Happy Birthday ‘Not Just Green Fingers’ Blog

At the beginning of July 2012, I wrote and published my first ‘welcome’ post on my blog, advertising what I would be writing about in a couple of weeks time.

I had been considering writing a blog for a while, but it was Tony Wadsworth, from Radio Leicester, that gave me the ‘push’ I needed to actually start writing and he has supported me ever since.  So thank you Tony for your continued support.

I always loved reading blogs but I just couldn’t find a ‘simple living’ blog in the UK that included the things I was interested in.  I decided I would write about how we live in an ordinary street, in a 1930’s semi-detached house in Leicester, UK and how I grow organic fruit and vegetables on my four allotment plots.

Over the last year I have also written how I cook from scratch, make bread, jams, pickles, chutneys and apple juice, etc. and also how I clean the old fashioned way using vinegar, lemon juice and bi-carb.

I learnt my frugal, thrifty ways through necessity and the desire to make sure my family did not feel deprived in anyway and I really wanted to share this information with others, in the hope that in a small way it would help people in a similar situation.

My very first post was published on the 23rd July 2012 and was titled ‘Organic Tomatoes and Comfrey Tea’.  Since then I have written nearly two hundred posts and amazingly I have had over 69,000 ‘hits’ from all over the world.  I really never thought that people would be interested in what I write, so I am really pleased and humbled by this.

Slowly over the year, people have also begun to leave comments on my blog and I love this part of blogging the most.  I have noticed that some of my readers have even started to reply to each other via their own comments, which is absolutely wonderful.  I now regularly have new people reading and commenting on my blog for the first time and I am always so pleased to hear from them.  I also have my loyal supporters that have been commenting for a long time and I am so very grateful to you, for your continued support.

As it’s the start of my daughters school summer holidays, I have decided to take a couple of weeks off from blogging, so I can spend some quality time with my family, though I will be still be around to read and reply to your comments.

In the mean time I would like to say a big ‘thank you’ for reading my blog and your continued support and I am leaving you with a slideshow of my allotment at the moment. I hope you enjoy it.

I will be back in two weeks’ time, on Monday 5th August.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

22 thoughts on “Happy Birthday ‘Not Just Green Fingers’ Blog

  1. E njoy the break, but looking forward to your next posts here. This is old-fashioned twenty-first century allotmenteering
    at its very best. Hello to your family.

  2. Happy blogiversary., Lisa,

    I know just what you mean about blogging and feel just the same – it’s great to have online dialogue with like minded people some of whom end up becoming real life friends.

  3. Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your blog. I always look forward to reading it and enjoy hearing about your allotments and all the recipes, hints, tips and good old fashioned common sense.
    Hope you have a lovely two ‘weeks off’ and enjoy your quality time with your family.
    Many thanks once again.
    Cheers

    • Thank you so much Celia for your kind words and it’s so lovely to hear from you. Do you grow any vegetables/flowers? I love how you said ‘good old common sense’…as that is just what it is lol

    • Oh yes, I’ll be taking photo’s of every thing we do over the next two weeks. It will also give me time to catch up on your blog Mrs Yub as I have been so busy lately I haven’t been reading any other blogs

      • Heheh, you’ll need the time then. My latest blog has no photo’s as I forgot my camera for my holiday, so there are a lot of words o_O

  4. Happy Blogiversary! I’m at the beginning of my Blog Journey (started in May) and it’s so lovely to hear your story. I’m a huge fan of old fashioned common sense and it’s lovely to see that there are others out there just like me! I look forward to reading more posts after your break 🙂

Leave a Reply

