Greenhouse Shading And Banana Recipes

There has been some really miserable weather this week and it’s been hard to get into the garden to do any work.

SAM_1010

However, in between the showers I did manage to plant my mange tout, in front of my strawberries.  I am trying very hard to use every bit of space I have to grow vegetables.

This really is a trial year for my kitchen garden and I’m not sure yet if things will grow well or not.  I was hoping that I will have picked the strawberries before the peas grow taller and take away some of the sunlight….however due to the miserable, cool weather we have been having this may not work, as there are no sign of flowers on my strawberries yet.

SAM_1012 SAM_1014

You can see in the second photo, I have put wire over the peas to stop the birds from eating them and my dog from destroying them (as she still goes mad when my neighbours dog is out).

I grew the monge tout in small lengths of guttering, which I ‘slide out’ into prepared soil when they have germinated.  I find this gives me a better germination rate.

You can read exactly how I grow peas in guttering here.

.

SAM_0986 SAM_0988

I also planted out a few of my outdoor tomatoes that I sowed on the 5th April.  You can see in the photo above that I am leaving some glass over them because the temperature outside is still quite cool for this time of year.

The tomatoes are a variety called ‘Outdoor Girl’ and I have grown them now for many years outside.  One seed company describes them as follows:

“Tomato Outdoor Girl is a really tough outdoor tomato, very easy to grow and tolerant to low temperatures. Early to fruit producing medium sized fruits of good flavour and colour

I think they are spot on with this description, as they really do give a good supply of tomatoes early on, so I get a good harvest before blight hits.

SAM_0989

In between my tomatoes I have planted some Tegetes as they look lovely when they are in flower and they also confuse the white fly with their smell, so this will stop them from attacking my plants.

.

SAM_0994 SAM_0995

In my greenhouse this week I took the bubble wrap down that provided a layer in insulation over winter, (before it actually fell down on its own).  I have left it in place over the last few years and it was now brittle and tore very easily.

I replaced it with shading netting that will help my plants on hot sunny days.  I bought my shade netting from Wilkinsons as I found it cheapest from there:

SAM_0997

Last week I planted my basil in bags in my greenhouse and this week I sowed a catch crop of radish in between them and amazingly the radish germinated in just five days.  I also sowed a row of radish outside on the same day and they are nowhere to be seen yet.

SAM_0991 SAM_1015

.

This week I harvested my first radish from the garden.  These were sowed on the 10th April:

SAM_0981

 I also picked a few of my everlasting onions:

SAM_0982

And I had my third cut of mixed salad leaves that I sowed in a pot in March:

SAM_0977 SAM_0976

.

(Next year I am hoping to be havesting more things at this time of year, now my kitchen garden is up and running).

The aim of my kitchen garden is to harvest as much as possible from a small space.

.

.

At home this week:

I made a big batch of tomato and basil soup from tomatoes I grew at my allotment last year and froze (I just chop the fresh tomatoes in half and place in a freezer bag and then into the freezer).

SAM_0975

When the soup was ready I then froze it in portions, so I can defrost a bowl full for lunch when I want to:

.

Top Tip:

This week my daughter brought some plastic cups from the ‘pound shop’ and she couldn’t get the sticky labels off:

IMG_2392

So I put a drop of olive oil on the sticky labels and then I used a scrubber to easily remove the sticky label and residue remaining:

IMG_2393 IMG_2394 IMG_2396

This also works for removing the sticky residue on jam jars when most of the label has been removed.

.

And finally I made some banana lollies and some super quick and easy ‘breadmaker’ banana bread from the ‘whoopsied’ bananas that I bought at the end of last week and I have written bothe of these recipies below for anyone that is intersted:

SAM_0944

.

Super Quick And Easy Banana Bread In A Breadmaker:

.

3 over ripe bananas mashed

200 grams granulated sugar

3 tablespoons sunflower oil

2 eggs

270g self raising flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

.

Put all the above ingredients into your breadmaker pan and put it on a ‘pizza dough’ setting for 5 minutes.

Stop the breadmaker half way through and scrape down the sides of your pan with a spatula to ensure all the flour is mixed in well,

SAM_0966

When there is no trace of flour left, set your breadmaker on a ‘bake’ setting for 55 minutes:

SAM_0969SAM_0970

The result is lovely banana bread

(which incidentally can be sliced and frozen for another time):

SAM_0971 SAM_0973

.

.

Banana Ice Lollies:

.

2 Ripe banana’s

3 tablespoons natural yoghurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

60 grams chocolate

2 tablepoons of milk

.

Use a hand blender to combine the banana, yoghurt and vanilla until they are smooth:

SAM_0956 SAM_0957

Pour the resulting mixture into four lolly moulds, leaving a slight gap at the top for the chocolate:

SAM_0960

Put the chocolate and milk in a microwaveable jug and microwave on full power until the chocolate has melted (this only takes a couple of minutes so keep checking it).

SAM_0959

Let the chocolate mix cool down for a few minutes and then pour it over the banana mixture:

SAM_0962 SAM_0963 SAM_0964

Put the lollies in the freezer overnight:

SAM_0965

And then enjoy:

SAM_0974

.

Thank you for reading my blog today, I will be back next Friday at my usual time.

Have a good weekend!

6 thoughts on “Greenhouse Shading And Banana Recipes

  1. It has been so cold and wet, hope next week to be able to get on in the garden and harden some things off, the tip about the sticky labels is brilliant and cant wait to have a try of that, just seeing the signs of the spring onions now, and i must sow the next row of lettuce.
    Have a good week. Sue

  2. Hello,
    I look forward to your blog so much each week that I thought I would try to find another blogger to entertain me. Didn’t find one that hit the spot. Yours is interesting, informative and a pleasure to read. I Thank-you! Not doing so well in my garden this week. My cucumbers and jerusalem artichokes have been eaten by slugs (?) and my courgettes and green beans are looking very sorry for themselves after being transferred outside – pretty windy here in NI. Thanks again. Nikki xx

    • Hi Four4kids, thank you so much for your lovely comment. It really makes it feel worthwhile blogging when I hear words like yours. I try really hard to write about what I would like to read and I don’t bother with advertising either as I don’t feel that is what my blog is about either….so thank you again for your kind words.

  3. Hi

    Do you leave the netting on your greenhouse all the time or do you remove it when the weather is cooler?

    Might try that banana bread in my bread maker. It looks lovely.

    Donnax

    • Hi Donna, thanks for reading my blog. I only keep the shading on over the summer months and then I remove it….however I do leave the insulating bubble wrap up all year round (though I know the books tell you to take it down lol-but it’s never done any harm).

Leave a Reply

