Little Savings That All Add Up & Green Manures To Plant Now

Today I had a telephone conversation with Jim Davis on his Radio Leicester show.  I talked about money saving tips when buying food.

Jim mentioned my blog, so welcome to anyone who is reading my blog for the first time.  I hope you find lots of interesting information.

If you would like to listen to the conversation I had with Jim, you can listen again here.  I am on approximately 40 minutes into the show.  I think you can listen back to it for one week.

I could ramble on for hours about doing things cheaply.  I think some people who are struggling to make ends meet, still buy expensive things from the supermarkets, as they just do not know how easy it is to make things from scratch.  I’m certainly not a chef and as I’ve said before, I couldn’t boil peas fourteen years ago and my friends used to call me the ‘Packet Mix Queen’.

Little savings that all add up:

A few weeks ago, I realised I do little things automatically, without even thinking of what I’m doing and I said I would try really hard to make a note of these things, so I can share them with you.  You can read about some more little things I do here.

Today I realised I do another thing without thinking:  The Way I Do My Washing and Ironing:

I wash most days and I always hang my washing out to dry if it’s not damp or raining. It somehow seems to smell nicer and feel fresher when it has dried in the wind.

I read somewhere, that if the pavement is dry, then your washing will dry and it really works!

I even hang my washing out in winter and if it doesn’t dry fully, then at least it has done half a job for me.

 If I’ve looked at the weather forecast and it’s going to rain one day and be fine the next day, then I wash two loads the next day if at all possible.

I always wash early in the morning using economy seven electricity, to save money.  I also use the laundry liquid I make up myself, which saves me loads of money over the year.  You can find how to make laundry liquid here.

My Laundry Liquid

Over the last few months I have really cut down my ironing, just by hanging things up straight away, rather than leaving them in the washing basket for a while, after fetching them in from the washing line.

It’s amazing as no one in my family has noticed.  T-shirts, jeans, school tops , sheets, quilts etc. have gone un-ironed for weeks and even some of my daughters blouses, just because I hang them up or fold them up properly straight away.

A blouse that I haven’t needed to iron because I’ve hung it straight up to air.

(I know some of you probably do this already, but I didn’t before, so I’m sure there are loads of other people who don’t either).

.

Also, I only iron once a week now, as I have so little to iron. Before, I would iron a little bit each morning to keep up, but it takes a lot of electricity to heat the iron up from cold each time.  So now I iron once a week, so the iron only heats up once and just maintains the temperature, after it’s heated up.

Simple little savings that all add up.

I would love to hear of any little things that you do to save money.

(Leave your replies by commenting at the the bottom of the post)

.

Today I strimmed and dug in the Green manure that I planted in the summer.

It was Phacelia tanacetifolia.

You can find more information about Green Manures here.

.

I have been asked this week about Green Manures.  Therefore, today I thought I’d take a look at the Green Manures that you can still plant now, as it’s not too late to plant a couple of them here in the UK:

Field Beans (Vicia faba)

Field Beans are in the Leguminosae  family (Peas and Beans).  They can be planted between September and November and they will grow overwinter.

Field Beans prefer heavy soils e.g. clay and they fix nitrogen in the soil which will benefit following crops.

The beans need to be sown at 22 grams per square meter for a good result.

(If you are using Field Beans, for best results, don’t forget that you shouldn’t plant peas and beans in the same place afterwards).

.

Hungarian Grazing Rye (Secale cereal)

Hungarian Grazing Rye is in the Gramineae family (cereal grain crops).  It can be planted between August and November and they will grow overwinter.

Hungarian Grazing Rye is happy in most soils but it doesn’t fix nitrogen like some other green manures do.  However, it is very good for improving soils, especially clay and it is great to use before a potato crop.

The Hungarian Grazing Rye needs to be sown at 16 grams per square meter for a good result.

 .

If you are thinking of planting a green manure at this time of year, you can plant both the above Green Manures together in alternate rows if you want to, to improve weed control.

.

If you grow either of the above Green Manures, leave them to grow overwinter and cut them down three or four weeks before you want to use the ground again (or if the plant starts to flower).

After chopping the plants down, it’s easier to let the foliage wilt before you dig the plants into the soil.  Grazing rye can be hard to dig in, so you may need to ‘roughly’ dig it in first and then repeat the process again a week later.

I hope this information will help someone.

.

Sedum spectabile

Thank for reading my blog today.

 

6 thoughts on “Little Savings That All Add Up & Green Manures To Plant Now

  1. I love your (non) ironing tip. Until a few months ago I used to iron most things until my friend said “you iron tea towels!?”. Since then I’ve put the iron in the cupboard and left it there. Nobody has noticed. I have enough wrinkles in my face that they probably havn’t noticed the ones in my TShirt…. Ha Ha.

Leave a Reply

