Allotment Paths and Using Up Leftovers

This week I finished the paths around my dad’s bit of my allotment.

I managed to get bags of woodchip from our local council for £1.00 per bag.  The paths took ten bags of woodchip, so it cost me just £10.00 to do.  I know it would have cost an awful lot more if I had gone to a garden centre to buy the woodchip.

I am very pleased with the result and I think my dad will be happy too.

.

I spent the morning clearing away my old peas.  I saved the seeds from the tall growing variety I had grown.  The seeds are an old variety called ‘Peashooter’ and they are expensive to buy.

I will put the seeds in an envelope and store them in a cool dark place, until I plant them next year.

Afterwards I dug manure into two of my beds ready for next year.  The manure is two years old now and it really is well rotted and great to dig in.

.

Today I took a walk around my allotment.  I was very pleased as I thought the allotment was looking particularly beautiful in the afternoon sunshine.

The Michaelmus Daisys were still looking stunning and they were teeming with bees and butterflies, it was wonderful to watch.

The sun flowers were looking great too.

The birds will soon be enjoying these seeds.

The Crocosmia that my youngest daughter planted earlier in the year, is also flowering now:

The dahlia’s that I grew from seed are still flowering well too:

A nasturtium that self seeded over the summer is now trailing over my compost heap and it is flowering nicely.

I like adding the leaves to salads as they taste peppery and it’s just something a bit different in a salad.

The green manure I planted last month, is growing well too.  It is phacelia.  I will cut it back before it flowers and dig it into the soil.

You can read about green manures here.

.

I also noticed my shark fin melons are just about ready to pick.

You can read about my shark fin melon plant here and here.  I am looking forward to making soup with them.

I put my keys next to the other shark fin melon so you would be able to gauge the size of it from the picture:

.

Using Leftovers

I try to use all our leftover meat and vegetables.  I really hate throwing good food away, it doesn’t make sense to do this.

Using your leftovers also saves money.

Previously I wrote about my ‘Use it up’ Vegetable Curry Recipe.  You can find it here.

.

Remember the beef I bought on Sunday that was reduced from £14.14 to £3.54…  You can read about it here.  I made a lovely roast dinner for us all, but there was some roast beef left over.

The next day, I made a beef and vegetable pie with the leftovers.

It is a very easy pie to make:

.

All I did was to reheat the beef and leftover vegetables in the microwave until piping hot.

I mixed them with a white sauce and covered it all with a layer of pastry.

I brushed the pie with a little milk and then cooked it in the oven for 20 minutes,

gas mark 6 / 400F / 204C.

I served it with homegrown vegetables.

.

The beef and vegetables were all leftover from the day before, so again this was a very cheap family meal.

I know a lot of people reading my blog will know how to make a white sauce and pastry.  For those that don’t, I will show you how I make these things next week on my blog.

 If just one person learns how to feed their family more cheaply after reading my blog, then I will have achieved my aim.

 

Thank you for reading my blog today.

6 thoughts on “Allotment Paths and Using Up Leftovers

  1. You have taught this one person how to feed herself more cheaply by mixing leftovers with a white sauce and making a pie. Tasty and filling.
    I usually put leftover veggies in a small frypan, heat them up, and pour over a beaten egg. Put grated cheese over the top and pop under the grill. I suppose you could call it some sort of frittata?
    I love your pics of the flowers on your allotment, and I’m sure your father will be really happy with the new footpaths. Over at my allotment we are responsible for our own pathways and we use woodchips too. The farm gets a great load in and we are allowed to use it as part of our annual membership fee. It also saves us carting it in the boot of our own cars. We just barrow it to our allotment and I’m lucky that the heap is living next to my allotment.
    I’ve spent the last two days processing kale from my allotment (for my freezer) as the caterpillars have moved in and I want to rescue as much as I can from the mature plants. Have a lovely weekend.

    • Wow that sounds lovely, I’ll try that! Thanks Jean. It’s a shame about the caterpillars on your kale. I’ve noticed there were caterpillars on my spinach in my polytunnel this year…it’s been so wet this year over here, I think it was the only dry place they could find lol.

  2. I love your mentality when it comes to feeding your family for less. I too do the same. With a little planning and basic cooking skills anyone can follow these methods and feed their family with minimal costs but maximum flavour. Last week I made 2 huge pots of ork stew with meat reduced from the supermarket and an assortment of vegetables grown from my allotment. I managed to feed my family of five for 2 days and my neighbours family of 7! I don’t think that both pots cost anymore thn £5 for the ingredients.

  3. Love the idea for the paths. I also hate wasting food & try and do something with the leftovers. Making pies is always a great option. Depending on what we have I might use the meat on a homemade pizza. We always have lots of eggs so I mix a lot of things in with eggs to make a quiche or frittata.

Leave a Reply

