Looking Back At My 2012

Happy New Year!

I hope you had a lovely Christmas and an enjoyable rest, I certainly did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our Christmas day was great and everyone said they enjoyed the Christmas dinner I cooked. The £9 Aldi turkey crown fed us all well, with enough for sandwiches the next day and I also managed to freeze two portions for another day.

My favourite presents were a hand blender (as mine had broken), two cake tins, two more cooling trays, a cake slice and a note pad for my kitchen. I so LOVE useful presents.

SAM_5441

.
Now the Christmas decorations are back in the attic, I decided it would be a good to time to reflect on the previous year:

2012-20111230[1]

2012 has been one of the hardest years we have had to deal with as a family, but it has had some wonderful moments too.

SAM_4135.
January started badly when I fell down the stairs at home, resulting in the biggest, blackest bruise I have ever seen and I struggled to walk for the next week!

.
In the middle of January, my eldest daughter’s asthma flared up badly and she had to take three months off school and was referred to hospital. It took until July for her to be completely back to normal with new inhalers and tablets.

SAM_4142
April saw my father in law taken to hospital with meningitis and he stayed there for weeks. He has recovered remarkably, considering he is 85 years old. It was a very scary time.

Image024
Things began to settle down at the end of June, which is when I made the decision to start my blog, thanks to Tony Wadsworth at Radio Leicester, who gave me a ‘push’ in the right direction. So if you are reading this Tony, “Thank you”.
My wonderful husband set up the blog for me and taught me how to post and here I am, six months later, with just over 37,000 views…and I thought no one would want to read it!

.

SAM_2874

 In July we went on holiday to Scarborough and then in October we went to Eastbourne. These were two lovely cheap family holidays, which we all really enjoyed. (We also had a holiday booked in February too, but sadly we had to cancel it as my daughter was too poorly to go).

SAM_4011
In October my dad collapsed and was rushed into hospital. He had cellulitis on his leg. I was very worried about him, but thankfully he only stayed for two nights, but he is still having problems with his legs now.

Image029
Just before Christmas, my step father also became ill with vertigo and after various trips to the doctor, he has finally been given some tablets that seem to be working.

SAM_3590

One of my oldest friends has been fighting a brain tumour for the last three years and in January I really thought she had won the battle, but 2012 hasn’t been kind to her and now she is really poorly. I so hate to see her suffering.

SAM_2732

.

I have had some ‘highs’ this year though:
The highs for this year have got to be the times I have been on the radio, my blog, writing an article for my local gazette and finally having my ‘Mini Christmas Cake’ recipe appear on the ‘Love Food Hate Waste’ website. You can see the recipe here.

student_hat_2[2]
What have I learned from 2012?

Now I have written it all down, I wonder how I managed to get through this year.  It is incredible that I managed to keep my four allotments going, on top of it all, but I did.

.

During 2012 I have connected with lovely people from all around the world, due to my blog. I have learnt so much from all the comments written here and by reading other blogs.
However, I have learnt that posting six days a week is far too much for me. I will not post quite so often during the week, but I will still always post at least once a week, but sometimes I will post more.

SAM_2392
I am happy that I have a lot of recipes and information on my blog at the moment and I will keep adding to it. I want to continue to write and improve my blog, in the hope it will help someone out there to ‘live better for less’. If I can help just one person in 2013, then I will achieve my aim.

SAM_2418
.

Last year has taught me an awful lot, though it has had some very painful moments. I have learnt that life can be so fragile at times and how I certainly shouldn’t take anything for granted. I have also learnt who my real friends are and who I can rely on in my lowest moments too.
.

1355975896[1]
.

New Year’s Resolutions?…

I don’t have any as I never manage to keep them, but there is one thing I need your help with:

.
I would love to improve the amount of ‘comments’ I get on my blog. I only get a few comments each time I post and I so love to hear from people who read my blog. So if you read my blog and a have a minute to spare, please stop and say ‘hello’.

.
I would love to hear of how you do things and if you agree or don’t agree with what I write in my posts. If you have tried a recipe and it’s worked or you want to share a recipe that you regularly use. Also, if you have any questions about vegetable growing or even gardening in general, I would be glad to help.
If you are unsure of how to leave a comment, please see the beginning of this post.

SAM_2441
I am hoping 2013 it will be a little bit calmer for me and my family.  I hope you all also have a happy and healthy year too.
Thank you for reading my blog today.

22 thoughts on “Looking Back At My 2012

  1. Hi Happy New Year to you, I am sorry to read that you wont be blogging every day, as I do look forward to reading it every evening, but that does not mean that I do not understand how time consuming it must be! Anyway, keep up the good work. By the way, thanks for the washing liquid recipe,been using it for ages now,excellent and saving me a fortune and as a pensioner it all helps, thank again Margaret of Wigston.

    Date: Tue, 8 Jan 2013 18:30:49 +0000 To: magsrog@hotmail.co.uk

  2. A lovely reflection Lisa… brought a tear to my eye… Thank you for your blog, you are a true inspiration to many and certainly myself. I have used a lot of your ideas and I am sure I will continue to do so with many things left to try… I will comment more often, you might regret that ;)… as I always think of you first when I have some questions, just usually I do not want to bother you… Well done for 2012 and good luck in 2013…

  3. You’ve had a real year of ups and downs – but I’m so glad you decided to start this blog – it’s a wonderful read and has some brilliant tips 🙂 B x

  4. Just wanted to say I love your blog – I didn’t realise that you had only been blogging since June – your blog is a pleasure to read.

  5. I came to your wonderful blog over christmas whilst you were taking some time off with your daughters. I find your words inspirational and so supportive – like having a great source of knowledge in the corner. Thank you for selflessly sharing your amazing talent with others x

  6. Dear Mrs Thrift. I too am amazed that you only started blogging at the end of June. You have done so well in that time to reach nearly 38,000 hits. Congratulations.
    I am sorry to read that you have had so many health scares in your family. Those times are very worrying, and draining. The fact that you have still managed to keep FOUR allotments going is a credit to you. May I wish you health and happiness in 2013. Thank you for your comments on my blog.

    • Thanks Jean. I’m hoping for a calmer year this year. I love reading your blog as I find it so interesting that you used to live here and now you live down under and still keep an allotment. I was very envious of you, until I read about the snake lol. Anyway, Happy New Year to you too.

  7. You mustn’t let your blog become a chore – just post when you have something you want to share,

    I do empathise with you about 2012 – mine hasn’t been a bundle of fun either and 2013 hasn’t really improved things.

    • Thanks Sue, it was never a chore, I love writing it, but other things have been falling behind so I thought I would need to rebalance things. I’m sorry to hear that 2012 wasn’t too good for you either and 2013 has started the same way, lets hope it gets better from now on.

  8. Hi there. I also love reading your blog….I would love to have the space to grow my own veg and I would love to know what to plant in my garden even though it’s been there for 10 years! One day I’ll understand what needs to go where…I also made Spicy Parsnip soup on Christmas Eve (it was Jamie Oliver’s recipe) and it was beautiful and so simple. I’ll definitely be making it again. Keep going with your writing…I’ve only been ‘blogging’ since October so I know what its like feeling uncertain about what is deemed ‘interesting’ to others! Claire x

    • Hi Claire, thanks for reading my blog. If you haven’t got space in your garden, could you squeeze in a few pots? You can grow most vegetables in pots. Gardening can sound really complicated but it isn’t really…it’s just a case of having a go and learning from what works and what doesn’t. Is there anything that you particularly want to grow in your garden?

  9. Happy New Year Mrs Thrift!
    I have really enjoyed reading your blog over the past 6 months and am glad I came across it.
    I must admit over the past few months I haven’t been commenting much on anyone’s blogs. I have quite a few I read now and should be taking the time to communicate my thoughts. Often I’m nodding my head in agreeance with what you say and find your thrifty tips and recipes very handy.
    I have two daughters also ( bit younger than yours at age 5 and 9) but I love reading about things you do with your family & it gives me ideas for when my girls get a little older.
    I’m sorry to hear about all the health issues your family has had, and hope that 2013 is much more positive on the health front.
    Your faithful readers will still keep coming back no matter how frequently you blog, and if I know you are definetely going to write at least once a week, I’ll make it a weekly ritual to check your blog and hopefully comment.
    Keep up the great work!
    Best wishes
    Sarah from Jimboomba in Queensland Australia

    • Thanks Sarah, it’s lovely to hear from you and thank you for reading my blog. I will definately blog once a week and I will try and do more if I can. Comments like yours make it all worth while, thank you.

  10. A Happy New Year to you and your family, love to read your blog, your 2012 was very difficult in places and was sad to hear that ,i will keep your friend in my prayers. I am going to sit down and do the cropping plan for this year and organise rabbit proof fencing too, i look forward to reading your blog and understand how busy you must be. I am really going to try and cut our expenses on food this year and hope to attempt making laundry liquid.
    Sue

    • Hi Sue, let me know how you get on with the laundry liquid. I am lucky as we don’t have a problem with rabbits at our allotment site, pigeons are our big problem as they eat everything that isn’t covered.

Leave a Reply

