Pickled Onions and a Family ‘Thyme’ Capsule

We love pickled onions in our house, which is why I dedicate four beds purely for shallots each year.  Below is a picture of my shallots drying at home.  There are rather too many in my mini-greenhouse, but I put them there as rain was forecast.

My shallots drying

.

First peel the shallots and chop the ends off. 

Wash them under the tap and then pour salt all over them.  Make sure the salt covers all the onions.

Put a plate on the top and leave overnight.  This draws the water out.

The next day, wash the salt off then put the onions in sterilised jars

(to sterilise the jars,  put them in the oven gas mark 4 for 5 minutes)

Cover the onions with ready spiced pickling vinegar (or make your own spiced vinegar)

Make sure there are no air bubbles.

Leave for two weeks before eating (if you can possibly wait this long)

Note:  Most pickled onion recipes soak your onions overnight in a salt water brine, but I find the onions go a bit soft this way.  My dad taught me to leave the onions overnight in just salt, as it makes a more crunchy pickled onion.

.

I had a good harvest from my allotment today:

I cooked the beetroot and made a chocolate courgette traybake with two of the courgettes and froze the runnerbeans.  I will be freezing some of the blackberries, if there are any left after my daughters have finished eating them and i’m yet to decide what to do with the patty pans.

.

Our ‘Thyme’ Capsule:

Digging the hole

In June this year, we made a family time capsule and I thought it would be good to share this with you.

We purchased an airtight & watertight plastic box and filled it with all sorts of things to show how we live.

My daughters wrote about their favourite things e.g. their friends, favourite pop groups and all about their school.  They put pictures of their mobile phones, our television and some of their games.  They put pictures of their bedrooms and toys and wrote about their hobbies.

My husband and I wrote about our lives and the allotment.  We put pictures of our allotment neighbours and wrote about how we love it there.  We also wrote all about the food that we harvest and eat from our allotment.

We all took it in turns to dig a very deep hole at the back of our plot, in a grassed area under our apple tree.

My daughter dropped the box in the hole and we covered it up again.

We wondered how we would remember exactly where it is and came up with the idea of putting a plant over it.  After a few milli-seconds of thinking, it was decided that the only plant that could possibly be planted there, would be ‘Thyme’.

So here it is, waiting to be discovered in years to come, when we are long forgotten.

I wonder what will be in this spot in another hundred years time?

.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog today.

8 thoughts on “Pickled Onions and a Family ‘Thyme’ Capsule

  1. What a great idea! I often wonder what the world will be like far into the future. Times are changing so fast, yet some things remain constant for those who seek it – home, family and simplicity. Lovely post. R

    • Thanks Rachael. It was a lovely family activity to do we all had fun doing it. I do wonder how the world will be in the future? I wonder if people will be doing some of the things we do now and calling them ‘old style, simple living’ lol

  2. we buried a time box in the early 80s under a patio of our old house, we included photos, storys and a cassette tape of music, ooo modern technology, i wonder if anyone will find it.

Leave a Reply

