Identifying Tomato Blight And A New Fruit Area

On Monday I reported that my tomatoes had finally succumbed to the dreaded ‘blight’.  I thought it would be interesting to take photographs to show just how quickly ‘blight’ spreads over the plant.   So here are the pictures that I took:

Day 1

Day One

Day Two

Day Two

Day Three

Day Three

Day Four

Day Four

So by day two there was no mistaking that the plants had ‘blight’.  By day four the remaining tomatoes growing on the plants had begun to turn brown too:

SAM_7447

I hope these pictures will help to identify ‘ blight’ if anyone reading this blog is at all unsure what to look for.

.

This week at the allotment I have managed to get quite a lot done.  It has helped that I am staying there longer than usual each day so I don’t get in the way of the builders at home.

Below is a photo that shows the outside my polytunnel last year.  Since this photograph was taken,  this area has become a bit of a dumping ground and is now quite messy and so this week I decided it was time to make it a much more productive area.  I have decided to grow my fruit bushes here instead.

.SAM_2447

I started by lifting the slabs that were laid over half of the area:

SAM_7429

And then I re-laid the path at the side:

SAM_7430

I then dug up all the grass.  I actually just turned the grass over and leveled the ground.  I will be putting weed suppressant down at the weekend which will kill off any grass that remains.  In a few weeks time I will plant the bushes and then lay wood chip around them so it will be quite a low maintenance area.

SAM_7443

.

Another small thing I did this week was to finish off around my shed after moving it last week.  I sowed some grass seed in the space next to my shed that I had dug out by mistake:

SAM_7440

I also coved my two waterbutts to stop leaves etc from falling into them.  The last few years I have used the thin weed suppressant to cover the butts, but it always rips, so I decided to look for something different to use.  I found an old tent liner that the previous plot holder had left and I cut it up and used this by tying it to the down pipes.  I was really pleased with it, even though it doesn’t look particularly good, it serves a purpose.

SAM_7441 SAM_7442

.

The Michealmus Daisys are looking really beautiful on my plot now.  I love this time of year when they are in flower.  I grow them for a few reasons:

  1. They separate my rotational beds
  2. They attract lots of beneficial insects later in the season
  3. They look beautiful when they flower
  4. They remind me of my grandad (who died before I was born) as his birthday was on September 29th which is Michealmus Daisy day.

SAM_7450

I think the Michealmus Daisys compliment the orange Calendula that are still flowering beautifully along my paths….what do you think?

SAM_7451

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I will be back on Monday with an update on our building work.

I hope you have a good weekend.

4 thoughts on “Identifying Tomato Blight And A New Fruit Area

  1. I love Michaelmas daisies. They remind me of my childhood. One of ours Monch is a really early bloomer. It starts flowering in July or August and just goes on. Our other one Purple Dome never flowered at all last year and is just coming into bud now so fingers crossed.

    Look forward to seeing what you plant in the fruit bed.

    • I’m not sure yet what to plant in the fruit area yet, I really should be thinking about it lol. I do know I want to transplant my red, white and blackcurrants in the autumn though.
      You have probably guessed I also love Michaelmas Daisys too. I also have some giant ones at the back of my plot and they are looking beautiful at the moment now too. It’s a shame about your Purple Dome Sue, I’m keeping fingers crossed for you…I bet it will be worth the wait when it does finally flower.

  2. The fruit area will be so useful, i wish id put weed suppressent down before i planted my fruit bushes, the weather has been kind and have been catching up with jobs in the garden, getting things ready for the winter.
    sue

Leave a Reply

