A Lavender Lemonade And A Lavender Fairy Cake Recipe

My lavender hedges that line my two paths either side of my plot, are flowering beautifully at the moment.  The variety is ‘Munstead’, which is an old english variety.

SAM_6844 SAM_6849

The bees and butterflies are loving the flowers and I didn’t have to wait for long to take a photograph of the butterfly below:

SAM_6880

Lavender is a herb which has been documented for use for over 2500 years.  It was used by ancient Egyptians for mummification and perfume.

Lavender has a calming effect and can aid sleep.

.

Using Lavender:

I think it is really important to make use of everything that our garden gives to us.

This week I picked some bunches of lavender and hung them in my kitchen to dry out. It’s best to pick lavender in the late morning after all the morning dew has evaporated.

I am hoping to use the dried flowers for my christmas hampers, but I’m not sure yet what exactly I will do with them.

SAM_6861

.

Lavender flowers are perfectly edible provided that you are 100% sure they haven’t been sprayed with harmful chemicals.   I always give them a quick wash under a cold tap before I use them.

 As my lavender is flowering so beautifully at my allotment, I decided to make some Lavender Cakes and Lavender Lemonade.

SAM_6845

.

Lavender Cakes

.

2 tablespoons of lavender flowers

125g Self raising flour

125g Caster sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

125g margarine or softened butter

2 eggs

A drop of milk

Icing sugar and more lavender flowers to decorate.

.

Put the lavender flowers, flour and sugar in a blender and grind the flowers for a little bit.  Sieve it all into another bowl discarding the left over bits of lavender.

Add baking powder, eggs and margarine and beat until combined.

Add a drop of milk until the right consistancy is reached (i.e. drops off the spoon easily).

Half fill cake cases with the mixture and then bake for approximately 15 minutes at gas mark 5 / 375F / 190C

SAM_6851

When the cakes have cooled, decorate with white icing and a bit of lavender.

SAM_6857

The cakes taste really nice as they don’t have an overpowering lavender taste, just a ‘hint’ of it and they are a bit of a novelty if you have friends round for ‘afternoon tea’.

I do choose to take the lavender off the top of the cakes before I eat them, as I find this tastes too strong for me.  You may think differently, please let me know if you do.

.

SAM_6921

My next recipe is for a thirst quenching Lavender Lemonade, which is my eldest daughters favourite drink.

.

Lavender Lemonade

.

870ml water

2 tablespoons of lavender flowers

100g granulated sugar

120ml lemon juice

.

Put approximately a third of the water into a pan and bring it to the boil

Pour the boiling water over the lavender flowers and leave to ‘steep’ for ten minutes.

SAM_6914

Strain the water and add it to the pan again.

SAM_6916

Add the rest of the water, sugar and lemon juice and bring back to the boil, stirring continuously.

SAM_6919

When it has boiled, take off the heat and chill.

SAM_6920

Dilute the lavender lemonade with water to your taste.

I added ice cubes with borage frozen inside them for an extra pretty twist.

SAM_6926

.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my post today.

I will be back on Friday at 4pm.  I hope you will join me then.

SAM_6847

9 thoughts on “A Lavender Lemonade And A Lavender Fairy Cake Recipe

  1. I’ve been meaning to make Lavender cup cakes for years….I have no excuse now! I’ve never heard of Lavender Lemonade….how delicious and so pretty with the borage ice cubes!

    • The borage do make it look pretty and you can eat the borage as well….it tastes of cucumber. I really like levender lemonade, it’s a really old fashioned drink that is so refreshing to drink, especially in the heat we are having at the moment.

  2. Thankyou for the lavender recipes! I have been shifting my poor lavender around these past couple of years becaue the back yard has been changing, and so the poor beggars haven’t flowered, BUT! Now I can go bother other people for THEIR lavender and do this 😀 😀

  3. LOVE this!!!! Your lavender row is amazing!!! I’m in provence at the minute and lavender is my new obsession! I have some in my allotment too but just love your row! I’ll be making your cakes when I get home 🙂

    • Thanks Anna, the lavender is ‘Munstead’ an old english variety which is supposed to be good for low hedges. I have two rows each edging a path each side of my allotment plots. The 2nd row was all from cuttings I took as they seem to root really easily.

  4. This is the first time I’m visiting your blog – won’t be the last though! You’re allotments are so beautiful, especially the lavender. It’s late winter here in New Zealand and I can’t wait to get back out into my garden. I grow a lot of food on a very small plot. The total garden is about 200 sq meters but has espaliered fruit trees, herb borders and vege beds. It’s my joy.

    • Welcome to my blog Maureen, it’s lovely to hear from you and thankyou for your comment about my blog. Gardens are our pride and joy aren’t they, I don’t know what I would do without it. What are you planning on growing?

Leave a Reply

