Homemade ‘Wraps’, Laundry Liquid, The Allium Leaf Miner And Seed Sowing Continued.

The Allium Leaf Miner

If you read my blog on Friday, you will know that last week, I dug up my remaining leeks and froze then.

SAM_5895 - Copy

While I was preparing them, I found something interesting that I thought I would share with you.

I found an Allium Leaf Miner, so I took a photograph to show you.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plants affected by the allium leaf miner tend to rot, from the damage it has caused on the plant. If you look closely on the picture above, you can see the small brown pupae, 3-4 mm long, embedded in the stem.

This is a pest that was only detected in Britain in 2002. It has been spreading rapidly since and spread to many places in the Midlands for the first time two years ago.

The allium leaf miner isn’t choosy which allium it attacks. Alliums include onions, leeks, garlic and shallots.

Last year I lost quite a few of my overwintering onions to the Allium Leaf Miner, so this year I covered them in environmesh, though it would cost too much to cover all the alliums I grow at my allotment, so I’ll have to hope for the best.

You can read all about the Allium Leaf Miner here.

.

SAM_5834 - Copy

Seed Sowing:

The seeds I sowed on the 25th February have now all germinated and are growing well:

SAM_5900 SAM_5898 SAM_5899 SAM_5906SAM_5905

From left to right, I have Celeriac, greenhouse tomatoes, lobelia, lettuce, cabbage and cauliflowers.

The celeriac, tomatoes and lobelia are sitting on my windowsill inside my house and the cabbages, cauliflowers and lettuce are sitting on a heated mat in my cold greenhouse.

.

The seeds I grew on the 9th January are also doing well now too:

SAM_5897 SAM_5912 SAM_5901

From left to right I have peppers, basil, broadbeans and onions.

The broadbeans are in my cold greenhouse (as they are an overwintering variety), and the rest are sitting on my windowsill inside.

Finally, the shallots I planted in paper pots on the 6th February, have all rooted and some are beginning to sprout:

SAM_5904

So far, my seed sowing is going well.

SAM_5852 - Copy

.

Laundry liquid:

I was running short of my homemade laundry liquid this week, so I made some more.

SAM_5833

I love this liquid as it saves us so much money and it is really easy to make.

You can read how to make it here.

SAM_5913

.

Homemade Wraps:

Today I thought I’d show you how I make homemade ‘Wraps’.

Homemade wraps are brilliant as they are so so easy to make and I have worked out that they cost just 15 pence to make…this is just under an incredible 2 pence per wrap!

The cheapest wraps I have managed to find are currently 12.6 pence per wrap, so it’s definitely cheaper to make them.

SAM_5872

.

 Homemade Wraps:

250g plain flour

1 tablespoon of olive oil

150ml warm water

.

Sift the flour into a bowl.

In a separate jug, add the olive oil to the warm water, then add this mix to the sieved flour and stir well until it all comes together into a ball.

SAM_5866

Knead the ball for approximately 5 minutes.  Add a little bit extra flour if the ball is too sticky.

Divide your dough ball into 8 pieces.

SAM_5867

Heat a frying pan until it is very hot and then turn down to a medium heat.

While the pan is heating, sprinkle some flour onto your work surface and roll out a dough ball into a rough circle shape.

SAM_5871

Put into the frying pan (with no oil) and cook for approximately 1 minute, then turn and cook for a further minute on the other side.

(Be careful not to overcook or the wraps will break when you fold them).

SAM_5873

Leave to cool on a cooling tray.

SAM_5874

.

How to fold a wrap:

.

Half fill the wrap with your desired filling

SAM_5876

(in the picture I used mayonnaise, cheese and salad, but you can put whatever you normally put in your sandwiches).

Fold the top, three quarters of the way over the bottom

SAM_5878

Fold the left side over the right side and turn the wrap over.

Then you have a perfect, homemade wrap…..Enjoy!

SAM_5879

I’ll be back on Friday.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

15 thoughts on “Homemade ‘Wraps’, Laundry Liquid, The Allium Leaf Miner And Seed Sowing Continued.

  1. You’ve been ever so busy! Home made Laundry liquid, I like the sound of that! Your seed sowing is putting me to shame, I need to catch up quickly. It’s getting enough compost to use. I seem to no sooner buy it than I need more!

  2. Not had any trouble with leaf miners – touch wood – I have enough pest problems without them as well. I haven’t sown any more seed yet I am waiting for it to warm up a bit – looks like I’ll be waiting for quite some time the way the weather is at the moment.

    • The weather is terrible isn’t it at the moment. I do start my seeds early as I have four allotments to fill lol. I’m glad you haven’t seen the allium leaf miner, let’s keep fingers crossed you don’t see them at all.

  3. Have just copied the laundry liquid and homemade wrap recipe down, thank you so much, had wraps tonight they were 12p a wrap, so expensive, have you ever made them and froze them for use another day? Your seeds are coming along really well, was hoping to do some digging today but just too cold.
    Sue

    • They get eaten too quickly in my house to freeze them. I have read homemade wraps freeze well with greaseproof paper inbetween each one…if you try it, let me know as it would be great to make double batches to freeze for the whole week ahead.

  4. Your wraps are almost made like my short crust pastry, only I use butter instead of oil 🙂 Looks Yummy!
    Your plants look really good! All sprouting and ‘spring-y’! Lovely 😀
    I had never heard of the Allium Leaf Miner before, or if I had I’d forgotten about it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. What a great idea to make your own wraps! I love a nice wrap so might give that a go. I really want to make the laundry liquid too, it’s on my to do list! Great seeing all your seedlings and finding out what you’re up to 🙂

Leave a Reply

