A Lovely Week & A Peanut Butter Biscuit Recipe

I’ve had a lovely week.

It started last Saturday when I woke up early and sat outside watching the sun rise….it was stunning.  In just under an hour it went from darkness to daylight.  This is something I have never watched before….nature is so beautiful:

SAM_2195 SAM_2197 SAM_2201

On Saturday myself, Mr Thrift and my daughter went on the ‘Bradgate Park’ dog walk again with Judy.  I am still amazed that less than six months again she couldn’t go anywhere near dogs without barking and lunging madly at them and yet now we can walk for a couple of hours with lots of other dogs…….and as you can see in the photograph below, she is chilled out enough to even lie down when we stop.  I am so proud of her:

image3

.

Also this week I saw the most amazing rainbow whilst I was walking Judy in our local park.  The colours were really bright and it looked as though both ends of it were in the park…..(so I will keep a look out for a crock of gold over the coming weeks).

IMG_2695

.

And this week it was my birthday and I had some lovely cards and presents.  My daughter also made me a gorgeous cake.  She spent ages making it into my kitchen garden and even put ‘pretend’ mud on the vegetables…..and it tasted delicious!

SAM_2227 cake

.

.

This week in my kitchen garden:

.

I picked the rest of my sweetcorn this week as the weather is turning colder and I was very pleased with it.

SAM_2187 SAM_2190

I blanched the cobs and froze them so we can enjoy them over the winter:

SAM_2193

I then cut all the sweetcorn down so I can start to prepare this area for next year…

SAM_2185 IMG_2686

.

I also removed the dead leaves from around my curly kale and cabbages as these can harbour pests like slugs and snails etc.  I gave it a good weed and it looks much better now.

SAM_2217 SAM_2221

I picked my last white summer cabbage and I left four red cabbages to harvest another time:

SAM_2224

.

I also picked some more parsley to freeze….

SAM_2225

and some spinach so I could make a spinach and poached egg florentine and it was really nice:

SAM_2215

.

Unfortunately I also had to cover the overwintering onions and garlic that I planted last week, as the local family of squirrels (that one of my neighbours insists on feeding) keep digging in this area to hide the nuts they has been given:

SAM_2218

And finally I harvested my first few mizuna leaves from the seeds I sowed at the beginning of September.  Hopefully I will have many more leaves to follow over winter:

SAM_2216

.

.

This week in my kitchen:

.

I’ve been very busy in the kitchen this week.  I started by making the crab apple jelly from the crab apples I was kindly given last week:

IMG_2704[1]

I also decided to make some things in advance for my freezer, to help save time when I prepare meals over the next few weeks.

I made a big portion of spaghetti bolognaise sauce and we had some for tea, but the rest I froze in portions ready for another day:

SAM_2182 SAM_2183

I also made a double portion of white sauce to use half in macoroni cheese and I froze the other half after it had cooled completely.  It is really easy to reheat in the microwave and then add cheese for a cheese sauce:

SAM_2177 SAM_2178

I made pastry this week for a pie with some leftover chicken and vegetables.  I made a big portion of pastry so I could freeze three portions for a quick pie another time.  It defrosts quickly when I need it.

SAM_2181 SAM_2180

I also made another load of passatta out of tomatoes that I picked at the end of last week:

SAM_2184 SAM_2192

This week I ran out of cheese, so I bought three big blocks and grated it all in my processor.  I then froze it in bags of 250 grams so it is easy to defrost a pack each time we run out.  I find grated cheese seems to last much longer when I grate it, as it’s so hard to cut thin slices of cheese when it’s left in a block…..and also ready grated cheese costs more money to buy than cheese in blocks:

SAM_2175

And I also made a double load of chocolate ice cream and separated it into individual portions…. again I find it goes further this way.

SAM_2214

All the above things help to save me time or money, which has to be a good thing!

.

As you have probably guessed by now, I really don’t like to waste any food in my house and this week I found some peanut butter lurking in the back of my cupboard that really needed to be used up.  So I made some peanut butter biscuits, which really are one of the easiest biscuits to make and they tasted absolutely delicious:

.

.

Peanut Butter Biscuits Recipe:

.

150g smooth peanut butter

150g granulated sugar

1 egg

.

Preheat your oven Gas 4 / 180C / 350F

Put all the above ingredients into a bowl and mix together:

SAM_2207 SAM_2208

Put large heaped teaspoons of mixture onto a baking tray (there is no need to grease the baking tray):

SAM_2209

Bake in your oven for 10-12 minutes until golden:

SAM_2210 SAM_2211

Enjoy!

SAM_2212

Thank you for reading my blog today.  I will be back next Friday as usual.

Have a good week!

30 thoughts on “A Lovely Week & A Peanut Butter Biscuit Recipe

  1. A belated happy birthday to you Lisa! I have a quirky habit of sending people cards when it is their birthday telling them how many days old they are! It causes much amusement & sometimes horror as the years go by.
    You have been busy this week, but then you always are it seems.
    Not a peanut butter fan but those biscuits look lovely, might give them a go.
    Have a lovely week.
    Best wishes,
    Angela ( Devon)

  2. Like you I hate to waste any food , I was interested in the peanut butter , if you ever have mice in your greenhouses , cold frames bait the traps with peanut butter they love it , I keep a plastic plant label to put it on with .

    ________________________________

    • Yes my neighbour had a rat in his shed at the beginning of the year and I brought a rat box (like a big mouse trap in a box so the dogs couldn’t get in to it) and it suggested using peanut butter (which I did), but it did surprised me.

  3. Is there just sugar, peanut butter and egg in the biscuits please? No flour? I love peanut butter and would like to try these : )

  4. Happy Birthday to you Lisa .Glad you had a lovely Birthday! That cake was amazing ,your daughter is very clever & so thoughtful to make it for you ! Im going to try your peanut butter cookies they look scrumptious!.I had a recipe for peanut butter cheesecake that was so good (think it was a Nigella one !)It always makes me put things into perspective looking at beautiful natural phenomena like dawn & sunsets.We do a bit of astronomy in the garden with a telescope & my husband has done some amazing shots of the Milky Way ! Another great harvest & a busy week of cooking for you well done -I dont know how you do it ! Youre Superwoman !!
    Have a good week Carrie xx

  5. Happy birthday to you, what a wonderful cake your daughter made. It is so good to have the freezer stocked with things you can quickily put together when it get busy, i find myself stocking up at this time of the year, with all the excess stock of vegs etc. Have a great week.
    Sue

  6. Happy birthday to you…what a fantastic sunrise, rainbow and cake….they say it happens in threes; for you I’m glad it was ‘good’ threes! X

  7. What a lovely artistic cake from your daughter! Love your news updates on Judy, you must find her good behaviour very rewarding – a friend for life! You will have some great meals to look forward to in the coming winter months that’s for sure.

  8. I absolutely love your blogs they are inspirational. A belated Happy Birthday to you my dear, what a delicious looking birthday cake you lucky mummy and your little friend Judy looks simply adorable!

  9. a belated happy birthday to you my friend. the cake looks wonderful,your daughter is a great artist!! another busy week in your life! i made this week a big portion tomatoe sauce,for the freezer.
    tomorrow i will bake apple cake and muffins for the freezer.how do you make the pastry ?thanks for this post.
    have a nice week,
    hugs regina

  10. I missed commenting here, and it was your birthday! What a beautiful cake your daughter made for you – a belated happy birthday to you.
    I did not know that white sauce could be frozen – that’s something to remember! Your pie looks beautiful, too. Since I started making an oil crust I find it hard to make it look nice – I have to be content with good flavor only. 🙂

  11. I’ve just discovered your website when researching soapnuts for dishwashers. It was such a helpful blog and has inspired me to try it out. Thank you so much for this great website. The step-by-step pics are so helpful and I’m going to try the peanut butter biscuit recipe.

    • Hi E and thank you for visiting my blog and I am so glad you have enjoyed reading it. I always found alot of websites hard to understand so I have been very careful to give as much information and photo’s as possible on my blog to help anyone who wants to have a go at my recipes etc. so I am so glad that you have told me this helps.

      Let me know how you get on with the soapnuts

Leave a Reply

