A Quick And Easy Microwave Chocolate Sponge with a Chocolate Sauce

At my allotment today I finished my new compost area:

I built three different compost bins with the ten pallets that I managed to get hold of.

When I make a compost bin out of pallets, I always tie the pallets together with garden string.  I know if you are reading this, you will be thinking that they are not very secure, but they really are.

Below, is a compost bin that I filled two and a half year ago.  You can see that it’s still very solid.

I make sure I tie the top and the bottom of the pallets with lots of string.

I will be filling the left hand compost bin first, so I have only tied the front pallets temporarily on the other two.

I used some old weed suppressant and reused some black plastic, to line the inside of the compost bin.  This stops the light getting in, which prevents the weeds from regrowing.

I put all the weeds that I cut back at the beginning, in the new compost bin.  The weeds half-filled it, but I’m sure they will compress down very quickly.

I’m very pleased with my compost area and I can now begin my pre-autumn clear up.

.

.

A Quick And Easy Microwave Chocolate Sponge with a Chocolate Sauce

We don’t normally have puddings in our house, unless we have a guest for dinner.  However, last night, we all fancied something sweet to eat.

It would have been easy to nip to our local shop and spend three or four pounds on chocolate, which is what we would have done a few years ago, but we didn’t.

I made a really quick microwave chocolate sponge, with a chocolate sauce and served it with custard.  The whole pudding took less than 15 minutes to make and we have some left for tomorrow.

I worked out that all the ingredients totalled just £1.05 to make, and yet it tasted very special.

1546036_709750052376494_227882478_n

This is how I made it:

Microwave Chocolate Sponge

100 grams margarine

100 grams granulated sugar

2 eggs beaten

75 grams self-raising flour

25 grams coco powder

2 – 3 tablespoons of milk

.

Beat the margarine and sugar together until light and fluffy

Mix in the beaten egg

Fold in the flour and coco powder and add enough milk so a dropping consistency is achieved

(i.e. it drops off the spoon easily)

Pour into a microwave dish that has been greased with margarine.  Cover with a lid or microwave cling film

Microwave on full power for 5 minutes (based on my 700w microwave)

Leave to stand for a couple of minutes before putting turning it on a plate.

.

Chocolate Sauce

While the chocolate sponge is in the microwave you can prepare the sauce:

43 grams of cooking chocolate

1 teaspoon of margarine

35ml water

165 grams icing sugar

.

Melt the chocolate and margarine over a really low heat

Add the water and stir

Add the Icing sugar and stir for a few minutes until it becomes a smooth, chocolate consistency with no lumps

Pour over the chocolate sponge and sprinkle with hundreds and thousands.

You can eat it as it is, or serve with custard or ice cream.

Both the sponge and the sauce can be made dairy free, by using soya milk, dairy free chocolate and dairy free margarine.  So this is a recipe that can be enjoyed by all the family.

Thank you for reading my blog today.

13 thoughts on “A Quick And Easy Microwave Chocolate Sponge with a Chocolate Sauce

  1. I loe your compost area! We have a rotating bin now, but back when I lived with my parents on the farm we had something similar, and that twine really is long lasting, isn’t it?
    I cannot wait to try the cake, it looks NOMMY!!!!

  2. Mmmmmm! I just made a lemon slice, that I think I have mucked up by thoughtlessly trying to turn out before it was cool :S The sponge is my next enterprise! I just love trying things, and a sponge is something I haven’t tried with this over yet. Its a gas oven, and temperamental, but we shall see how it goes, lol!

      • Well, the base was a crumbly mixture of 1 1/2 cups SR flour, 1/2 cup marg, pinch salt, 1 tbspn lemon zest and 1/3 cup sugar, pressed into the base of a square pan.
        Once that had cooked till it was a wee bit brown on top (around 20 min) I made the top, which was 4 smallish eggs, 1 cup lemon juice and 1 1/3 cups sugar whisked together, and poored that over the top, and cooked it for a further 20 min.
        The top went underneath the base!!!! I think what happened is a added too much lemon juice… I think I’ll half the lemon juice and try again, because the base was bee-U-tiful! Ans the top was lovely and tangy, just too runny.
        Definitly tasted nice enough to try again, though!

  3. Thank you for the recipe – I’ve done a mug chocolate sponge but not a large one in the microwave. Adding a topping makes it look very professional.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  4. Have just tried your choc sponge pudding recipe, it is awesome – so light and fluffy – I only did it for 3 minutes as I think our microwave is quite fast. It has inspired me to try all the other recipes in the Pudding Club recipe book as I’d got it into my head that puddings have to be steamed and I haven’t got the time for that. Thanks for posting 🙂

    • Hi Jill and a big thanks for your comment. I am really glad you enjoyed it…the jam sponge one is really nice too, it reminds me of the steamed jam sponge my mum used to make when I was growing up and yet it is so easy and quick to make.

Leave a Reply

