A Perfect Christmas

This weekend I have been busy making Mr Thrift a ‘Christmas Jumper’.  They are having a competition to raise money in aid of the Rainbows charity.  He didn’t have a jumper so I converted an old one by using the felt from a ‘pound shop’ Christmas stocking, some old baubles, tinsel and cheap chocolates.  I also bought some cheap battery lights from Wilkinsons to add to the effect.  I chuckled all the way through making it.  You can’t see very well on the photo, but it actually says “Ho Ho Ho” on the front of it:

SAM_7871 SAM_7872

.

Our old fire place was fitted into the front room on Saturday and we are very pleased with it.  This meant that we could finally put our Christmas tree up on Sunday.  After Christmas we need to concentrate on decorating this room, but for now it feels like Christmas has begun for us.

SAM_7866

.

This made me once again think about my perfect Christmas.

When I think of Christmas I have a warm glow inside.  I imagine children with smiles on their faces, beautiful decorations and a wonderful turkey with all the trimmings.  I can hear ‘White Christmas’ playing in the background, while family and friends all sit around laughing and chatting with a glass of mulled wine in their hand.  What perfection!…

….but this never happens.

It’s the television and magazines that make us believe that this perfect world exists and in reality this rarely ever happens.  Unfortunately, this usually puts people under pressure to achieve this imaginary world and they end up feeling disappointed and disheartened as it’s almost impossible to live up to these unrealistic expectations.

 ‘Real life’ for most people is a Christmas dinner that isn’t ready when you want it to be, kids running round madly as they are over excited and for some people it can even be friends or relatives coming round, who they don’t even like….sound familiar?  We put so many pressures on ourselves that no wonder we don’t achieve the perfect Christmas.

SAM_5417

Last years homemade Christmas Crackers

I like to concentrate on what is ‘real life’ at Christmas, I refuse to be drawn into this ‘imaginary’ perfect world.

I like to enjoy my Christmas too, so all year I plan towards it so nothing is rushed at the end.  Every single thing I do from wrapping presents to cooking the Christmas dinner is planned so I can enjoy it.  I have found that if I don’t plan things, I tend to try and achieve too much and then I end up feeling stressed and unhappy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Home made truffles

I also try very hard to remember that nothing is ever perfect and things do go wrong.   For example, I know it will be unrealistic for my teenage girls not to argue over the Christmas period so I won’t expect this. I’m also sure my Christmas dinner won’t all be ready at the same time, but it doesn’t matter.  If everything was perfect, life would be boring.

It’s how we deal with the not so perfect things that matter, if we laugh about things and keep them in proportion, they are easier to deal with.

Homemade Hampers

Homemade Hampers

.

So for anyone out there that is running around, trying desperately to achieve the unrealistic Christmas that we see in the adverts, please stop and remember that this is not reality and you certainly don’t need to try and achieve it.

Maybe then you will begin to enjoy it and look back for the first time in January and say

“it really was a perfect Christmas”.

Last years Christmas dinner table

Last years Christmas dinner table

.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back on Friday at my usual time.

15 thoughts on “A Perfect Christmas

  1. Well said. The media have a lot to answer for! We are led to expect far too much and how many people are feeling in adequate because they are not have a huge Victorian family Christmas. Mostly these days it is ones. twos and threes round the ‘festive board’. More often than not when you say to people after Christmas ‘how was your christmas’ the answer is ‘nice, quiet but nice. |Just me and the missis’. It is about time the media admitted that times have changed and started catering to the norm.

  2. The Christmas jumpers are fantastic such a lovely touch with the fairy lights.I hope you raise lots for the charity, Rainbows.I totally agree we have so many expectations of Christmas it gets stressful if you have a budget to keep to. I shall be going late night shopping in the nights leading up to Christmas to see what reduced goodies I can find.Last year I got loads of lovely Christmas flower/greenery at closing time on Christmas Eve.Here’s to a very Merry Christmas to you & your family from me & mine.

  3. It is very true people try to make the perfect christmas, i like to plan like you, i dont want to be rushing around and not enjoying it all. Love your christmas jumper i hope they raises lots of money.
    sue

  4. I’m reading your blog, oohing and aaahing over the jumper, and smiling at the Chistmas tree….then I get to the presents and all I can think of is, Oh my word! She has the same wrapping paper and bags that WE have!!

  5. You’re so right. You reminded me of a quote “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass it’s about learning to dance in the rain.” Sometimes I’m so busy trying to make things “perfect” that I forget to enjoy it! Great post 🙂

    • Sarah it’s funny that you should write that particular quote as I read it for the first time at the weekend. It’s a beautiful quote isn’t it and well worth remembering….and my goodness, there does seem to have been a lot of ‘storms’ for people this year

  6. We are very laid back at Christmas. It isn’t the same when most of your family are no longer around. I must admit to not being a fan as we tend to have bad things happen around Christmas time. At least three have been spent visiting hospitals.

  7. Such a well timed post Mrs Thrift. Rather than running myself ragged I’ve been thinking about what my family really wants this Christmas. My daughters want a chilled out mum who’s able to spend time with them on Christmas Day just doing things together and husband wants some peace and quiet eating nibbles and watching tv together with limited ‘ major dramas’ that three teenage girls bring! So this Christmas will be about not over reaching for the stars and giving those I love my time x x

Leave a Reply

