A Busy Weekend And A Luxury Dairy Free Chocolate Ice Cream

This is the post I had written for Monday, before I had the bad news about my friend, but I thought you would still like to read it.  I must admit I’m not up to writing a new post at the moment:

My weekend has been pretty hectic as usual.

I started the weekend by batch baking for the week ahead.  I made bread rolls. scones, chocolate brownies and some more breakfast muffins, all ready to freeze for packed lunches over the next week.

SAM_5740

I also laid some self-adesive tiles in our cupboard under our stairs.  After finishing my painting last week, this was the last job to do, as the floor was bare wooden floorboards.  It was the first time I had laid tiles and I am really pleased with the result, though I found cutting them around the pipes difficult.

SAM_5723

.

This weekend I also used my ice cream maker for the first time.

I have been paying over £6 for a small tub of dairy free choclate ice cream, as it’s such a treat for my daughter.

This weekend I found this recipe and altered it slightly to make the most delious, tastiest luxury chocolate ice cream I have ever tasted and the best bit is, it cost me just £3.92 to make.

  This is how I made it:

SAM_5734

.

Luxury Dairy Free Chocolate Ice Cream:

.

250ml Alpro original Soya milk

170g dairy free chocolate

5 tablespoons sunflower oil

251g carton of Alpro single cream

1 teaspoon vanilla essence 

SAM_5730

Break the chocolate into a bowl and add the soya milk.  Microwave until the choclate has just melted

SAM_5725

Add the oil, soya cream and vanilla essence

SAM_5727

Blend until smooth

SAM_5728

Allow to cool and then pour into an ice cream maker (after the bowl has been frozen over night)

SAM_5731

Refer to your ice cream maker for timings and how much to fill the bowl.  I let mine beat the mixture for 30 minutes.

Transfer the ice cream to a suitable container and freeze for a few hours until completely solid and then enjoy.

(If you haven’t got an ice cream maker, just put the blended ingrediants into a container and freeze.  Remove from the freezer every 1-2 hours and mash vigourously with a fork to break up the ice crystals).

SAM_5735

I made ice cream sundaes with the ice cream.  I broke some of the homemade chocolate brownies into the bottom of a large glass and added some defrosted homegrown strawberries from my freezer and then the ice cream.  I topped it with gratings of dairy free chocolate and my homemade crab apple ice cream syrup….sheer bliss and my daughters loved it.

SAM_5737

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog today.

It is half term for all the children in Leicester next week, so I have decided to take the week off.

I will be back on Monday 18th February.

7 thoughts on “A Busy Weekend And A Luxury Dairy Free Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. I love Alpro soya products and the ice cream you made looks gorgeous! Really chocolatey. You do so much stuff I think you deserve a little time out given what you’re going through at the minute. I do hope things are starting to feel a little easier. I know you will never forget your friend. Big hugs to you xx

    • Thanks Sula, that is so kind of you to let us know. ‘Lactofree’ do a small range of products that are brilliant. We use the cheese and milk regularly. We do have a problem though, as Jane can only stomach a very small amount of lactose free products as they still have the same amount of dairy in them, so we usually just stick to a small amount of the milk and cheese so she feels she has a normal diet. It’s nice to know that there is an alternative if she fancys a small amount though, so thank you for letting us know.

      I made the chocolate icecream as Jane really loves chocolate icecream.

  2. Ooooh! The icecream looks NUMMY!! We learnt the hard way we have to have the icecream maker ALL READY MIXING when you poor the icecream mixture in, lol! I gather you had no such issues! :Z

Leave a Reply

