Holidays And A Good Harvest

It’s lovely to be back blogging again and I have so much to tell you, but equally I have had a lovely break.

At the beginning of the school holidays we went to Scarborough and had a wonderful time.  We stopped in a Travelodge again for six nights and it cost us just £230 for two adults and two children with breakfast included…..what a bargain!

We were so lucky with the weather, as it was really hot the week we were there and we spent every day on the beach.  The sea was so calm and clear, we could even see little fishes swimming around in it.  With the heat, it felt like we were abroad.

SAM_7007 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA SAM_7024

.

My friend at my allotment watered my polytunnel for me while I was away and he did a grand job, but I must say I was worried about my other crops as it was so hot and I had told him not to bother watering them, but they all seemed to be ok.  I was very pleased that I had planted my runner beans on top of a runner bean trench, that I had filled with old peelings, etc. during the winter, as this would certainly have helped to retain the moisture.

My Runnerbean Trench

My Runnerbean Trench

You can read how I made my runner bean trenches here.

.

Since we came back from our holiday I have been frantically harvesting all my crops at the allotment.  What a difference a year makes!  This time last year it was really wet and crops were struggling to grow, but this year is a bumper year for most things, though I have found that some things are still behind due to the cold spring we had e.g. pumpkins, butternut squashes and my early apples.

.

I’ve tried to remember to take photos of the things I harvested over the last couple of weeks, but I did keep forgetting.  So here are the few pictures that I did take:

SAM_7097 SAM_7099 SAM_7095 SAM_7096 SAM_7088 SAM_7089 SAM_7091 SAM_7076 SAM_7074 SAM_7069 SAM_7050 SAM_7049 SAM_7047 SAM_6906 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

.

Remember the ‘cauliflower stomp’ I do before I plant my cauliflowers, to tread the ground down so it is firm (as this helps to stop cauliflowers from ‘blowing’)…. I thought I would show you proof that it works:

I'm very proud of my cauliflowers

I’m very proud of my cauliflowers

.

My runner beans have been doing well too.  I thought I would show you a picture of some of the beans the plants have produced as I think they are amazing.  One of them measured nearly 15 inches, which I know isn’t a prize winner, but I think it’s great for every day runner beans.  This variety is called ‘Enorma’, which is supposed to be one of the most successful exhibition runner beans, which has been given the R.H.S. Award of Merit.  I can see why, as they not only grow to a good length but they also taste delicious :

SAM_7156 SAM_7170

I don’t know if you remember, I planted Nasturtiums next to my runner bean plants, as blackflies prefer Nasturtiums to the beans.  My runner beans are showing no sign what so ever of blackflies, but the nasturtiums are covered.  This shows that companion planting really does work, as I really don’t need to spray my runner beans with any pesticides:

SAM_7155

.

My second early potatoes were ready when I got back from holiday, so I dug them up and brought them home.  Early potatoes won’t store as long as late varieties, so I make sure we eat them first.  As I couldn’t stay too long at my allotment, I brought them home and laid them on my table to dry out and then I put them in sacks ready to store until we use them:

SAM_7159

I noticed my early potatoes did have a lot of slug holes again, though they can still be used.  I wonder if there were so many slugs around in the soil after last year, that we are bound to see lots of holes?  I would love to hear how your potatoes are and if your earlies have also suffered from slug holes?

.

My flowers have been beautiful this year too and have the added bonus of attracting beneficial insects onto my plot:

SAM_7148 SAM_7140 SAM_7150 SAM_7151 SAM_7152 SAM_7149 SAM_7122 SAM_7123 SAM_7048 SAM_6907

It’s been a pleasure taking some cut flowers home too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

.

The only job I have really done at the allotment over the last few weeks other than watering and picking, is to plant a few more lettuces in my polytunnel, to keep us from running out:

SAM_7137

I’m really amazed I managed to get them to fit in my polytunnel as it’s full to bursting point inside of it:

SAM_7138

.

I still have so much to share with you, but I think I better finish for today.

I really hope you have enjoyed reading my blog.  I will be back on Monday as usual.

19 thoughts on “Holidays And A Good Harvest

  1. Lovely to have you back. You really inspire me. I am going to make your washing gloop at the weekend, just got around to getting all the bits and pieces. Will let you know how it goes.

    • Hi Christine and thanks, it’s lovely to be back. I need to make another batch myself soon. I was asked at the weekend if it manages to get stains out of clothes, but unfortunately I don’t really know… I usually work stains out first with cold water and a little bit of washing up liquid before I wash it.

      Let me know how you get on when you use it.

  2. I’ve just started reading your blog and I love reading about your gardening and allotment. Sadly I gave up my allotment last year and really miss being there and, of course, the produce. My own vegetable plot here is small, but I pack in as much as I can.

    • Hi Gwen, thanks for reading my blog and commenting on it (I love hearing from everyone, it’s the best part about blogging). You don’t need an allotment to grow tasty veg and you don’t need a big garden either. You are doing exactly the right thing by packing all your veg together in a small space. I think it is amazing how much you can grow in a small space when you plan it well. What are veg are you growing?

  3. So glad you had a memorable holiday with your family,you deserve it ! Who needs to go abroad indeed when we have all this on our doorstep, we haven’t even got passports since ours ran out .The pictures of Scarborough are lovely. Hope the weather lasts for us in Cornwall .I need my ‘spiritual’ batteries recharged! Sadly every one of my runner beans have been eaten by slugs ,the second & third lots I put out as well ! I give up ! Shame really I love runner beans (they were white flowered ones Moonlight )perhaps they are particularly irresistible to slugs!
    Yes those cauliflowers are absolutely amazing ,every right to be proud ! Im just about to pick my first tomatoes (Alicante) and the Roma ones are showing signs of starting to develop fruit. My beetroot are getting bigger I pulled one to taste it! I’m so inpatient . You have given me inspiration to grow a lot more than just herbs now.

    • I’m really glad my blog has inspired you, it’s lovely to hear about all the things you are growing. We haven’t got passports here either…we have such a lot here in England to discover yet and we did do lots of traveling abroad before my daughters came along. Where abouts in Cornwall are you going?

  4. You have done really well with your crops, a few things here are behind, i have ended up planting extra things in the greenhouse to get a crop, and hopefully elongate the season a bit.
    Sue

  5. I love reading about your holidays, and you always take such nice photo’s, I can imagine I am there with you! You sound refreshed, or at least, refuled enough to run around madly and fix your gardens, lol!
    All your food looks scrumptious! I can’t wait for my garden to pick up again. Everything has slowed right down because of the cold wetness.
    Speaking of wetness, I wish I could send you some of our rain, we have too much!

  6. Wow what a brilliant crop you’ve had since coming home from the holiday,we go to Scarborough quite often and pay that amout just for the weekend. The B&B is opposite the grand hotel it is a nice B&B,can’t believe you got a good bargain at Scarborough.

    • Hi Steve. The Travelodge we stay in is also opposite the Grand Hotel, so you must stay very close to it. The Travelodge is very basic but is fine for a holiday, provided you don’t like too much luxury. The family rooms have ensuite and are very clean and the breakfast is buffet style and it’s really nice (though it is the same everyday, but there is lots of choice).
      If you book ahead, you get some real bargains with Travelodge.

Leave a Reply

