Hob Nob Biscuits and Forking in Manure

The Michaelmas Daisy’s at the allotment are still looking beautiful.  I am getting many people passing by and commenting on them.  It really is the best I’ve seen them flower, it must be due to the high level of rain we have had this year.

.

My wild flowers are still flowering well.

I will certainly grow them again next year.

Everytime I look at them, there is something different to see and there is still loads of insect activity around them.

I spent the day forking manure into five of my beds.  I filled the wheelbarrow full of manure ten times, so I am aching now, but I’m very pleased with what I have done.

I will be growing brassica’s in this area next year, so I have done this job early, so the soil can settle well before I plant the brassicca’s in the spring.  Brassica’s like to grow in firm soil.

I fork manure into my brassica beds and where I plant my potatoes each year.  I don’t fork manure in my other rotational beds.  I find by adding manure to just half my allotment each year works well.

 

.

Dairy Free, Egg free Hob Nobs

This week I’ve been trying to include some dairy free, egg free recipes for the gentleman that fixed our new fascia’s, as his daughter has been longing for some ‘normal’ goodies to eat as snacks.

Today, my youngest daughter, who is twelve years old, made some dairy free, egg free hob nobs.  I’ve got to say they are delicious made with normal margarine and they are equally as nice when you make them dairy free.  In fact I would go as far as to say, you just can’t tell the difference.

Once again, the dairy free margarine I’ve used is ‘Pure’:

.

Hob Nobs Recipe:

8 oz. Self raising flour

8 oz. Granulated sugar

8 oz. Porridge oats (I use the cheapest ones I can find)

8 oz. Margarine

1 tablespoon Golden Syrup

1 tablespoon hot water

½ teaspoon Baking powder

Preheat the oven Gas Mark 4 / 350 F / 180 C

Mix the flour, oats, sugar and baking powder in a bowl.

Meanwhile, melt the margarine, syrup and water in a small pan.

When the margarine mix has melted, add it to the dry ingredients and mix well.

Use your hands to make smallish balls and put on a greased baking sheet.

Flatten the balls slightly with a fork.

Bake for approximately 15 minutes, until golden.

  

I really think my daughter did a good job.

I normally make approximately forty hob nobs with my recipe, however my daughter only made thirty two….because she said she likes them bigger!

As biscuits disappear very quickly in our house, I have frozen these biscuits.  They do freeze very well.  I will just take out a few biscuits each day, which stops my family eating them so quickly.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Hob Nob Biscuits and Forking in Manure

  1. These biscuits look yummy,she uses rice milk as has a problem with goats and soya, but will put this in instead, brilliant post thanks.
    sue

    • Hi Sue. Before we realised my daughter could tolerate some lactose free milk, I used soya in everything, but I’m sure that you can use rice milk instead. Let me know how you get on.

      It’s so hard on the kids when they see their friends eating everything around them. Has your daughter always been like this or is it only recently she is dairy intolerant? How did you find out and was it a battle to get it diagnosed?

  2. She is 24 now and just had an allergy test!When she was a baby we had lots of sickness and diarrohea, they put her onto soya milk,only at my insistance, i had to give up breast feeding her because a lump was found and i had to go for tests.She has always been a sickly child and now adult, underweight etc, we have battled for years but we had a new doctor come to the practice who sent her staight off for allergy testing, as she is a midwife she suspected she had a rubber glove allergy too. We will see how things go, she married 3 months ago and her husband loves cooking so these recipes will be brilliant for them to try, and me for her Thank you i will let you know how the food goes, thank you again.
    sue

      • Australian Biscuit, it has been claimed the biscuits were sent by wives to soldiers abroad because the ingredients do not spoil easily and the biscuits kept well during naval transportation. There are other claims as well, but I like this one, lol!
        For one batch I will mix together
        1 1/4 cups plain flour, sifted
        1 cup rolled oats
        1/2 cup caster sugar
        3/4 cup desiccated coconut
        2 tablespoons golden syrup or treacle
        150g unsalted butter, chopped
        1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda
        1/2 cup caster sugar
        3/4 cup desiccated coconut
        2 tablespoons golden syrup or treacle
        150g unsalted butter, chopped
        1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda
        roll them into balls, squash them with a fork, and cook ’em for around ten min or so.

  3. Hang on, something hinky going on here… got some stuff up twice – how’d THAT happen??

    1 1/4 cups plain flour, sifted
    1 cup rolled oats
    1/2 cup caster sugar
    3/4 cup desiccated coconut
    2 tablespoons golden syrup or treacle
    150g unsalted butter, chopped
    1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda

    That is all. No more.

Leave a Reply

