My Allotment Today and A Diwali Meal

Today at the allotment I weeded around my spring cabbages.

Unfortunately the slugs have been eating the cabbages, so I had to put some more organic slug pellets around them.

I also cleared away all the dead rhubarb leaves and weeded around the plants.

I walked around my plot and noticed my poach egg plants are flowering again.  They look beautiful.

My chrysanthemums are flowering well too, considering it is their first year.  They were given to me last year, by my good allotment friend, Tina.

.

.

Diwali – A Hindu Festival of Light and a Diwali Meal

.

In Leicester, where I live, there is one of the biggest Diwali Celebrations outside of India.  Just over a week ago, on the 4th November, approximately 35,000 people attended the ‘switching on’ of the lights that decorate the road along the ‘Golden Mile’ in Leicester.  The Golden Mile is so called because it is lined with the largest selection of Indian jewellery shops outside of India.

For one night a year, the road is closed and they have a firework display and live cultural entertainment on a stage, as the ‘festival of light’ marks the start of the Hindu New Year.

Diwali is actually a five day festival.  It honors the victory of good over evil, and brightness over darkness.  It also marks the start of winter.

Diwali means “festival of lights,” and people light rows of lights.  The exchange of gifts is also traditional during this holiday, and many people host dinners and parties.

.

We are not of ‘Hindu’ religion in our house, but we do enjoy Indian food.  So to join in the celebrations, we had a ‘Diwali’ meal on Sunday.  We lit lots of candles and enjoyed some lovely Indian food:

We had poppadum’s with mango chutney and a yoghurt and mint dip and onion bhaji’s and vegetable samosas.  The yoghurt and mint dip is so easy to make, as you just mix in a couple of teaspoons of dried mint into your natural yoghurt and leave it in your fridge for a few hours before you need it.

I cooked two different curries.  You can find one recipe here and the other recipe is a ‘Chicken and Vegetable korma’ which you can find lower down today’s blog.

I served the curries with rice and homemade naans.  You can find the recipe for naan bread here.

All in all it was a lovely meal, which we all enjoyed.

.

Chicken and Vegetable Korma Recipe:

 

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 medium onions, chopped

200 grams natural yoghurt

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

4 teaspoons turmeric

2 heaped teaspoons of garam masala

1 teaspoon chilli powder

Leftover cooked chicken

Leftover cooked vegetables

 

Preheat the oven Gas 6 / 400F / 200C

Fry the onions in the olive oil until they are soft.

Put the onion, garlic, yoghurt and spices into a bowl and blend with a stick blender until smooth, (or use a liquidiser).  It should be a creamy consistency, add a little water to thin if necessary.

Put the cooked chicken and leftover cooked vegetables into the sauce mix and completely coat them with the sauce.

Transfer the mixture to an ovenproof dish and cook for approximately 45 minutes, until it is piping hot.

Serve with rice, yoghurt and naan bread.

 .

Thank you for reading my blog today.

10 thoughts on “My Allotment Today and A Diwali Meal

  1. Now, I haven’t made a curry in ages! Will have to do something about that!
    Your flowers are lovely. I had a whole heap of mystery flowers growing from a packet of seeds my friend had collected and given to me, and you’ll never guess! Its not the snails had have disturbed them!

    Its the cats!!

  2. It’s so nice seeing what you’ve been upto in your allotment! I’ve been stuck in an office and dying to get outside so it’s nice I can see what you’re upto and feel a little more connected to the outside world that way! I’m going to get up extra early tomorrow so I can spend some quality time with my plants 🙂

Leave a Reply

