Fast Food At Home…A Microwaved Syrup Sponge Recipe

This week has been really busy.

I started by sorting my three freezers out.  When we were moving our freezers, I must admit I just rammed everything in anyhow, so they really did need sorting as I hadn’t a clue what we had in them…which is not good for meal planning.

SAM_7636

So I took everything out and put it all back in a reasonable order:

SAM_7638

I did this with all three freezers and wrote a list of what was in each freezer

SAM_7639

I need to start meal planning now at the weekend to make sure I don’t over spend on my food budget.

One thing I did find in my freezer contents was a bag of left over vegetables.  Everytime I have left over cooked vegetables after a meal, I freeze them.  When I have enough, I make a ‘use it up curry’.   So this is what we had for tea on Thursday:

SAM_7641

.

I’ve also been preparing for my youngest daughters birthday yesterday.  I can’t quite believe she is now fourteen…where did time go to?  It only seems like yesterday that I was holding her in my arms when she was just a few hours old…and now she is growing into a beautiful young lady before my eyes.

SAM_7679

So on Wednesday I made a dairyfree cake for her birthday (as she is dairy intolerant).  She asked for a chocolate cake with jam in the middle which is what she always asks for, but I wanted to make it extra special.  I decided to make it two tiers and cover it with dairyfree butter icing.  I used my faithful ‘throw it all in’ cake recipe, which you can find here.  She loved it, so I was really pleased:

SAM_7651

It didn’t look quite as good as I had hoped, but it looked great when it was sliced:

SAM_7694

My daughter invited a few of her close friends for tea yesterday.  When my girls were growing up I really hated ‘party bags’ with plastic rubbish in them, that got tossed away within a few minutes of opening the bags.  I felt it was such a waste of money.  So over the years I have made or bought things in the sales that I thought would actually get used, or I have sometimes made individual decorated cakes and bagged them up separately so they looked really special.

This year I thought my daughter would like something a little bit more grown up, so I bought little boxes of Cadburys Roses (they cost me £1 each in the sale) and I ‘poshed’ them up with cellophane and ribbon and a little note which ‘thanked’ her friends for celebrating her birthday with her:

SAM_7644

 My daughter had a lovely time with her friends.

.

Before I go, I thought I would share a recipe with you that I cooked on Wednesday night.  It was a cold night and it was one of those nights where I just fancied something hot, sweet and filling to eat.  So, I cooked a Microwave Syrup Sponge.  It is so quick and easy to make and far cheaper than nipping out to your local shop to buy something on the spur of the moment:

.

Microwaved Syrup Sponge Recipe:

100g margarine or butter, plus some for greasing the bowl

100g granulated sugar

2 eggs

100g self-raising flour

2-3 tablespoons of milk

2 tablespoons of golden syrup

.

Beat the margarine and sugar together.

SAM_7653

Add the eggs and beat together.

SAM_7654 SAM_7655

Fold in the flour and add enough milk to achieve dropping consistency

 (so it drops off the spoon easily).

SAM_7656SAM_7658 SAM_7660

Grease a microwave bowl with margarine.

SAM_7661

Drop the syrup in the bottom of the bowl and put the mixture on top.

SAM_7662 SAM_7663

Cover the bowl with a small plate or Microwave Clingfilm, leaving a small gap for the steam to escape.

Microwave on ‘high’ for 8 minutes (based on an 700W microwave).

SAM_7664

Leave to stand for a couple of minutes before turning it out.

SAM_7666

Serve with custard or ice-cream.

SAM_7668

Enjoy!

.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back on Monday at my usual time.

26 thoughts on “Fast Food At Home…A Microwaved Syrup Sponge Recipe

    • Lol, it was so easy honestly. I mixed the butter icing and spread it over the cake with a knife and stuck chocolate buttons on and a few chocolate sprinkles. The heart shape on the top was easy too….I just put a heart shaped cutter on top and shook the pink sprinkles into it. People want us to think it’s hard to decorate and it just isn’t (unless it’s an elaborate design). You should have a go.

  1. I agree with above comment, the cake looks really good.
    You’ve reminded me to look in my freezers. Wrong time of year, as they are both outside, still it’s my own fault for not being organised enough to check during the warmer weather.
    Best wishes,
    Angela (Devon)

    • Lol, it would be cold to check your freezers outside in winter…though there would be no chance of your produce defrosting while you do it.

      Like I said above, it really isn’t hard to decorate a cake…you should give it a go and just let your imagination run wild.

  2. The cake looks fab!
    I never would have thought of freezing left over veg! I will now though!
    And I totally agree about the party bags and love your idea. I feel the same about birthday presents so I am the boring parent who always gives clothes or a good book as a present!

  3. Left over curry is a Tuesday night favourite here as well! Can I be cheeky and ask how much you budget for food a week? We only have one more than you and I am trying to survive food wise on the £100 cash I put into my purse. DH allotment won’t start bearing produce till next summer so i’m going to a greengrocers in the meantime. Have a nasty feeling your budget will be lower given your resourcefulness x

    • Hi hormonal whirlwind (by the way, I love your name lol). It’s not cheeky to ask at all. I have a budget of £250 per month, but out of that I get all my toiletries for us all (which is more each month with two teenage girls), toilet rolls, cleaning things etc, birthday cards and bits and bobs. But it took a long time to get down to that amount. I do look for ‘whoopsied’ meat and stretch it out as much as possible i.e. a chicken will be spread over two or three meals padded out with veg. I tend to pad every meal out with veg to make it cheaper and even some of my cakes have veg in (pumpkin cake, beetroot cake, courgette scones etc.) and soup and homemade bread is a lovely Saturday lunchtime warming meal.

      I’ll look at writing a blog post about my budget after xmas, thank you for giving me the idea.

      • Oh please do that would be great! And thanks for the tips on bulking meals out. I’m having to drop a day at work due to the ms and really need to start financially buckling down. We have three girls 10,12 and 14 and want to cut our costs but in a way that doesn’t spoil their quality of life. Looking at your blog I can see what a tremendously good quality of life your girls have and that the time and effort you put into thing like their birthdays means far more than a trip out to Pizza Hut. I have a lot to learn! Yesterday I bought four cheese scones from an ‘artisan bakery’ for the girls after school snack. They cost £2.50 and I felt terrible thinking of how many I could have made for that! X

      • Oh Vickie, don’t feel terrible for buying your scones. Your MS makes it really hard for you. When you feel up to it, start by looking at what you buy regularly and if you can possibly make it cheaper i.e your scones. Things like scones can be frozen and you can make big batches of them in one go….put them on a tray and pop them in your freezer and when they are frozen put them in a freezer bag so they don’t stick together….pop one in your girls lunch box first thing in the morning and it will defrost by breaktime and it will have helped to keep the lunchbox cool too. You can do the same with brownies, cakes, muffins etc etc and even cooked pizza.

        It is hard when you start to save money as it doesn’t come as second nature and it feels like a hassel, but after a while you really don’t think about it. I do know how hard it is with girls (especially teenagers) as there is so much peer pressure to have ‘this’ and ‘that’ and you don’t want to let them down…and they really make you feel like you do sometimes lol, but I firmly believe that they appreciate things more when they have to wait for them. The ‘time’ you spend with your daughters will create memories that the ‘this’ and ‘that’ their friends have, just won’t.

  4. I have made a list of food in the freezer it is so useful, the microwave pudding is one i have tried before and its a great recipe i have made it with jam as well, is lovely.
    Sue

  5. Happy Birthday to your daughter! The cake looks scrummy!!
    Both the cakes look darned fine actually (whups, do I need to whipe my chin?)
    I have come to the conclusion that while my garden is garden is big enough for us to eat out of practically all year around, it isn’t big enough to give us enough overflow to freeze like you do. Never mind. I am happy with what I get, and I am more than happy to read about what you do!

  6. Mrs Thrift, you are a lifesaver! Just had this for pud after Easter dinner. Was a last minute decision and a big hit with everyone :-). A little taste of the old country.

Leave a Reply

