Preparing Onion Beds, Brussels And A Creamy Coleslaw Recipe

The weather has been strange this week.  We woke up to a layer of snow on Monday morning and have had snow showers on and off all week.  It has been so cold.

On Tuesday it was -2C outside, which is way below average temperatures for March and the weatherman reported that this time last year, the temperature recorded was 18C!

Never the less, I have managed to get a few jobs done at the allotment.

SAM_5926

 .

This week, I managed to pick the last of my Brussels.  I cleared the bed and forked it over.

SAM_5930

I was very pleased with my Brussels this year, as I only had one plant out of ten, that had ‘blown’ sprouts on.

 ‘Blown’ sprouts are just sprouts that have opened, they don’t look as nice, but they can still be eaten.  I was always led to believe that this happens if your soil isn’t firm enough.  However, for the last couple of years I have dug the soil in autumn, danced and jumped on the soil around my plants and still they have ‘blown’.

Last year I decided to buy an F1 variety that apparently were less prone to ‘blowing’ and I’m very pleased to say, it worked.

SAM_5928

 .

This week, I also managed to edge the other side of my summer raspberries with ‘lawn edging’ from Wilkinson’s.  It looks neater now and I’m hoping it will stop the fox from pushing the soil onto the path next to it.

SAM_5929

 .

Another job I managed to do, was rake some blood, fish and bone into the soil, ready to plant my shallots and onions sets, in a couple of weeks.

SAM_5921

 Afterwards I re-covered the soil with plastic to keep the soil warm.

SAM_5924

My shallots are still sitting in pots in my cold greenhouse at the moment.

SAM_5904

.

Finally, this week I noticed my spring broccoli is beginning to sprout.  My youngest daughter will be pleased as she loves it.

SAM_5923

 .

Mother’s Day

On Mother’s day last Sunday, I decided to have my favourite meal, instead of our usual ‘Sunday roast’.  I chose to have a homemade pizza, jacket potatoes, salad and homemade coleslaw.  You can see how I make homemade pizza here.

My Olympic Pizza

My Olympic Pizza

.

I thought I’d share with you, how I make the coleslaw, as it’s very easy to make and tastes lovely and creamy:

.

Homemade Coleslaw

½ white cabbage shredded finely

2 carrots grated

1 onion grated

150ml mayonnaise

2 tablespoons of natural yoghurt

Juice of ¼ of a lemon

1 teaspoon caster sugar

Black pepper to taste.

.

Mix the cabbage, carrots and onions together in a bowl.

SAM_5917

Add the rest of the ingredients and mix thoroughly.

SAM_5918

Enjoy your lovely homemade coleslaw!

SAM_5919

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog today.

I’ll be back again on Monday.

 

14 thoughts on “Preparing Onion Beds, Brussels And A Creamy Coleslaw Recipe

  1. I love home made coleslaw and your favourite meal is one of mine too. Sounds like you have been busy – it is too wet and cold here at the moment to do anything much yet – hopefully proper spring is just around the corner.

  2. We have had snow, frost then rain here so havent been able to do any digging for a week, still i can get on with things in the greenhouse. Hubby has been busy putting more posts round the allotment site, soon the chicken wire can go in and we will be ready.
    Sue

  3. Well, woman, you’ve done it again! Successfully made me hungry, but the ironic this is I’ve JUST had dinner! No fair! You have a nack for pushing my buttons, lol!!

  4. I never knew why sprouts opened up like that, how very intriguing. Sounds like the better variety is the way forward though. I felt the same with my broccoli when i kept growing huge plants with tiny heads, as soon as a found a better variety I was happy. Everyone seems to be doing that with their shallots this year! I always thought they could go out early no matter what the weather. I’ve not grown them for a few years now though and it’s been a lot milder in March in previous years from what I can remember. I can’t keep up with all this snow?! More set for next week too??!! Some folk up at my allotments have their shallots and onions in already, they’ve been in for the past few weeks and covered with net. I guess you just get to know what works best in your soil and in your area. I usually sow mine later than anyone else up there and have no problems but they don’t grow as big, which is totally fine by me because I like the smaller ones. I’ll stop wittering on now and say that your olympic pizza is ace!! 🙂

  5. The pizza looked absolutely delicious, I’ll have to try it! I may try out covering the soil like you do for your onions. This inclement weather has given all of my seedlings a terrible battering.

Leave a Reply

