My Role As A ‘Homemaker’

I wanted to start today by reminding anyone that is interested, that my usual monthly blog post of

‘What To Do In The Kitchen Garden In May’ can be found here.

There is loads of information in this post e.g. weather conditions expected, what to sow / plant / harvest in May, jobs to do and pests / diseases that you may encounter this month.

I hope it helps someone out there.

.

This week I planted my climbing peas with a 'catch crop' lettuces inbetween inbetween

This week I planted my climbing peas with a ‘catch crop’ of lettuces inbetween them.

.

Today I have decided to talk about something different…. my role as a ‘homemaker’.  Previously I spent most days at my allotment, but now I spend a lot more time at home for one reason or another.

Back in January when I handed my allotment keys back, I didn’t quite realise what a change this would be for me and I have got to say there have been times when I have been so desperate to be outside I opened our French doors wide, just to feel the cold winter air around me.

My role as a homemaker hasn’t changed though and I do the things at home that I always have, but at different times as I have other family issues that take up a lot of my time now.

SAM_0527 SAM_0626

In the decades past, most women were housewives, it was the normal thing to do when you married. Nowadays it is rare for anyone to be a housewife/homemaker, especially after your children have started school. In fact I don’t actually know anyone that stays at home and doesn’t work.

I do find that nowadays if you stay at home the role of a ‘homemaker’ is often frowned upon…in fact over the years I have been asked on numerous occasions “what do I do to fill my time?” In the beginning I would try and justify the hours I spent at home and then after a while I felt pressurised into taking a part time job, but I was not happy in this role.

There are a lot of women out there who love working outside of the home, but there are also a lot that would secretly love to stay at home. ‘The Mail’ wrote about it here this week.

SAM_0384SAM_0365

So after I gave up my ‘little’ part time job (that turned in to lots of hours of overtime and stress), I then stopped trying to justify my time at home and when asked the question “How do I fill my time?” I would politely answer that I watch ‘Jeremy Kyle’ all day with a ‘fag’….which is really what people thought I did anyway.

Unfortunately it is easy to under value and dismiss the role of a ‘homemaker’, but I think it is probably one of the most important jobs a person can do.

SAM_0282SAM_0353

As a homemaker I try to organise and run the home as efficiently as possible, making sure bills are paid and savings are made wherever possible. I meal plan and cook healthy meals from scratch, after shopping in the cheapest places for food. I preserve and store the things I grow, I ‘make do and mend’ and recycle when possible, without wasting anything.

I try to make sure the house is clean and tidy using ‘old fashioned cleaning methods’ that are environmentally friendly and clothes are washed using a homemade laundry liquid, then ironed and put away.

I don’t run my four allotments anymore, but I have created a vegetable patch in my back garden and I will try to grow as much as possible there.

My parsnips ready to plant

My parsnips ready to plant

But I think the most important role I have as a homemaker, is to create a warm and comfortable place for my family to be in. A place where they know they will never be judged and their laughter and tears will always be shared with encouraging words and if needed, a shoulder to cry on with a ‘hug’.

I am certainly not saying that it is all a bed of roses, as money is always tight and I’ve got to say that being a ‘homemaker’ is the hardest job I have ever done…. but I do feel very privileged to be able to live this way. I know this isn’t everybody’s ‘cup of tea’, but it is how myself and Mr Thrift wanted it to be.

I would love to hear other people views on this, so please leave your comments below, thank you.

SAM_0873

I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog today.  I will be back next Friday as usual.

Have a good week!

28 thoughts on “My Role As A ‘Homemaker’

  1. I have a great deal of respect for you. I have a stressful ‘part-time’ job, where I unsuccessfully juggle home and work life. I end up working more than my paid hours because I have a senior job and so my company expects its pound of flesh. So you can usually find me knee deep in my messy house, answering emails instead of focusing on my children – who really deserve better. I have an allotment too and so I’d very much like to do what you do. Good luck with it and answer with pride next time someone asks what you do. You’ve made a decision to live a good life and that deserves recognition,

    • Oh bless you Tania, that was exactly why I gave my part time job up. Too many times employers expect ‘full time work’ in part time hours…it is so sad. In theory a part time job should really enhance your life and give you mental stimualtion and collegues to share a laugh with, as well as still giving you time to do the things you want to at home….in reality this is just not so and I really think this is sad.

  2. Being a homemaker myself I can related to your story, same as parttime job which eventualy has cost us more money, crazy as it was…Being married for 26 years, with a child [ grown man now] and managing 3 lifes with my husband salary [ income is below average] it is a pure art and ask special skills 🙂 So – I am prowed to be oldfashioned and they can call me ‘lazy’, we don’t have a 1 cent debet anywhere, I have savings for everything, we don’t own house, car or fancy clothes,
    most of our clothes and shoes are from secondhand shops [ excellent choice on new stuff, or almost new], as it is for furniture, kitchen utensils, chairs, sofa.s picture frames, etc…
    Our lives are filled with joy, no stress, no arguing, no nightmarres…We choose not to be slaves to anybody. I do my shoppings on a bike, no maatter snow or sunshine. Recently I am in to gardening, since we menage even to move to smaller city, and in stead of living in a flat, now rent a house with garden.
    Best regards to you, sorry for pore english! Jema, age 45 / Holland

    • Hi Jema, it is so lovely to hear from you and your english is great. I think you are wonderful and I am so proud of you for what you are doing. “Our lives are filled with joy, no stress, no arguing, no nightmarres…We choose not to be slaves to anybody”…. that really is the way to be. Well done!

  3. I am also a homemaker in Leicester. I home school my son and have an allotment and enjoy reading your column. I think being a homemaker is an undervalued role and think it’s a shame that for many women it’s not an option.

  4. Thank you for your lovely blog. Your monthly guides are so helpful to me – it is great to get the information I need in all one place!
    Like you I’m a homemaker, although I do have very little people “helping” for the time being! I agree with you that it is an important job and I’m proud to tell people that is what I do.

  5. I was always home too. For a few years I had a P/T job working from home. It was okay for a few years, I was grateful for it as I was home with my children. My husband & I decided it was best for me to be at home. It was the right decision for us, it wouldn’t suit everyone though.
    You seem to do a lot, you don’t need to justify the choice you made. It’s right for you.
    Best wishes,
    Angela (Devon)

  6. Hi
    To me, it’s different strokes for different folks – I would have loved to have been a stay at home Mom but divorce and being left with a mortgage to pay and 3 teenagers to feed and clothe meant that I had to go out to work – sometimes we don’t have the luxury of choosing what we do, sometimes it’s a case of just getting on with what life’s cards have dealt us. The down side is not having the choice to stay at home and the up side of working outside the home is that I own my own home, my own car and I’m now retired at the age of 59 with my own pension and I’ve been able to help my children out along the way with weddings etc.,
    I will say however I work as hard and I’m as busy, being retired as I did in paid work so being a homemaker can be just as hard work whichever path we go down Xxx

    • Yes you are so right. I feel very privaledged to be able to live this way, but not everyone has this choice. I know exactly how hard it must have been for you with a morgage and teenagers as my mother was left in exact same way. She worked very hard to pay the morgage and look after me and money was extremely tight. I have so much respect for you as this is not an easy thing to do and your children must have learnt so much from you i.e to not to give up, work hard and to fight for what you want…….you should be very proud of yourself and if not, then you should be!

  7. Wow! You’ve got women from all over posting! Amazing wonderful! I’m in Victoria, Australia. I am a home schooler and a home maker, a gardener and a carer for my husband who has anxiety and depression, and while I can’t say ‘I’m Lovin’ it’, like our slogan was at McDonald’s all those years ago when I worked there, I can honestly say I wouldn’t trade places with anyone!

  8. I think it’s brilliant! I’ve recently gone down to working 4 days a week to spend more time growing our own and sorting the DIY out etc on a low budget. (For ages I’ve been in the middle of making a set of kitchen shelves out of pallets, maybe I’ll finish them soon now!)

  9. Fantastic blog post – I really look forward to your blog popping into my inbox as there is always something interesting and insightful to read. I am currently a homemaker and have been for a number of years, whilst home schooling my children and I love every single minute of it. I am about to go to Uni part time now that my youngest is in school and I am really hoping that I am going to be able to keep up with all of the work in the home and garden I do. At least I will have your @what you should be doing in’ posts to keep me on track.

    • Thank you Lorna, it is lovely to hear that you enjoy the blog, it makes it all worth while when I get lovely comments. Also, good on you going to Uni part time….I did my horticulture course along time ago and I really enjoyed it-I found it hard at first as it was along time since I had studied but I got there in the end and I loved the experience.

  10. I loved this post. I retired due to ill health / disability about 10 years ago. My daughter then was only 8. I loved being around to participate in her school life. Like you, I love to cook from scratch and what can be better than to come home to a house smelling of a meal cooking! It has also allowed me to spend more time in the garden (only been growing vegetables for about 6 years and LOVE it – especially the eating bit!) I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with being a “home maker”, and as I love my home, I enjoy being in it and enjoying it. Too many people spend a lot of time making their house a home and then don’t get to spend much time enjoying it! Having said that, my husband (also my carer) is at home with me, and we get on really well. We work well together as a team. I’d not have it any other way.

    • Thank you for reading my blog Simone and I am so glad you enjoyed this post in particular. I’m sorry you had to retire due to ill health but it sounds like you have made the best of everything and found the new interests and things you enjoy….and I bet your daughter loves to have you around.
      I totally agree with you that too many people spend a lot of time making their house a home and then don’t get to spend much time enjoying it…in fact I know people that have houses that look like ‘showhomes’ but like you say they are hardly ever there as they are working so hard to pay for it….it really is a shame.

  11. Thank you for your wonderful post, i think it is about time that those that stay at home wether male or female are valued by society for all the work they do, it is hard work and sometimes lonely, you have to be self motivated and innovative. I have been a homemaker for 30 years now, the odd part time jobs here and there along the way. I love the challenge of making something from nothing and my husband is the same, and we also have the 3 1/.2 acres to keep me out of trouble lol. Do not worry what people think or say, i just say to them i am a housewife, i am proud of what i do, and when i see how the children have turned out i feel its all been worth while.
    Sue

  12. Hi my name is Lyn I have had the pleasure of reading your blog for some time and I felt that I had to make a comment on your latest post. I too gave up working full time almost 5 years ago to become a foster carer for troubled children and teenagers. I sometimes do not know where my day goes, I live by my diary and the clock, but I have found the rewards far out way the negatives. My home is always clean and tidy and as you say meals are made from scratch with veg that I have grown on my allotment. I have more time for family and the children that I care for, my husband is greeted when he comes in from work with a kiss and a fresh cuppa and he is far more contented man.
    I love my life as a carer and a homemaker and wish that I had done it years ago. I feel proud to be able to provide a warm and loving home and could not imagine myself back in a nine to five job.
    Carry on the good work, I look forward to your blog every Friday its the highlight of my week.

  13. When I thought I was being made redundant last year I was worried but I have to say when it happened in March I was glad. I can now focus on being a full time mum & it’s far better. You’re right about people not always understanding why someone wants to be a homemaker but it’s being great to be out in the fresh air & my girls love having more time with me in the allotment.

    • Oh well done Charlotte for embracing your situation and I’m so glad you have found your new way of life better. I’m sure you will now have lovely memories with your children that you can cherish as they get older (I know I do)….there are so many things that working parents sadly miss out on. The down side of course is the money, but I turned this into a challenge…in fact it was years later that I realised that we were living below the so called ‘poverty line’ and we never realised….infact we were living better than we had for a long time lol

Leave a Reply

