Garlic Bread and General Tidying Up At The Allotment

Today I have been weeding in my polytunnel.  It’s amazing how quickly the weeds are still growing in there.

The winter hardy spring onions and winter lettuces that I planted a couple of weeks ago are doing well now, together with the mizuna and corn salad.  I also have a tray of ‘miner’s lettuce’ in my polytunnel, which I am trying for the first time, but they aren’t big enough to plant yet.

I also had a tidy up outside of my polytunnel.  The calendula that looked so beautiful in the summer had finished flowering a few weeks ago and so I left it to set seed.

But now I decided it was time to clear it away into my compost bin.

The place certainly looks better now.

 

.

I also weeded around the flowers that line my polytunnel, (lobelia which I grew from seed and the begonias that I bought really cheaply in the summer).  Both the flowers will die when we have a hard frost, but for now they are still flowering beautifully.

.

Afterwards, I dug up some crazy paving that has been a magnet for weeds over the summer.

It takes me far too much time to keep weeding between the stones, so I have dug them up and sown some grass seed, while the soil is still warm enough for the seeds to germinate.

I dug and raked the area, trod all over it again (to give a firm flat surface) and then raked it again.  I spread some left over grass seed over the area and then raked the seed into the soil.  To keep the birds off the seed, I have put one of my cages over the area.  Hopefully, the seed will grow strongly and can be mowed with the other grass in the spring.

 .

Today for dinner we had pasta with a homemade tomato pasta sauce, a home-grown salad, with some homemade garlic bread.  You can find the recipe for the tomato pasta sauce here.

Garlic bread is really easy to make and tastes really nice too.

.

Garlic Bread Recipe

 2 Large cloves of garlic chopped finely

100 grams of margarine

2 tablespoons of chopped parsley (or a teaspoon or two of dried parsley)

A baguette (I use homemade rolls)

 .

Preheat the oven Gas mark 6 / 200C / 400F

Mix all the above ingredients together.

Slice the baguette (or rolls) and spread the garlic butter over both sides of the slices.

Wrap the baguette in foil and place on a baking tray.

Bake for 10 minutes, until the margarine has melted.

Serve immediately.

.

(I grow my own parsley and freeze it.  Therefore I just put a handful of the frozen parsley into the mix and it is fine using it from frozen).

 

Thank you for reading my blog today.

4 thoughts on “Garlic Bread and General Tidying Up At The Allotment

  1. Your polytunnel is so neat! May I ask, are you the only one who goes in it, or do the children and husband use it too? I find, for mine self, that anywhere the rest of the tribe goes, mess follows, lol!
    Pavers really DO seem to attract every weeds don’t they!
    Mmmmmmmmmm! garlic bead! NOMMY!!!

Leave a Reply

