The Edible Garden Show, Bob Flowerdew And A New Sausage Maker

On Saturday I went to the Edible Garden Show with my two sisters.  My eldest sister paid for our tickets as a christmas present and I loved it.

  You can read the ‘Edible Garden Show’ Website here.

There were plenty of interesting stalls, selling products and giving advice.  It was great to wander around.

SAM_5945

There were also lots of interesting talks which I enjoyed.  Alys Fowler talked about growing about fruit in small places, showing photos of her own garden.  She also included some photos of fruits that she foraged from car parks local to her, which was great.

SAM_5948

Another really good talk, was given by Bob Flowerdew, a wonderful organic gardener.  He talked about ‘No Work Growing’, which was basically ways to reduce or eliminate unnecessary chores.  He was very funny at times.

Earlier in the day I was really very lucky.  I noticed Bob Flowerdew in a quiet part of the hall and I asked him if I could have a photograph with him.  He was lovely and put his arm round me while the lady with him took a photo for me.  It made my day.

SAM_5949

My one and only purchase of the day was…….. drumroll please……

SAM_5962

A ‘Meat Mincer ‘ with a sausage making attachment.  A cumberland sausage mix and some sausage skins also came with it.  It cost me £20, but I was assured it works perfectly.

I have noticed since, that it can also be used to make pasta too.
I am really looking forward to using it and I have told him I will rewiew it on my blog, so he can see how I get on.

I hope it works well.

.

As it’s been such a wet weekend, I haven’t been able to get to my allotment.  So today I thought I would show you a couple of photographs that I took on Thursday morning, when the weather was nice for a change:

SAM_5857

This is the robin that always comes over to me when I’m digging or moving compost at my allotment.  I always reward him with some tasty mealworms on my bird feeder.

SAM_5863

This is ‘Scraggy Fox’ that is always hanging around my plot.  He had just been drinking out of one of my ponds, he must have been thirsty.

Poor ‘Scraggy Fox’ has a skin condition which has caused some of his fur to fall out and I feel very sorry for him.  I don’t feed him as I don’t like to encourage town foxes, but he has been visiting now for two years and has become a familiar sight to me.

.

SAM_5935

The photo above is something that has surprised me… My cauliflowers were grown to be harvested last August, but because the weather was so dreadful last year, they are only just ready now.  Luckily they were an ‘all year round’ cauliflower.

This cauliflower fed us all for two meals and I have another five cauliflowers still to pick, which is marvelous.

.

SAM_5937

Finally, sadly we had our last homegrown butternut squash this week.  It was lovely roasted and was enough for a couple of meals.

This demonstrates how long they will store if they have the right conditions.  I store them in our bedroom, as it’s the coldest room of the house …so very romantic lol.

SAM_5852 - Copy

Thank you for reading my blog today.

I’ll be back on Friday.

20 thoughts on “The Edible Garden Show, Bob Flowerdew And A New Sausage Maker

  1. What a great show, i used to watch Bob Flowerdew on Gardeners World i wish we could see more of him on the tv, saw Alys Fowlers programme we enjoyed that too. Too wet here to get on our allotment, so getting jobs done at home. Am starting to get behind but a few dry days we can catch up again.
    Sue

  2. I have Bob’s book ‘The No Work Garden’ and have learned a lot from it – they show sounds really good, wish I could have made it. Good luck with your sausages I expect it’s harder to do than it looks. Like Sue above not really done anything on the plot yet – waiting, waiting – I suppose everything will get done eventually.

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed the show, I’ve been reading snippets about it from England and mourning the fact that I couldn’t go. Your mincer looks great, I’m sure you’ll put it through its paces! I was very interested to see that you had ‘all year round’s’, I’m trying them out this year so you’ve given me great hope for them.

  4. The show sounds ace, there’s been a few blog posts about it. Your cauli looks really good, it’s over wintered perfectly! I laughed at the squash being stored in your bedroom!! : )

  5. How great to listen and be able to talk with those two excellent gardeners.
    Your Cauliflower looks amazing! Straight off the front of a seed packet, well grown! It is so encouraging when we get it right and plants grow properly. Please would you let us know the variety?
    Good luck with the sausage making.. my mother used to add a little dried Apricot into hers with either Lamb or Pork, it was delicious and a tiny amount of Horse Radish root with Beef ones. Delicious.
    The good thing about having a ‘resident’ Fox is you should not be bothered by rabbits, these pesky animals who will eat anything & everything!
    But the bad thing is that it sounds as if he has MANGE, which is NOT good. One of the curious effects of this is that Foxes appear to lose their fear of humans.
    Enjoy your Blog, thank you.

    • Hi geegeeparrot, thanks for reading my blog. That is interesting about the fox, though we are lucky to not suffer from rabbits (thank goodness as they do a lot of damage don’t they). My cauli is a variety called ‘All year round’and I am very pleased with them.

  6. So you should be.. thank you for giving us the name.
    And now, if only it would stop pouring with very cold rain and let us Happy Plotters do more than just plot what we would like to do.. life would be perfect.
    I am like you and have 4 plots, we found an almost abandoned site in January 2001. Out of 170 plots, only 20 were being worked and when we asked the Council how many we could have, the answer was “how many can you work?”. My four were mostly covered by very vicious Bramble bushes, 10 foot high by 20 foot long, there was a lot of slashing and burning the first year, this was in those heady days when bonfires were still allowed. We spread the word and now have a full site.
    I have promised myself a Solar Greenhouse as I want to grow Blenheim Apricots. I will re-work one plot, lots to do.
    As gardening is very good for the figure but not so good for the back and hands, here is a great tip for you and your other followers. Get hold of BLACK SEED OIL. Marvellous for counteracting Arthritis in joints. Rub it in night and morning.
    The only good Bunny was Peter Rabbit and even he gave poor old Mr.MacGregor a hard time! Apologies to those who keep rabbits.
    NOW.. where’s that sunshine?

    • It’s really lovely to hear from another ‘four plot’ holder. I really hope you keep reading and commenting as it’s lovely to hear what you are doing too. I love the sound of a solar greenhouse, I would so love to grow fruit like the victorian kitchen gardeners did.

      • “Good morning, good morning, it’s great to stay out late, good morning, good morning to you!”. Sincere apologies to you (and the folm ‘Singing in the Rain’) but hey, I woke up to sunshine!

        EUREKA! What a difference it makes to see sunlight!

        A Solar Greenhouse is a different shape to the traditional GH which, actually, are pretty hopeless in our climate. My guardian grew tomatoes commercially in Kent in the 50’s & 60’s and her GH’s were of the Solar variety. She had spent time in Norway, which is where, I believe, she first saw a Solar Greenhouse.

        Facing South, the front wall of glass came almost down to the ground. The double brick base wall was 18″ high. Both side walls were glass down to a height of 3 feet. Back and side walls were also double brick thick, back wall was 4 foot high with a shelf running along it. Sliding doors at both ends. They were snug, even in winter.

        I can’t remember the height of them but the plants were enormous!
        And her tomatoes went straight into some very fancy local and London hotels and restaurants as chefs loved them!

        With our sun being so low, it meant she got maximum light to her babies and this is what I am going to copy minus the bricks.. I would love to do that but expense and I am not sure brick structures allowed on allotment plots!

        I don’t think I am going to plant my bare rooted Currant bushes this weekend, we have a frost warning and, bless their hearts, they have lots of strong new growth which old Jack Frost would love to nip!

        But a walk amongst the fruit trees would be very good for my Soul!

      • I certainly know what you mean about the weather. It was still so cold at my allotment today, but lovely to be working down there. Thanks for the explanation of the solar greenhouse…what a great idea!

  7. What a lovely photo of you! I have never heard of us having an edible garden show around here, but I would SO be there if I heard about it!!
    How exciting to have a mincer! We have an old iron one (if the picture works, its similar to this one: http://api.ning.com/files/lUY*nVlNV5ze35aX*97nVlOwKzdxxm1U25rk6LatuxRG7HsIqBZ6eI2MSgGU9PtANnBfGfu3UwbU8vDz*1T7jo9EvKbSgMpR/meat20mincer208.jpg)(no, no viruses attatched ;)) I don’t use it much, as its cheaper to buy allready minced meat, but I like having it none the less. Have you used yours yet?
    Wow! Great pic of thr fox, too! Foxes are not welcome around here, but I like pictures of them 😀
    It looks like your caullie is bigger than anything I have managed so far! Looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

