Drying Onions and Blackberry & Apple Flapjacks

Yesterday morning I dug up my onions.  They are not as big as normal and they are approximately a month behind, which I can only think it’s due to the weather this year.

Providing I dry them properly, they should store for quite a few months.

I am drying them in my little plastic greenhouse in my back garden, which I leave open, unless rain is forecast.  I will leave them there until they have dried, which can take 6 to 8 weeks.

Afterwards I will put them in an onion bag (not plastic) and leave in a cool dark place until I use them.

.

Onion Trivia:

According to an old English Rhyme, the thickness of an onion skin can help predict what?

The severity of the winter. Thin skins mean a mild winter is coming while thick skins indicate a rough winter ahead.

According to the Guinness Book of World Records, how much did the largest onion ever grown weigh?

10 pounds 14 ounces. It was grown by V. Throup of Silsden, England.

Who worshipped the onion?

The ancient Egyptians worshipped the onion, believing that its spherical shape and concentric rings symbolized eternity.

What should you eat to get rid of onion breath?

Parsley.

A single serving of onion contains how many calories?

45 calories.

What are the three colors of onions sold in most grocery stores?

Yellow, red, and white.

What Beatles song has “onion” in the title?

Glass Onion. (The White Album)

What family does the onion belong to?

The onion is a member of the Lily family.  The common onion is known as Allium Cepa; in Latin Allium means garlic and cepa means onion – the edible bulb of a plant belonging to the botanical genus Alliaceae (or onion family). 

.

.

.

On Sunday, I made lots of cakes for ‘Afternoon Tea’.  I will be writing the recipes on my blog, over the next few days.

I decided to start today with ‘Blackberry and Apple Flapjacks’, as the blackberries and early season apples are ready for picking now.

I freeze blackberries after I’ve picked them, so I can make these flapjacks all the way through the year.

All I do is wash them and then freeze them on a tray and then put them in a bag when they are frozen.  This way they don’t stick together and you can just take the amount out that you need and defrost them ready for use.

I find this recipe takes ages to cook, so I put foil over it half way through the cooking process, so it doesn’t burn.  If you use a larger tin so the mixture isn’t so deep, you can reduce the time it takes in the oven.

Blackberries at my Allotment

.

‘Blackberry and Apple Flapjacks’

250g margarine

3 tablespoons of golden syrup

85g sugar

340g porridge oats

100g blackberries

1 apple grated

.

Preheat your oven Gas 4 / 350F /180C

Grease an 8 inch round, loose bottom cake tin

Melt the butter, syrup and sugar over a low heat

Remove from the heat and add the oats

Add the apple and stir.

Add the blackberries and gently fold them in

Pour the mixture in the tin and flatten gently

Cook for 30 minutes then put foil over the top and cook for another 30 minutes

Cut into slices and leave in the tin until cold

Blackberry Flapjacks

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog today.

Leave a Reply

