How To Grow Watercress And A Watercress, Leek & Potato Soup

I hope you all had a lovely weekend.

Before I start today, I thought I would show you the hidden treasure I dug up yesterday:

SAM_6698

These potatoes are a second early variety that I grow every year called ‘Marfona’.  As the potato plants were flowering I thought I would have a root around and see what I could find.

They tasted absolutely wonderful.  I made a homemade lasagne to go with the potatoes and served it with a homegrown salad (except for the cucmber as mine aren’t ready yet).

SAM_6701

Afterwards we had freshly picked home grown strawberries served with natural yoghurt…what bliss!

SAM_6704 SAM_6705

.

Today I thought I would talk about Watercress.

I always thought that you needed running water to grow watercress, until my old allotment neighbour showed me how he always grew it in a great big black pot that he had on his plot.

Sadly, my neighbour gave up his plot up in December 2011 and so I decided to take the plot on myself.   I inherited the old black pot and I also tried to grow watercress in it and it worked really well.   All I did was to replace the top inch of compost with new compost, sprinkle the seeds over it and cover them with a small amount of compost.  I just made sure the compost didn’t dry out and this was the result:

My Watercress 2012

My Watercress 2012

.

When my watercress began to flower, I left it to set seed and I was surprised to get a second growth of useable watercress a few weeks later.

This year I sowed the seeds in the same way, but as our Spring was cold, I placed a pane of glass over it to help with the seed germination and it has grown well again.  I actually only sowed half the big barrel as this really is enough for us.

SAM_6677

.

Watercress is fabulous as it has more than fifteen essential vitamins and minerals.  Apparently, it contains more vitamin C (gram for gram) than oranges, more calcium than milk and more iron than spinach.

Another wonderful thing is that it only contains 11 calories per 100g of raw watercress.

.

I noticed on Friday that my Watercress is starting to go to seed (even though I have been adding loads of it to our salads), so I needed to use it up fairly soon.  Last year I made a Watercress and Potato soup, but one of my daughters didn’t like it as she said it was too ‘silky’ (whatever that means).  So over the weekend, I made a different soup with less watercress and this time I used leeks from my freezer….I’m pleased to say, she loved it:

.

Watercress, Leek and Potato Soup Recipe:

.

100g Watercress

450g Leeks

425g Potatoes (weight after peeling)

1 pint of vegetable stock

½ pint of milk

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and pepper to season

 .

Slice the leeks and chop the potatoes into small pieces.

Heat the olive oil in a large pan and then fry the leeks over a low heat until they are soft.

SAM_6681

Add the potato and watercress and ‘sweat’ for approximately five minutes, stirring occasionally to make sure it doesn’t burn at the bottom of the pan.

SAM_6682

Add the vegetable stock and season with salt and pepper to your taste.

SAM_6683

Simmer for approximately 20-25 minutes, until the potato is soft.

Heat the milk until it is starting to boil.

SAM_6686

While the milk is boiling, puree the soup with a hand blender or a liquidiser.

SAM_6684

Add the milk to the pan of soup and bring the soup back to the boil, stirring continuously.

SAM_6688

Serve the soup with a swirl of natural yoghurt.

SAM_6691

Enjoy!

.

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog today.

I will be back on Friday at approximately 4pm.

15 thoughts on “How To Grow Watercress And A Watercress, Leek & Potato Soup

  1. It’s great to hear how you grow water-cress. I eat loads of the stuff. Like you I thought it had to grow in running water. I wonder why it grows so well in a big pot?

  2. What a lovely barrel of watercress! I’ve just had some for my tea – sadly from a packet. Fresh lettuce from my garden to accompany it though. I don’t know why I’ve never thought to grow my own?! Thanks for the tips!

  3. Our strawberries are still green, netted them at the weekend, the gooseberries and raspberries need another year before we get a good crop off them, but the blackcurrents look good, just need the sun!
    Sue

  4. What a co-incidence as I have just rooted some shop bought watercress and intend to plant it in a pot today and today this is the second post I have read that mentions growing watercress so it confirms for me that growing in compost should work.

Leave a Reply

