Sowing Grass Seed and a Tuna Pasta Bake Recipe

Over the weekend, I have been preparing the area between my two rows of summer raspberries.

When I took the plot over in January, this area was covered in couch grass and the roots kept growing around the raspberries and it’s very hard to remove it.

In January I covered the area with weed suppressant and left it until now.  You can see in the picture below that the couch grass is all dead:

I forked over the soil and raked it flat and then trod all the area over and then raked it again.  I then sowed the grass seed ready for next year.  It will certainly look nicer than the weed suppressant next year.

How it looked after I first forked the area over

Looking around my plot today, I became very excited when I found some butternut squashes.  As it has been a rotten summer I really didn’t think I would have any, but I have:

Butternut Squash

I also thought I’d show you my daughter’s pumpkin that she has grown from seed.  The biggest one I have grown on my plot was eight years ago and it weighed 76lbs.  I’m hoping this will beat it.  I am being very careful to watch the weather forecast for frost.

My daughter’s pumpkin

I’m already looking forward to my pumpkin soup and pumpkin cake.

.

On Friday my daughter’s friends came for tea.  As a treat, I made them a big bowl of blackberry cordial, with lots of home-grown fruit in it

Blackberry Cordial

The recipe is here on Fridays post.

.

My daughter asked me to make a ‘Tuna Pasta Bake’, which is another cheap and easy meal to make.

I have only managed to find Tuna Pasta Bake meals for one person, in all of the ‘big four’ supermarkets.  The price for one meal ranges from £1 for a frozen ready meal to £2.20 for a ‘fresh’ ready meal.

I worked out that my recipe, which serves four people, costs just £2.54 to make, as I use all the cheapest ingredients.

That is an amazing 64p per person.

It was all eaten, except a tiny bit, so that is enough proof for me that it tastes really good.

Here is the recipe:

.

Tuna Pasta Bake – (Serves 4)

400 grams ‘Penne’ Pasta

50 grams margarine

50 grams of plain flour

600 ml milk

200 grams grated cheese

1 tin tuna flakes drained

1 can of sweetcorn

A Handful chopped parsley (or 2 teaspoons of dried parsley)

Preheat your oven gas mark 4 / 176C / 350F

.

Cook the pasta until it is nearly cooked. 

Meanwhile make the sauce:

Melt the margarine in a milk pan.

Take the melted margarine off the heat and add the flour.  Mix in until no flour is visable.

Add a little bit of milk and beat it in, until it is totally combined.

Keep adding a little bit of milk and mixing it in, until all the milk is combined.  There should be no lumps.

Bring the sauce to the boil, stirring all the time.

When it has boiled mix in the parsley and simmer for two minutes.

 In a separate bowl mix together the pasta, tuna, sweetcorn and three quarters of the cheese.  Then mix in the sauce so that all the ingredients are covered in it.

Transfer it into an oven proof dish and sprinkle the remaining cheese over it.

Cook for 15-20 minutes, until the cheese is golden and starting to brown.

 I served it with a homegrown salad and some homemade garlic bread and it went down a treat!

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog today.

9 thoughts on “Sowing Grass Seed and a Tuna Pasta Bake Recipe

  1. What you call “Tuna Pasta Bake” we call a “Tuna and Noodle Cassrole”. Haven’t made for ages. Plus most people I know here use peas instead of corn.
    But the garlic bread sound like a nice addition to it…Coffee is on.

Leave a Reply

