A lovely Birthday And A Nice Hot Chocolate

Yesterday it was my birthday and I had a lovely day.

I had lots of cards and lovely presents.

As per usual, my favourite cards are the homemade ones that my husband and daughter made me.

My daughters bought me some slippers and some trainers and I had some new ankle boots for the winter.   I also had some Thornton’s chocolates and some delicious Baileys Chocolates and a yearly subscription to ‘Gardeners World’ magazine and a lovely warm fleece too.

My husband also bought me a radio for my allotment, as my old one doesn’t work very well.  It’s brilliant as it solar powered and also winds up if it’s not sunny and it even takes normal batteries as a backup.  It’s small enough for me to carry too.

I’m very pleased with it.

I just love useful presents.

Unexpected presents are also really nice to receive.  My lovely neighbour Eileen bought me some new gardening gloves.  I will definitely be using these tomorrow as mine have a hole in.

I think I did very well for presents this year!

My favourite thing in the whole day was my daughters had made a birthday cake and small fairy cakes for me, all on their own.

This is the first birthday they have been old enough to do this and it was such a lovely lovely thing to do for me.  It all tasted gorgeous.

.

I finished the day with a nice frothy Hot Chocolate.

I used to think that you needed to buy the expensive powder to make a decent hot chocolate. Then one day I learnt that it’s very easy to make:

All I do is measure a cup of milk in a pan and then add two chucks of your favourite chocolate or even cooking chocolate and heat the milk until it boils.  Stir occasionally to make sure the chocolate melts.

If you want it really special, you can froth it up with your stick blender and then put some squirty cream on top with sprinkles and marshmallows.

 I’d eaten far too many goodies yesterday to be able to have a hot chocolate with cream as well, so I just ‘frothed’ mine up:

Just before I finish for today, I wanted to show you a picture that was on the front of a birthday card I received.  The sender knew it was one of my favourite places to holiday and I have lots of happy memories there:

Eastbourne Pier

.

Thank you for sharing my special day with me.

9 thoughts on “A lovely Birthday And A Nice Hot Chocolate

Leave a Reply

