A Winter Warming Spicy Parsnip Soup Recipe & The Love Food Hate Waste Website

I’m really really pleased today as a picture of my Mini Christmas Cake is on the home page of the ‘Love Food Hate Waste’ website and it links to a page with my recipe on it.  I am so proud and happy to have my recipe on their website, I could burst.

You can find their website here.

If you are visiting my blog for the first time via the above website, welcome.  I hope you enjoy reading my blog.

SAM_4774

.

Parsnips

Parsnips are said to be sweeter after there has been a few good frosts.   So now we have had a few frosts at the allotment, I consider my parsnips ready to be dug up and eaten.

Image005

For quite a few years I had a problem growing straight parsnips, as they would always ‘fork’, which means they develop more than one root and they twist and turn as they grow downwards.  They say not to grow carrots and parsnips where you have recently manured, which I did and still they forked.

The way I grow my parsnips now is by sowing the seeds in kitchen rolls, in my greenhouse, until they germinate.  Once they germinate, I plant the kitchen roll into my allotment soil with the germinated seed still inside.  This way my parsnips are nearly all large and straight, without forking.

Below is a photograph of the parsnips that I dug up to use in the following Spicy Parsnip soup recipe.

I put a ruler next to one of the parsnips to prove to you that it was an incredible 44cm long.  I was very proud of this parsnip:

SAM_5099

.

The recipe I have written today is Spicy Parsnip Soup.  I love this soup as it is really thick and warming and great on a cold winters day.

I think this soup is so special,  I served it as a starter on Christmas day last year.  I made it on Christmas Eve and just reheated it on Christmas day.  I served it with a swirl of double cream on the top and it looked fabulous.

Everyone really enjoyed the soup.

mrs-claus[1]

.

Spicy Parsnip Soup

.

1.1 Kg Parsnips peeled and chopped

2 Medium onions chopped

2 tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon garam masala

1 teaspoon ground ginger

3 pints of boiling water

1 vegetable stock cube

2 tablespoons lemon juice

.

Heat the olive oil and fry the onions until they are starting to soften.

SAM_5104

Put the parsnips, cumin, garam masala and ground ginger into the pan and fry for a few minutes, stirring occasionally.

SAM_5107

Add the boiling water  and crumble the vegetable stock cube into the pan and stir.

SAM_5110

Cover the pan and simmer for approximately 25 minutes, until the parsnips are soft.

SAM_5114

Blitz the soup with a hand blender or in a liquidizer.  Add more water if the soup is too thick for you.

SAM_5125

Reheat the soup and then add the lemon juice.

SAM_5127

Serve with some nice homemade bread.

SAM_5102

Thank you for reading my blog today.

4 thoughts on “A Winter Warming Spicy Parsnip Soup Recipe & The Love Food Hate Waste Website

  1. I was here, and I didn’t post. How did this happen???
    I am very appreciative of this post because I have a whole heap of parsnips almost ready to pull, and am all set to try something new with them!

Leave a Reply

