Batch Baking and Breakfast Muffins

Thank you for all your comments over the last week, it is so lovely to hear from you.  I’m sure we can all help each other with useful tips and advice, especially in the current climate, so please keep commenting if you have five minutes to spare.

SAM_5591

.

When I woke up this morning I was greeted with snow.  It was such a lovely site.  It snowed for another few hours during the day, but the roads were pretty clear and my daughters came home safe from school.

The view from our upstair bedroom.

The view from our upstair bedroom.

Yesterday, before the snow, I looked out of my back room window at the table wreath, that I made a few days before Christmas.  I put it outside on our garden table, a couple of days after Christmas day.  I thought I’d show it to you, as I’m amazed as it still looks good.  I thought it would only last a few days.  I think it’s something nice to look at when I stare out the window.

You can see how I made the Table Wreath here.

SAM_5642

.

Yesterday we had a lovely cheap Sunday lunch.  I managed to get a pork belly joint, reduced to £3.75 from £5.71.  It did taste nice though there wasn’t much on it, so we didn’t have any left for pies or curries, but it did make a change.  As it was Sunday, I served it with yorkshire puddings and a selection of allotment vegetables: Roasted potatoes, parsnips, butternut squash and shallots and boiled brussels, peas, swede and carrots.  It was a cheap, but very tasty Sunday lunch.

 SAM_5644

.

At the weekend I did my usual round of ‘Batch baking’.

I started by making bread rolls ready for the week ahead, which I cut in half and froze.  I made 20 rolls in total.  I love homemade bread as it tastes so good and it’s free of e-numbers, chemicals and preservatives.

I then made fruit scones for my youngest daughter to have as a snack at school, each day at break time.  I also cut these in half, but this time I buttered them before freezing them.  It’s so easy to pop a frozen scone into my daughter’s lunchbox in the morning and it’s defrosted by break time.  You can find my recipe here.

My youngest daughter loves chocolate cake with a filling of jam, so I thought I’d make one as a treat.  It’s not perfect, but that’s the beauty of homemade cakes, they are always different each time you make them.

SAM_5640

I also made some naan bread to freeze, ready  to reheat when we have our next curry.  I find it’s cheaper to make naan bread, rather than buy it and it tastes just as good.  You can find the recipe for my naan bread here.

Finally, I made some ‘Breakfast muffins’.  My eldest daughter is not good at traveling and if she eats breakfast before she goes on the school bus, it makes her feel travel sick.  Therefore I like her to have something to take to school and have when she arrives.  She is quite fussy about what she takes, so I came up with a ‘Breakfast Muffin’ which she seems to enjoy and it’s a lot cheaper than the cereal bars you can buy.

Here’s how I made them:

.

My Recipe For Breakfast Muffins:

4 Weetabix’s crushed

100 grams margarine or butter

100 grams soft brown sugar

3 ripe bananas mashed

60 ml milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs beaten

300 grams self-raising flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

200 grams mixed fruit               

 .

Preheat your oven Gas 5 / 375F / 190C.

Cream the margarine and sugar.

SAM_5621

Stir in bananas, milk, vanilla extract, and eggs and combine them well.

SAM_5625

Sieve the flour and baking powder into the mixture and mix gently.

Finally add the mixed fruit and Weetabix and fold in gently.

SAM_5630

Half fill muffin cases with the mixture.

SAM_5633

Bake for approximately 25 minutes.

SAM_5634 

These can be eaten on their own or served with a spoonful of natural yoghurt.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

18 thoughts on “Batch Baking and Breakfast Muffins

  1. Your Sunday lunch looks delicious! I love roasted vegetables and could eat them every day.

    Thanks for the breakfast muffins recipe. They sound delicious and I like the idea of eating them with yogurt. I don’t have self-raising flour, do you know if I can add something to regular flour to make it self-raising?

    Thanks,
    Sandra
    tea and simplicity

    • It doe look beautiful outside with the snow doesn’t it. I bet it’s hard to imagine where you are, as it’s so hot there. How are the bush fires in Australia now? It hasn’t been on the BBC news this week…does this mean things are calming down for you?…I hope so.

  2. Great ideas for batch baking and freezing, had never thought of freezing scones ready buttered, we have the snow here and very cold, warm by the fire tonight.
    Sue

  3. Ohhh I like your breakfast muffins and will be trying them tonight. Middle daughter is always ‘starving’ by break and rather than use up her emergency bus money on canteen pizza slices I will give these a go x

  4. That roast pork looks delicious. Its making me hungry and it’s only 09:30am. I can’t believe the price of pork at the moment. Even pork mince has doubled in price. Makes it hard to even batch cook.

    • Hi Sophie, I somehow missed your comment, I’m so sorry. Yes you are right, pork is expensive at the moment, but I think all meat is expensive. We tend to eat chicken on a Sunday as it’s the cheapest. It’s great though when I get a reduced joint…it just doesn’t happen very often!

  5. Made them last night and they were a great hit! Wish I could post you a photo of three girls all freezing off the bus from school now eating them with hot chocolate! Plus your recipe makes loads so there is a batch in the freezer x

  6. What a lovely, lovely photo from your window!! It makes me imagine all sorts of English fairy tails in my head!
    Mmmm! Breakfast muffins! To go with the snow! Delightful!!

  7. I have to say, its disconserting what you get used too! Right now 30 degrees is bearable, though when your fresh out of winter it feels hot!
    We are keeping the house cool by having the heavy curtains drawn between 9am and 7pm, and keeping electricity down by only having the fans on in the rooms that are currently occupied (turn ’em off as you leave) and we’ve only used the aircon once, praise the Lord.
    Water usage hasn’t gone up much, either, as we are now keeping a bucket in the kitchen sink and saving all that water for the veggies, herbs, fruit and pots. Coupled with shower/bath water and washing machine water we have plenty.
    All the same, I am happy school goes back soon. I only fill our clam shell wading pool every other day, and then I only let them out in it later afternoon, therest of the time the children either have to fend for themselves or I give them jobs. When they open their PACE’s again there will at least be structure again.
    Oh! And swim lessons, Sunday School and TaeKwondo will all resume soon, too 😀

Leave a Reply

