“Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without”

I love this saying because as you have probably realised by now, I just don’t like waste.  If I can make use of something it will not only save me money, but it also helps to stop as many things as possible going into the huge landfill sites, which has got to be a good thing.

Peas and pea pods ready for freezing

Yesterday I picked a basket full of peas, which are now in my freezer

(I blanch them for 1 minute and then freeze them on a tray so they don’t stick together and then bag them up when they are frozen).

I am left with a large pile of pea pods which I could put into the compost bin, but I prefer to use them.  They freeze well too.

I make Pea Pod Soup.  I believe it was a soup often made in wartime, when no one could afford to waste anything.  My eldest daughter and I love this soup but my husband and youngest daughter don’t.  It appears to be a bit like Marmite – you either love it or hate it.  Don’t be put off by how it looks before you taste it, as it’s very ‘green’.

.

Pea Pod Soup:

 A large bowl full of pea pods with the ends removed (I use scissors for this).

Approx 2 pints of vegetable stock

2 Tablespoons of olive oil

1  Onion chopped

2 cloves of garlic chopped finely

2 Teaspoons of dried mint

1 Tablespoon of lemon juice

Salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive and then slowly soften the onion in it

When soft add the garlic and fry for another couple of minutes

Add the pea pods and just cover the pods with the stock

Add the mint and simmer for approximately 45 minutes

Strain the soup through a sieve and press the pulp with the back of a metal spoon to release as much liquid as possible.  Throw away the pulp.

Reheat, then add the lemon juice.

Add salt and pepper to your taste.

Serve with a slice of homemade bread

Pea pod soup

.

For pudding I made chocolate apples.  These are great when you are trying to get more fruit into your children:

Chocolate Apples
Really cheap and easy to make

All you do is melt some cooking chocolate in the microwave and then cover an apple in it (I put a fork in the apple first to hold it)

Sprinkle some hundreds and thousands on it and then place it on some grease proof paper to set.

.

I’ve had a good day today…first, my favourite magazine came through the post.  It’s even better as I have the magazine subscription paid for by my Tesco Club Card points, so in effect, it’s free.

63 Bedding Plants for £9…A bargain!

After this I went to my local plant nursery as I had been told they were selling off bedding plants cheap.  I managed to get three trays of Begonia semperflorens and one tray of geraniums for £2.00 per tray and each tray had fifteen plants.  I also bought three dahlia’s for £1.00 each.

This morning I weeded around my curly kale and removed any yellowing leaves.  It looked really neat when I’d finished and I felt satisfied to see the finished result.

Curly Kale

Just in case you are wondering, the birds eat everything at my allotment so the kale is enclosed in a cage to stop them.

Plastic bottles used as mini cloches

I also removed the plastic bottles that were covering my wall flowers for next spring.  I cut old bottles in half and put them over plants to protect them from the flea beatle (as they love brassicca’s) and slugs and snails.  The bottles act as mini cloches.  I find if I put a stick in each bottle it stops the wind blowing the bottles away.

Lastly I made four portions of pizza sauce.  I used one on tonights pizza and three portions have been frozen for other times.  It is very easy to make and I will post the recipe another day.

Pizza Sauce

As it’s the opening olympics ceremony tonight, I have made an olympic pizza for tea. This will be served with an allotment salad and homemade potato wedges  (which again are very easy and i’ll post the recipe another day).

Tomorrow, I will be posting my new regular Saturday feature, that I have called:

‘Bump the Blog’.

Each week I will place a link to a blog that I particularly like and find interesting, in the hope that you will like it too.

Thank you for reading this post.

Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

