Blackberry Cordial & General Allotment Jobs

Today at the allotment I weeded around my brussels sprouts and my spring broccoli.  I removed any yellowing leaves and then tied them to the supports that I had put in to the ground.  This will help to stop them from rocking around in the wind over the winter.

I also examined my ‘Cape Gooseberry’ plant that was growing outside.  You can see in the picture below that it is only small and I doubt I’ll get any fruit off it, before the first frosts come.

In my polytunnel I have two ‘Cape Gooseberry’ plants that I also put in the ground at the same time.  In the photograph below you can really see the difference the extra protection of the polytunnel gives.  They both have loads of fruit on them.

After this I cleared away the cornflowers that self-seeded around my pond.  They gave a wonderful display earlier in the year, but now it was time to tidy them away.

I had almost forgotten that I had grown some ‘Aubretia’ plants around the pond.  I think they will look pretty in the spring.

Today also I pulled back the ‘environmesh’ that covered my cauliflower plants and was pleasantly surprised to find the cauliflowers, which were ready to be picked.  You can see the cauliflowers I picked in the picture below.  I weeded and cleared the area where the cauliflowers were too.

When I got home I chopped the cauliflowers up and washed them in salt water.  I then blanched them for 2 minutes and put them on trays (as this stops them from sticking together) and froze them.  Tomorrow I will bag them up.

Following on from my post last Friday regarding child poverty, (which you can read here), I have another cheap and easy recipe.

At the moment there are loads of blackberries around.  So I thought I’d use some to make a homemade Blackberry Cordial.

Because the blackberries were from my allotment, I worked out that this cordial only cost me 16p to make and it has no chemicals or preservatives in at all and tastes really nice.

Blackberry Cordial

2 cups of cold water

2 cups of granulated sugar

300g blackberries (fresh or frozen)

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

 .

Make the sugar syrup by putting the water and sugar in a saucepan and heat on a low flame, stirring all the time until the sugar has dissolved and you can see no sugar crystals on the back of your spoon.

Add the blackberries and lemon juice and then turn the heat up and bring the mixture to a boil.

Simmer for 5 minutes.

Put the whole lot through a sieve and then cool the juice.

Dilute the cordial to your taste.

Serve cold with ice

This cordial lasts approximately 3 days in the fridge.

My daughters friends came for tea tonight, so I served the cordial with lots of ice and different fruit in a bowl and it looked very special for them.  I left them a ladle so they could help themselves.  Most of the fruit was homegrown.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

12 thoughts on “Blackberry Cordial & General Allotment Jobs

  1. I find it so interesting to read your blog and the jobs that you are doing down at the allotments – my season over here in Brisbane is ‘back to front’. While you are tying up your Brussel Sprouts I’m trying to find ways to protect my soft lettuce leaves from the hat of the coming months. Gardening’s always an adventure I reckon as we find ways of protecting our harvest. I bet the girls loved your home grown cordial and fruit in the punch bowl.

    • They loved the cordial and it was so cheap to make lol. It’s so interesting to read what people are doing in their gardens in different countries. Whereabouts did you live in the Uk?…and whatmade you move? (I hope you don’t think i’m being nosey, i’m just interested)

      • I was raised in Brownhills on the A5, West Midlands. Once I married I moved around a bit living in Bolton, Aldridge, and Kendal in the Lake District for four years which was wonderful. What made me move? That’s a big question. My best friend (who incidentally is a Leicester girl) moved to Australia with her young family and was living in Brisbane. She came over to the UK to visit and talked about the climate and the lifestyle. How can I describe the overwhelming urge to live there? It took 3 years to get the visa and then we upped stumps and went. That was over 30 years ago. I was lucky when I arrived in Australia with husband and children to have good friends already established here. I am sure that made a big difference and I am very happy here. I have visited my family in the UK many times over the years, and some of them have visited me over here and we have regular contact over the telephone. When I first came here the pips came after only 3 minutes which was very frustrating, now it’s as ‘cheap as chips’ to telephone the UK and I’m regularly on the telephone for an hour or more which is great. Hope that helps, it’s hard to explain in just a few words.

  2. That one is very similar to my lemon cordial recipe! I am definitly going to be keeping an eye out for blackberries now!
    I’m going to be trying Cape Gooseberry this year. I remember eating it wild when we were children, and I really hope it grows for me!
    Your cauliflower looks AWESOME, mate! Mine are very leafy at the moment, but not much else. I have plenty of time though 🙂
    Your PolyTunnel also looks really good. I might try something like this when it starts to get cold here…

Leave a Reply

