A Homemade Gift Is From The Heart And Not Just The Bank Account

As I said previously, I have decided to have a little bit of a break from my blog until after Christmas.  Unfortunately we have a lot going on at home and I need to take time out for a few weeks to concentrate on my family, though I won’t go into detail about this.

However as I said before I will still be posting each Friday with a few older posts that I particularly like and most people reading my blog now will not have seen them.  I also promise to be around to read and answer any comments that you leave on my blog.

So if you have read any of the posts before, I must apologise and ask you to bear with me.

In a few weeks time things in the ‘Thrift’ household will be changing and I will let you know the details in the New Year when they have been finalised.

Thank you for your continued support.

.

Extracts from two blog posts in December 2012:

.

.

Teachers Biscuits:

When my daughters were both in Primary School, they liked to give their teachers a present at Christmas.

SAM_5229

I didn’t like to give their teachers an ordinary shop bought box of chocolates or a ‘Teacher Mug’ as I didn’t think it was very special.  So instead my daughters made ‘Christmas Biscuits’ (with a little help from me).

We would gift wrap the biscuits nicely and they would look very special.

We have had many times leading up to Christmas when we have made Christmas Biscuits and as a mother, this has given me lots of lovely Christmas memories seeing them make the biscuits and hand them to their teachers with big smiles on their faces.

Just one more thing….it’s a very cheap present to make.

mrs-claus[1]

.

You can make any kind of biscuits, but I found ginger biscuits and shortbread biscuits easiest for my daughters to make.  You can find the recipes here and here.

CHRISTMAS_000[1]

We rolled the dough out and used Christmas pastry cutters that I bought a few years ago.  They were well worth buying as I have used them every single Christmas since.

SAM_5357

My cutters are Angels, Holly and Stars.

After the biscuits are cooked we left them on a cooling tray.

SAM_5363

When they were cold we melted some chocolate and dipped some of the biscuits into it.  We then put them onto a piece of greaseproof paper to set.

SAM_5365

I bought a cheap jar from Wilikinsons (for approximately £2.00) and placed the biscuits in it and wrapped a nice bow around it.

SAM_5371

The teachers all seemed to really like them.

.

Christmas gifts are expensive to buy for all of your children’s friends.  One thing, which is a good idea at christmas for smaller children, is to wrap a few of the biscuits up in cellophane and give them out to their friends as a Christmas present.

They look really good and expensive, when really they haven’t cost much at all.

SAM_5373

I also cut a large star biscuit, with a smaller star cut out of it.  I popped a boiled sweet in the centre before I cooked the biscuits and this makes a beautiful star biscuit.  Again I wrapped it in cellophane and it looks great to give out to friends and again it’s cheap to make.

SAM_5377

.

Homemade Hampers:

.

Today, I finished wrapping the hampers that I have made for my family.

I tied a piece of tissue paper on all the jars of pickles, chutneys, jams etc and tied them with some raffia to make them look nice.

SAM_5451

In the hampers I put the homemade preserves, homemade mini christmas cakes and bottles of wine with the bottle covers I made last week.

SAM_5319

I added the handmade luxury dishcloths,

SAM_5326

I then also added one or two ‘surprises’ in each hamper too.

SAM_5453

I wrapped the hampers in cellophane (I bought a big roll, cheap from ebay, that will last me a few years).

I was really pleased with the result.  I’m hoping they will really love them.

I think “A homemade gift is from the heart and not just the bank account”.

SAM_5454

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back next Friday at my usual time.

12 thoughts on “A Homemade Gift Is From The Heart And Not Just The Bank Account

  1. I saved a couple of small baskets that had been left on the cake table at work (yes, this is a table that people leave cake and biscuits on regularly, not good for the waistline) and would’ve been thrown away. Hoping to make them into Christmas pressies similar to yours too 🙂 don’t think I’ve got quite so much a variety to fill them with so will top-up with choccie treats I expect.

  2. Was so lovely to read the posts its nice to be reminded that christmas is for giving and when its made by that person its all the more special and thoughtful.
    Sue

    • I agree Sue. I think it’s so much nicer to receive a homemade present as such a lot of time and effort is put into it- sadly not everyone thinks this way and a lot of people just value the price of the present

Leave a Reply

