Laundry Liquid And The Water Has Gone

Yesterday I mentioned that the dike that had once flowed through my four allotments had flooded again.  You can see this in the picture below.

Today I’m very pleased to say it had dried up completely, so my panic is over…for now.

 I really feel for all those people that have had their properties flooded in the UK, due to the constant rain we have been having.  It’s hard to believe now, that there were hose pipe bans around the country in the spring time.

.

This morning I made some more laundry liquid as I had used the last drop that I had left.

I love the laundry liquid I make, as it is so cheap.  I use soap flakes, borax substitute (as you can no longer buy borax) and Soda Crystals.

You can find the recipe I use here.

As I said previously, I can’t take the credit for this recipe as I found it on the internet a long time ago and I haven’t got a clue where I found it.

The last time I made my laundry liquid was the 21st September.  I kept a careful note of how many washes this batch of laundry liquid actually did, so I could report this back to you.   I have worked out that I managed to get 71 washes out of my laundry liquid.

I have looked hard to find the cheapest laundry liquid that I could find in Tesco and it appears to be ‘Daisy’ which is £2.39 for twenty eight washes.  This works out at 8.5p per wash.

My laundry liquid cost me approximately £1.75 to make and that is a staggering 2.5p per wash.  I challenge the supermarkets to beat that.

It took me about fifteen minutes to make, but I think it was time well spent.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

10 thoughts on “Laundry Liquid And The Water Has Gone

  1. Why can you not buy borax? We can here, though it is not cheap.
    I tend to use woolwash to do my loads in. Due to not rincing the washing. Due to not wating to spare the water.
    Our water rates are phenominal. Its something like $200 a term for the rates alone (possibly $10 or $290 less, but not more than that) and then the water cost of water is more ontop of that! So we go to enourmous lengths to save water. And no, we do not have a big water tank,starting at $4500, them things cost way more than our budget can stretch.
    But there are other ways we save. Like we have a couple of little water tanks that save some water every time it ranes, and that goes into the washing machine mostly.
    And we have a large 1,000 lte ex-chemical tank that we have plans of cleaning and hooking up to the roof gutter and the toilet.
    And we also have plans of channeling all the kitchen sink water waste into the strawberry garden when the deck is done.
    Bu our main water saver at the moment goes as follows(please note this depends on how dirty we are!But usually we are not that dirty): I will save my shower water, and warm it up, and the children will wash in it, them that will go to the washing machine, (which is a twin tub) and that will do all our clothes for the day on one load of water, in two small washes, no rince, and then the washing machine water, plus the extra water from my husbands showeer, will all go one the veggie and herb gardens. With all this water, I can get around my pots and gardens in two days.
    Now, I know it probably sounds euww, yes? But we are clean and smell good after our baths (with almost no soap. I do not like soap much, makes my skin feel like sand paper so I do without, lol) we scrub up good 😉
    And the clothes always smell nice, and look and feel clean (believe me, after stretching the water too far you learn to tell the difference, lol), and my garden flourishes!
    All this effort, mind you, and we briing our water bill to around $280, maybe less if we’re lucky? Can you imagine how much it’d be if, instead of my washing going through at a water saving 40 litres for the lot, it went through at 51 litres a load?? Brrr!!

    • Wow Mrs Yub, you do work hard to save water….well done! Perhaps here in the UK we should take note of the things you do and copy them.
      Someone, somewhere decided that real borax is too toxic for normal people to use here in the uk (even though it has been used for centuries and they let us all eat loads of chemicals and preservatives in our food). So we have to just use a borax substitute, which does actually work just as well.

      • I read on Rhonda’s blog that borax is not terribly good for the veggie patch (can’t find the post, it was in the comments) but its new to me that its toxic. Hmmm, maybe its refering to the consentration? I am glad that the substitute works just as well, though.

      • Yes, you are right, you have to be careful with borax in the garden. When applied to garden soil in small doses, borax enriches soil and prevents pests. However, too much borax leads to toxicity in vegetables. Soil tests are recommended before adding borax. Treat garden soil with borax only once every 3 years if there is a boron deficiency. Boron builds up in soils and remains up to 3 years. So you are wise to be careful with it.

  2. Sorry to hear your allotments flooded. Glad it’s dried out now. Amazing that you make your own washing up liquid! It’s one thing we always run out of at the most inconvenient of times! I tend to go for the green options though – ecover or a supermarket cheapo equivalent. Do you know if your method is green? I suspect just in the way to use recycled containers and make so much from a few flakes is green in itself! Great post 🙂

  3. Amazing! Amazing! This is the best thing ever. We always run out then either have piles of washing up for a couple of days or resort to buying overpriced non-environmentally friendly stuff from the corner shop. I’ve looked at the link and they sound really environmentally sound! Thank you so much Mrs Thrift! Another amazing idea 🙂 X p.s. Wilko’s is ace!

Leave a Reply

