Pear Rust & A ‘Judy’ Update

After reading last weeks comments, I realised that a few people out there also have a nice, old fashioned ‘English tea’ similar to the one we had last week, which is nice to know.

This got me thinking about other things I used eat when I was younger and I remembered that on a Sunday my dad would always make a cooked breakfast.  Now this isn’t too unusual, however while he cooked he would feed me and my sisters raw bits of sausage and we would suck on the raw rind of the bacon!!!!….I’m surprised we weren’t really, really poorly.

It’s funny but I can still taste the sausage now and I have to admit it was lovely!   I wonder if anyone else reading my blog today ate raw sausage and raw bacon rind too?….it’s not something that is advised nowadays!

SAM_2060

.

A ‘Judy’ Update:

.

For those of you that don’t know, Judy is our lovely rescue dog that we have had for eleven months now…..unfortunately she came with a lot of problems and we recently found out that we were her fourth owners.  Our first behaviourist suggested we should give her up as she was untrainable and in the wrong environment, but thank goodness we didn’t.

We have been training since the beginning of May with Steven Havers (a different trainer) and the results have really been amazing!  Finally this last week I have started to walk to the park (instead of drive) as she can now tolerate the traffic well (except for the very large lorries).  This is something that used to really make her stressed.

She can also walk with other dogs on the park now and is fine if another dog runs up to her.  But the most amazing thing this week is….I have started to let go of her long training lead when I walk her on the park, so I am not holding her (this way I can pick it up if she strays too far, though her  ‘recall’ is much better now too).

SAM_1460

So things are going very well with Judy and other dog walkers are now commenting on how well she is doing……one particular lady who has seen me walking Judy from the beginning spoke to me this week and said how well she was doing and said to me that “I have given Judy her life back”…… and I couldn’t stop smiling for the rest of the day as it made me feel so proud!

She still gets anxious if there are lots of people around and dogs on leads are sometimes still a problem, but I will keep working on this.

SAM_1455

I am so glad we didn’t give Judy up as we all absolutely adore her.

.

This week in the garden:

.

This week I noticed that my Cosmos has finally started to flower properly and it looks beautiful together with the orange berries of the pyracantha that the birds love to eat:

SAM_2058 SAM_2056

The grass on my newly laid lawn is rooting well and as it was growing well, I ran the lawn mower over it, on its highest blade setting.  I will leave the grass a couple more weeks before removing my ‘make shift’ fence from around it, so we can walk on it properly:

SAM_2018

This week I decided to cut back the Viburnum tinus that was casting far too much shade over my one raised bed.  I planted the Viburnum when we first moved into the house thirteen years ago and I didn’t really want to cut the whole plant down, so I took away some of it as a compromise….hopefully this will make a big difference to the light in this area:

SAM_2031 SAM_2033

In the end I removed a ‘car load’ of branches (which we took to the tip the next morning), but by the time we had filled the car the moon was shinning!  This really made me realise that the nights are drawing in quickly now autumn is here:

SAM_2032

.

This week I planted some spring cabbages in my kitchen garden after raking some blood, fish and bone into the soil.  I made some cabbage collars to avoid the cabbage root fly, as the odd one may still be laying eggs at this time of year and I then used my usual method of using canes and bottles to support a net over the cabbages, so the birds don’t eat them:

SAM_2028 SAM_2029

.

I also planted some more lettuces which will hopefully last until the really harsh weather of winter comes our way.  As the nights are getting colder, I decided to cover them with a cloche to give them a bit of protection:

SAM_2040 SAM_2041

.

Unfortunately this week I noticed a problem with the pear trees that I planted this year… They have ‘Pear rust’ which is a fungus that unfortunately spreads long distances between pear trees and junipers, which I can’t do anything about.  Therefore all I can do is remove the infected leaves on my trees and hopefully, if it doesn’t become too bad, it won’t reduce future harvests too much.

SAM_2051 SAM_2053

You can read all about pear rust on the RHS website here.

.

This week I thinned out my tray of over wintering onions…..again I used scissors to cut off the ones I didn’t want, to stop any root damage to the remaining onions.  I will wait a couple of weeks now before I  plant them in the ground:

SAM_2015

  .

This week I also dug up the last of my ‘Desiree’ potatoes.  I left them out to dry for a couple of hours and then placed them in a sack to store them in a cool, dark place until required.  It seemed strange only having one sack of potatoes as I usually have lots of them to store, but at least this year I only had a few to dig up:

SAM_2009 SAM_2013

I have also put the garlic that I grew, in a cool dark place to store.  I didn’t think the garlic looked very big but when I separated a bulb the cloves seemed a decent size, so I was very pleased with it in the end:

SAM_2010 SAM_2011

.

I am STILL waiting for the sweetcorn to ripen, however the ‘Moneymaker’ tomatoes that I planted outside are finally turning red…..I am praying that we don’t have an early frost….I am watching the weather forecast very, very closely.

SAM_2047 SAM_1901

.

.

This week in the home:

.

I am still picking autumn raspberries and a few blueberries from my kitchen garden and my daughter stuffed as many as possible (together with fruit from my freezer) into the pancake that I made her this week:

SAM_2021 SAM_1413

.

Also this week I made a couple of plum cakes (one for us and one for my gardening forum):

SAM_2024

Unfortunately I forgot to take a photo of the cakes after I cooked them, but this is how they look when cooked:

SAM_1756

.

Unfortunately we have now finished eating my homegrown onions for this year, all except the last few really small ones……

SAM_2019

I hate using the really small ones when I cook dinner as they are so fiddly when I’m in a rush, so I decided to pickle the last few instead:

SAM_2020 SAM_2025

.

And finally this week I topped my wine up with cooled, boiled water and it is bubbling away nicely…..I can’t wait to try some soon!

IMG_2673

.

So unfortunately that’s it for this week.  I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog today.

I will be back next week as usual.

SAM_2057

Have a good week!

24 thoughts on “Pear Rust & A ‘Judy’ Update

  1. So glad I have found your blog in a search for courgette scones – you write such interesting stuff with lots of tips and ideas. My husband always recounts how his mum gave him raw sausage and I kept saying he must have been mistaken because he would have been ill! Must say, I have to believe him now- maybe we all had strong stomachs then!

  2. My dad also made a cooked breakfast on a Sunday but I didn’t eat anything raw. He would bring my breakfast of a bacon and egg sandwich up to my bedroom so I could have breakfast in bed. There would always be a quarter of the cut sandwich toasted. He always did some fried bread as well. Have you had a peek inside your corn – it must be ready now, surely.
    xx

    • Yes, I keep looking at my corn….I can’t quite believe it isn’t ready yet myself-I know I plantd it late but this really doesn’t seem right, though I do have friends whose sweetcorn hasn’t ripen yet either. I wonder if it’s because it has been such a dull summer?

  3. Judy is and awesome and fantastic little dog, and I just know she is very, very thankful you persevered with her! She looks amazing!
    We just came back from a two week holiday in Qld (a 1,785 kilometre drive) and then the following weekend a shorter holiday with my brother in the NSW/Victorian border and I am just amazed with the temperature difference, and day length difference! It’s around 19 degrees warmer, and the days are definitly longer! Amazing! Though we did have our first 31 degree day yesterday, and we are only in Spring!
    Ahhh! Now wine is something I haven’t tried! Not that I drink it, but I like cooking with it!
    I hope you guys are as well as you sound 😄 thank you for the lovely blog!

      • We have caught another cold, but otherwise we are fine.
        If only the temperature would not go above 31 I think everyone around here would be very, very happy!
        But we are expecting it to get 10 -13 degrees hotter in summer this year 😔 fire season has already started.

      • Oh dear, you seem to have more fires every year…I assume this is to do with the hotter temperatures you are having due to global warming.
        It sounds to me that immune system is still low as it’s not long since you were poorly before…look after yourself XX

  4. You must be so glad you persevered with Judy .She is a delightful little dog.It must be so rewarding to be at this stage with her now. We ate bits of raw sausage as well just to nibble while the rest were cooking.What with all the cake mix bowls & wooden spoons we ‘licked out’ full of raw egg !it’s a wonder we’re still here!! I never tried bacon rind though I must say.We even used to eat runner beans raw but apparently you cant do that now (it’s the bean inside thats the problem!) I used to eat the rubbery jelly cubes before it was made into jelly. I must have been a little gannet (as my Grandma would say) Your garden is coming on so well & the berry pancakes look extremely yummy.Ive made apple cake for us this week & some leopard print cupcakes & oreo cupcakes this week for the Macmillan day at my sons school.Ive been picking the Golden delicious apples off my small tree,its funny how you savour them when you have such a small crop. I think it was a good idea to trim the viburnum ,they are quite forgiving to a little tree surgery and the benefits to the garden will be good.Every bit of light & moisture helps. Have a good week. Carrie x

    • Hi Carriet, that is a really lovely thing you are doing to raise money for Macmillian….I used to do the same at my both DD’s primary school and I must say I really miss it. IT’s amazing how many people want homemade cakes….I suppose that is a sign of the times lol.

      You are right about homegrown foods….when you grow things yourself you try and use every thing so you dont waste a thing.

      Have a good week too. XX

  5. Really glad you getting on well with Judy. Can’t believe how much you have grown in your garden. I have had a better year this year but I am still keep being beaten by the weather or my animals. Think I have learnt a lot for next year! Your plum cake looks lovely. Nikki x

    • Hi Nikki…..there never goes a year without me learning something new and I think that’s why I love growing veg & fruit so much. Judy is a delight to have a round the home now, though she does still have her ‘moments’ on walks, but I am getting there now with her…..I am so pleased I persevered

  6. It’s amazing what we ate when we were kids that didn’t hurt us! My mother “tasted” the meatloaf a little as she was mixing it up, and I don’t know how much raw cookie dough or cake batter I ingested way back then.

    That woman’s remarks to you about giving Judy her life back made me feel teary. If only all animals would be so fortunate! Your plum cake looks delicious. 🙂

    • Oh Lisa I felt the tears in my eyes when she said that…it is so lovely now that dog walkers are noticing how much she has calmed down – and so lovely I can now actually stand and talk to them without Judy going mad at their dogs lol.

      You are right about foods-how did we manage to live with the things we were given years ago?

  7. Its amazing how far Judy has come, i am so very pleased for you all. Our tomatoes are ripening at rates now which is brilliant, weve waited a long time! Do have a good week.
    Sue

  8. It’s funny that you mentioned the raw bacon. My husband and I occasionally snack on some. It might be unadvised but the meat is cured with salt. If your parents are old school like mine then you know seasoning your meat changes how it decomposes. My dad used to buy pork cuts fresh from the butcher and once home he would place it in a huge plastic bowl and pour tons of salt on it to cure it. Stopped the moisture from rotting it and killed the nasty little worms that would naturally appear on the meat. Bowl was kept on top of a kitchen cabinet. Mum used the meat as needed so no need for refrigeration. I eat other things raw including eggs. I used to drink milk fresh from the cow! I’m sure the flora in my body is more resilient than most of today’s younger generation who are overexposed to processed food.

    • Wow Teri, you have certainly ate more raw things than me….though I do remember my mum would also make an ‘egg, sugar & lemon drink’ with raw eggs when I was growing up and I have got to say it was delicious! It’s lovely to hear how your dad would ‘cure’ the meat…..years ago people were an awful lot more environmentally friendly without the constant need for the appliences we use today…..we really should learn from this shouldn’t we

  9. I am so pleased to hear how well Judy is improving. Well done for your perseverance.
    One of our parents often gets pear rust and it doesn’t seem to affect it too badly. I think it’s just something you have to put up with.

    • Yes I agree Sue. By the way I love the photo’s on your blog this week of Geoff Hamiltons garden at Barnsdale….I really love visiting there, especially to see the fruit tree cordons and the vegetable garden.

  10. I used to eat raw sausage as a child as well. Funny how you remember this as you get older.
    I really enjoy reading your blog, to be curious you made some bread rolls on your last blog, do you have a range cooker and how do you work the small oven, is this what they call a convection oven?
    I know how to work the fan oven but the little oven I’m not sure about. HELP.
    Thanks.

    • Hi Annette, I have a rangemaster cooker with two electric fan ovens and gas hob…. i’m pretty sure that a fan oven is the same thing as a convection oven (just a posher name for it). Both my ovens work exactly the same ….is your smaller oven different to your larger oven?

  11. I’m just catching up with your blog after a few hectic weeks. My corn was in the same state and I just harvested it and knocked the canes over yesterday, thinking that if it isn’t ready now then it doesn’t stand a chance. We had two lovely cobs last night for dinner and I made corn chowder for lunch today.

    • That’s good news Mike…..I must say I never thought mine was going to be ready lol, so glad it was in the end. Glad you are giving yourself time to catch up….hectic weeks take it out of us don’t they.

Leave a Reply

