Stop And Appreciate What You Have

I realised this week that I have been rushing around so much lately, that I have become very tired and I needed to re-charge my batteries.   With this in mind I decided to take a day off from the allotment.

My sping cabbages.

My sping cabbages.

As you have probably guessed by now, I’m not very good at sitting still and resting.  In fact I only managed to sit down for about five minutes, before I stood up to do something.

I sorted my three freezers out and made a list of what was in them.  I then made nine pots of jam with strawberries that I had grown last year and froze.  I changed the beds and afterwards I made some dairyfree ice cream for my youngest daughter (you can find the recipe here).

I did these things slowly as I didn’t need to rush, after all I hadn’t planned to do them today.  Strangely, this made me feel better, as none of the things felt like a chore, though recently they had.

It made me realise that I have somehow got into this routine of rushing everything, without stopping to take stock of what I need to do, or why I even do it.  I wondered why this had happened.

My homemade strawberry jam

My homemade strawberry jam

If you have been reading my blog for a while, you will remember that one of my oldest friends passed away in February.  I wrote a tribute to her here.  Since then, I have been trying to get on with things as the British do, ‘with a stiff upper lip’.  What I realised today, is what I have actually been doing, is to do as many things as possible so I don’t have time to think about what has happened.

While I was slowly doing my jobs today my friend kept popping into my mind, probably because I finally let myself think of her and how much it hurts that I can’t see her again.

I have lovely happy memories of our times together, so why on earth would I want to lock these memories away so I can’t remember them?…I’ll make sure I don’t again.  I suppose this is part of the grieving process.

A robin that visits me daily at my allotment.

A robin that visits me daily at my allotment.

So today I have learnt that sometimes you need to stop and become aware of what is happening in your life and within you.  I concentrated on ‘just today’ and how I was feeling and now I feel better for it.

It has reminded me that I love the way we live and I feel so blessed to spend my days growing salads, fruit and vegetables and looking after my family.

Over the years money has been tight, as we chose for me to give up work, when our first daughter was born.  Looking back, I am very proud of how we managed. We have two beautiful daughters and a nice home. It doesn’t have posh furniture or the latest gadgets, but it is a ‘home’, where we have shared so many happy memories together.

SAM_6350

I wonder how many of you reading this blog today, have found yourself rushing around so much that you can’t see the wood for the trees?  Life is so short and it’s important that we stop and appreciate what we have.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I’ll be back on Monday.

23 thoughts on “Stop And Appreciate What You Have

  1. Mrs Thrift
    What a lovely post. You are right sometimes we all need to stop and take time to enjoy life.
    Have a restful weekend.
    Kind regards
    Ruth

  2. I am the sort who can’t sit still either. It was a bereavement that set me off on this track too only it was when my mum died. Twenty five years ago this year and I don’t seem to be able to slow down at all!

    • It’s so sad when you lose someone so close to you, thank goodness for the memories. I can tell you find it hard to sit still too, by all the the things that I read about on your blog lol

      • There are stages that you have to go through which lead to an acceptance and a way of dealing with it and it is different for different people. That is why we shouldn’t criticise how people get through things if they don’t behave how we expect them to. I need to be busy NOW but my first reaction to grief is to shut down and not want to do anything other than just sit and give in to lethargy.

  3. A lovely post; I have tended to be more on the lazy side, but do understand what you are saying. You have to cut yourself some slack sometimes and allow yourself time – for whatever – to relax, do something out of the normal routine, to reflect and especially to grieve. I hope you start to feel better soon.

  4. what a very timely post i know just what you are saying, infact i was so exhausted today i laid on the bed and slept for 2 hours this afternoon, just so not like me at all, i thought the same i have been rushing around and not had any time to think, and in fact i think i am just fliting from job to job and actually not getting anywhere.
    It is good that you realise that you are still in the process of grieving and you do need to give yourself time to grieve and think, i know this week i was clearing out a room to be decorated in it were all the things we had emptied from my in-laws house, and i found myself crying anew 5 years on, we havent delt with anything.
    sue

    • Oh bless you Sue, you must miss them so much still. I don’t know much about the grieving process, but what I do know is you will do it when you are ready. It’s good to cry and not bottle it all up.

  5. Your doing good, Mrs Thrift. The healing process is in its second stage, and you have a healthy mind, so you can get through this. I delight in this blog. Thankyou for writing down what is in your heart. It helps others as well as yourself.

  6. Lovely post – and you are quite right – sometimes it does you good just to slow down a bit. I try to structure my days and allow a little time for myself.

  7. I always think of WH Davies – ‘Leisure’
    What is this life if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.
    No time to stand beneath the boughs
    And stare as long as sheep or cows.
    No time to see, when woods we pass,
    Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.
    No time to see, in broad daylight,
    Streams full of stars, like skies at night.
    No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
    And watch her feet, how they can dance.
    No time to wait till her mouth can
    Enrich that smile her eyes began.
    A poor life this if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.

    Sometimes we just need to stop and be in the moment. I’m recovering from post viral fatigue and have had to learn to pace myself, which has been a hard lesson but, it can be very healing and memories can just pop into your head and laugh and cry as the moment takes you. You never get over the loss of a loved one, but you learn to accommodate it in your life – I still ‘talk’ to a friend who died 13 years ago. Take it easy and heal yourself.

      • Your post hit a nerve with me as I lost my day 3 years ago but it has taken me this long to start to come to terms with it. In fact you wrote this post on his birthday and I took some time out to tend his grave. You are so right that when you stop for a moment the thoughts come in, some good memories. You reminded me to be more mindful, especially with the people we love as we don’t know how long we have each other. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

