diced

½ a small swede diced

1 green pepper deseeded and chopped

A handful of french beans

A handful of broad beans

1 patty pan or courgette diced

Enough vegetable stock to cover all the vegetables

35 grams plain flour

450 ml milk

Cheese to sprinkle on top

.

Fry the carrots, onion, potatoes and swede, until soft.

Add the other vegetables and then only just cover them with vegetable stock.

Simmer for 30 minutes.

Take half of the vegetables out of the pan and a couple of tablespoons of the stock and blend or liquidise it down.  Then add it back to the pan.

Mix the flour with a little bit of the milk in a separate bowl and then stir in the remaining milk.

Pour the milk mixture into the soup and bring to the boil stirring all the time as it thickens.

Simmer for 5 minutes.

Serve with a sprinkling of cheese on top and some nice home bread.

.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

11 thoughts on “Thick and Creamy Vegetable Soup and Homemade Cakes For Work

  1. Hi Lisa, just wanted to say I have today tried your suggestion of lemon slices in water to clean the microwave. Wow – what wonderful results it has never been so easy to clean. Really enjoying the blog keep up the good work. See you at the forum.

  2. I will be writing that vegatable soup recipe down, if thats ok, it sounds delicious, over your 4 allotments do you do a cropping plan for the following year? I am planning to do one for the land next year and one thing i have never done is follow on crops, as need to get the best out of the ground, and try and grow stuff for the lean month too.
    sue

    • Hi Sue. Yes, I do a plan every year to make sure I have lots to harvest all year round. Things don’t always come when I expect them too lol, but when one crop is behind, all the others usually follow too. The polytunnel is a challenge as i’ve never had one before, but I am determined to use it all year round too.

  3. Butterfly cakes!! My word, I hadn’t thought about those for a while! My Mum made them when I was small, and Oh! How I loved the mock cream! NOM! NOM!

  4. The recipe for Thick and CreamyVeg soup looks brilliant – and it uses all the things I have a glut of from my allotment.

Leave a Reply

